Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "I want that ape's head on the hood of my pickup!"
One of those sequels no-one seems to know about, King Kong Lives originally sounded like a joke when Dino De Laurentiis used to pitch it in interviews - King Kong has been in a coma for ten years and desperately needs a giant artificial heart transplant but they can't find enough giant ape plasma for him to survive the operation. Luckily Brian Kerwin stumbles across Lady...
Published on 17 May 2012 by Trevor Willsmer

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kong is back...
...In this shoddy excuse of a film. How the writers ever got the right to add the name 'King Kong' to their so-called script is beyond me. I've only seen this film once and I only acknoledged the first and last 20 minutes I believe. Its THAT BAD!!

The plot sees Kong seemingly die at the end of the events of the seventies original (which was a remake of a 1933...
Published on 3 Sep 2012 by D. Climo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kong is back..., 3 Sep 2012
By 
D. Climo - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: King Kong Lives [DVD] (DVD)
...In this shoddy excuse of a film. How the writers ever got the right to add the name 'King Kong' to their so-called script is beyond me. I've only seen this film once and I only acknoledged the first and last 20 minutes I believe. Its THAT BAD!!

The plot sees Kong seemingly die at the end of the events of the seventies original (which was a remake of a 1933 original) but he miricalulously survives via a heart transplant and then searches for his donor. Ahh..It doesn't get more unbelievable than that, massive 200ft ape falling off World Trade Centre having a heart transplant. Then falls in love with a 200ft female ape who was an ideal match and...Oh wait yes it does. There are scenes and dialogue in this that are so embarrassing it makes you feel like you want to be trapped in a lift with Spikes on all walls, gradually moving towards you. The scene where Kong has his first date with his girlfriend is notably embarrassing. A tropical tree used as a bunch of flowers!? What a stupid idea that was to put in! Takes away the emotional impact that Kong had in the original story and makes him into a joke. Then theres the human cast. Out of all of them, Linda Hamilton is the most popular and did this after Terminator 1. So this leads me to one question...What the hell made her choose this bumbling piece of garbage!?!!

Now onto the plot. As I mentioned Kong himself is saved after the events of King Kong 1976 by a female ape donor. He tracks her down and they develop romantic feelings for each other. Theres even cheesy scenes where Kong and his Girlfriend are smiling at one another. Its that sickeningly sweet its enough to push Candy through your ears and nostrils. This almost did to Kong what Batman & Robin did to the Batman franchise. I'm surprised neither Kong or his Girlfriend used a credit card.

AVOID!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Drab release, 23 Jan 2009
By 
A. Griffiths "Adrian" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: King Kong Lives [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this Prism Leisure DVD to have a chuckle at what is supposed to be one of the worst King Kong sequals, but I wish I had saved my money.

The film itself is pretty poor, involving the resurrection of the big ape thanks to an artificial heart transplant, the subsequent capture of a giant Mrs Kong ape, and the escape and romance of the pair of them. It's all a big pile of nonsense, and although it's acted in earnest by the cast, the "comedy" elements that somebody though was a good idea to introduce when the two monkeys are courting turn it into a muddled mess. The effects are awful, the Kongs never look like more than people in suits, and the plot is a disaster too. Hard to believe this was intended to be a serious mainstream release.

Now, normally I would take all this in my stride, but the quality of the Prism DVD release really disappointed me. Presented in full screen mode (its a widescreen film) made it impossible to see what was happening most of the time, and the picture itself is grainy and murky. if you want to see this turkey you'll have plenty of laughs, but I recommend avoiding this release and going for a Region 1 copy instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "I want that ape's head on the hood of my pickup!", 17 May 2012
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: King Kong Lives [DVD] (DVD)
One of those sequels no-one seems to know about, King Kong Lives originally sounded like a joke when Dino De Laurentiis used to pitch it in interviews - King Kong has been in a coma for ten years and desperately needs a giant artificial heart transplant but they can't find enough giant ape plasma for him to survive the operation. Luckily Brian Kerwin stumbles across Lady Kong (a redhead with comedy boobs) in Borneo, so it's chainsaws away as Linda Hamilton and a crew of what look like construction workers put what looks like a minisub in there and in next to no time Kong's up and about and as horny as Hell. Kong's just gotta have it and breaks loose, sweeps Lady Kong off her paws (he carries her off in his arms) and the lovebirds find themselves pursued by the army and rednecks alike ("I want that ape's head on the hood of my pickup!") while Linda and Brian try to save them while realising that "We're primates too."

As insane as it sounds. Did I mention Baby Kong? Kong picking a redneck's cap out of his teeth after they ill-advisedly "have their fun with him" (yes, that's really the phrase that's used!)? The fact that at one time Joel Grey was lined up to play Kong? It's a film so wonderfully inane and misconceived that it's hard not to love if you can enter into the spirit of it, and it does boast a genuinely terrific score by John Scott.

Avoid Prism's shoddy fullframe transfer and go either for Showbox's more recent release or the Australian Region 4 PAL release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars King Kong might live but he will regret it in this turkey, 27 Feb 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: King Kong Lives [VHS] (VHS Tape)
"King Kong Lives" is so boring that even pre-schoolers will probably get up and wander out of the room on this one to go play with a cardboard box or something really fun. It is one thing to make a sequel to a splatter flick where Michael/Jason/Freddy constantly comes back from the dead, but another thing to try and put the same trick with King Kong. Thousands of people die around the world each year because of heart attacks, but working on an artificial heart for a 50-foot ape who has been in a coma for ten years seemed like a good idea to heart specialist Amy Franklin (Linda Hamilton). Meanwhile, in the jungles of Borneo big game hunter Hank Mitchell (Brian Kerwin) finds a female Kong. This is good news because she can provide the blood Kong needs during the operation (let us all think about the world's biggest by-pass machine). Amy falls for Hank because they have so much in common, while the two apes do the same. Needing privacy, Kong and his love flee into the woods where the Army proceeds to hunt them down. The movie makes it seem like it only took the army a couple of days to hunt down two 50-foot apes running loose in the wild, but it must have been many, many months because when the Army catches up with them the female Kong is in labor.
This movie is jaw-droppingly bad. But given that Jessica Lange survived the original "King Kong" remake and Linda Hamilton had some success after this turkey, there is really no reason for any young actress to ever turn a role in one of these films, no matter how bad the script. King Kong's leading ladies do pretty well. The gap between the original "King Kong" and the remake is certainly a lot closer than "King Kong Lives" and the original sequel, "Son of Kong." Sure, that one had the mystery of where was Frau Kong all this time, but that giant hole is nothing compared to the rampant stupidity in this one. The person I respect after watching this film would have to be Margaret Mitchell, who avoided having a sequel to "Gone With the Wind" for half a century. Way to go Mrs. Peggy Marsh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars UNBELIEVABLE, 13 Mar 2014
This review is from: King Kong Lives [DVD] (DVD)
WITHOUT A SHADOW OF A DOUBT THE WORST FILM EVER MADE. STAY WELL CLEAR.UTTERLY POINTLESS. IF YOU THINK YOU HAVE SEEN THE WORST FILM EVER, WATCH THIS AND YOU WILL CHANGE YOUR OPPINION I CAN GUARANTEE,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars king kong live (1986), 29 Aug 2005
By 
This review is from: King Kong Lives [VHS] (VHS Tape)
es una pelicula enternesedora,me trae gratos recuerdos.mas halla de los efectos o sus protagonistas,el mensaje es lo que ha quedado en mi corazon,y por ess razones deseo que mis hijos la vean .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

King Kong Lives [DVD]
King Kong Lives [DVD] by John Guillermin (DVD - 2012)
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews