Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for anyone who works with 'looked after children'!, 24 Feb 2009
By 
E. O'Hara "Eddie O'Hara" (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Sandy's courageous story makes essential reading for anyone who either works with 'looked after children' or who has experience of being 'looked after'. Sandy provides a graphic picture of how important continued sibling / family contact (providing it is safe to do so) is for all children who have been removed from their parents, how crucial it is that those who have responsibility for 'looked after' children actually listen to them and see them as 'children in need' not simply as a 'case', and that how vulnerable children are when they are living in the 'system'. Above all, Sandy reminds us that despite all the talk and aspirations of a profession wanting to value diversity and embrace different lifestyles, frequently social work practice has been guilty of imposing dominant family values on those families which have a long tradition of being different, in his case 'Scottish Tinkers'.

Eddie O'Hara
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The disposable tinkers, 1 Feb 2009
Sandy's book portrays only too clearly how Scotland regarded her indigenous Travelling People. Tearing children from their mothers' arms and losing them forever in the Welfare system with no contact whatsoever with their families. Taking them to a life where they were treated at best with total apathy and at worst with mental, physical and sexual abuse. And this was considered better for the child than being with his family? I don't think so! A heart breaking tale told beautifully. Well done Sandy! Mary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you may think another self serving tale, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Never to Return: The Harrowing Story of a Stolen Childhood (Kindle Edition)
and you would be right, but for some, the need to put it out there is of benefit to them, so hey who is any one to judge these kind of stories!!
I bought the book for personal reasons
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never to Return, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very good book, the author writes in such a way that you could imagine you were actually there, a very good book, and worth every penny .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 25 July 2013
By 
Ailsa Mackay (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a gift for my mother who it had been recommended to by a friend and she loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Travellers story, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was advised to read this when I was supporting a traveller child. It was easy to read and I read it over a couple of days giving me food for thought
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartbreaking, 25 April 2010
The author Sandy Reid can make the reader cry - he is brilliant. His mother the gypsy lady would have been so proud of her beloved son today, her love is rare she was the best mother in the world, and a mum is better even in poverty, than all the riches in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tears, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Never to Return: The Harrowing Story of a Stolen Childhood (Kindle Edition)
I have laughed with this book and also cried, it beggars beliefs that these things can happen in a normal world and I hope that the grown up man has a good life.
All the best sandy
Christine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Never to Return: The Harrowing Story of a Stolen Childhood (Kindle Edition)
A truly inspiring story, told by an adult, but at the same time told through his eyes as a child. Sad, pricelessly funny in parts & tragic in other parts that a child was separated from his family just because of a society that could not or would not tolerate " tinkers" so sad that he never got to know his mother at all , a brilliant book which I would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Never to Return: The Harrowing Story of a Stolen Childhood (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic book!was funny throughout and sad at times too.A really well written account of Sandys childhood of adventure and hardship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa587f390)

This product

Only search this product's reviews