Customer Reviews


511 Reviews
5 star:
 (317)
4 star:
 (115)
3 star:
 (35)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


243 of 257 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A review of the movie itself...
Ok. Where to start?
Firstly, I have not read the book. So I can't draw any comparisons on content/accuracy etc.

What I wanted to do is simply dispel the rumours and terrible press this move has had to endure.
To start with the painfully obvious: This movie is unlikely to win any oscars (although the CGI is really really good).

I sat down to...
Published on 21 May 2012 by P. Vlahodimos

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars J C Returns
I enjoy most films of the Sci-Fi, Action and Adventure genre, so looked forward to John Carter. Although visually good with great CGI I struggled to keep a focused interest. The story line was confused with a tendency to drift in places, I suspect a second viewing might help some time along the road..but not too soon.
Published 23 months ago by Georgie J


‹ Previous | 145 46 4752 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Carter [DVD] (DVD)
good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Film, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Carter [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Carter [DVD] (DVD)
great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 16 Sep 2014
By 
D Gilbert (Lilliput, Poole UK & Maxwell Christchurch Barbados) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Carter (Amazon Instant Video)
Good film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Carter [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Oct 2014
By 
J. E. Somerset (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Carter [DVD] (DVD)
loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No stars - ever!, 11 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Carter [DVD] (DVD)
In fact it deserves a minus quantity of stars! A story so preposterious that it was impossible to watch for more than the first 10 minutes. A total waste of time and money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars View with an open mind and you will enjoy it!, 21 Jun 2013
By 
Peter Whitaker (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Carter [DVD] (DVD)
The problem with early works of popular fiction like John Carter is that the age in which they were written has long gone, along with the naivety of that time. It's easy for anyone who has any experience of this form of literature to make the transition from the pulp pages to the big screen because they have read the original work and are able to put it into context.

When this film was released it seems that Disney vastly overestimated the public's knowledge of John Carter and the film fell foul as a result. Perhaps if they had presented it as a curio of its' time when the mass public knew little about Mars as a planet, back in 1911 when the book was first published, then it might have done better. Without a doubt the biggest mistake that this film makes is to ignore the 100 years between the book and the movie and the shift in people's scientific knowledge that has occurred. In 1911 people were fascinated by the thought of what a man might be able to do in the lesser gravity of Mars for instance, imagining being able to jump a building in a single bound (does that remind you of another famous character?), hence John Carter's ability to do just that!

It is wrong to compare John Carter with the likes of Star Wars as it so antecedent to modern science fiction that it actually exists as an inspiration to people like George Lucas and James Cameron.

So that apart how does it fair as a movie? If you sit down to watch this film looking for some entertainment, some flash special effects, not too much required of you intellectually and you have the ability to suspend your disbelief in order to have some fun then you will enjoy it. Taylor Kitsch makes an acceptable adventure hero, Lynn Collins is a voluptuous romantic interest who can also fight and think for a change. The Green Martians make an interesting counterpoint to the more civilised humanoid Martians being somewhat tribal and prone to self-destructive violence.

The special effects are generally good, I particularly liked the flying ships, and the realisation of the green Martians was excellent with a lot of attention to detail.

The script could have been better edited however. The early scenes of John Carter on Earth cerate the wrong impression, they being far too realistic creating an obvious jar against the fantasy that is to come. The pace is also off somewhat and there's not enough development of the supporting characters, but actually that is somewhat true of the source material; Edgar Rice Burroughs did not produce the best literature of the early 20th century but he did have some amazing ideas!

This is an enjoyable movie if you can leave your cynicism on the shelf. Most of the movie critics that I read seemed to be largely ignorant of John Cart's history and simply could not be bothered to educate themselves, which led to an unwarranted tirade against this film. It deserves better. Not the greatest film ever made but certainly not the worst either. I notice that it is getting a much more favourable reception on imdb now as well. Treat yourself to something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dont expect, 28 July 2012
By 
Mrs. G. Dickinson-haythorne (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Carter [DVD] (DVD)
dont expect too much boring half way through the penny dropped still found it boring acting so so plot muddled would think a b movie good animation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Believe the Doubters, 11 July 2013
By 
Storm (Corsham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Carter [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This film has been panned by the critics and press, I just don't know why. I can only think that they are idiots, or forgot to take their sunglasses off, maybe they were bribed. I have watched a lot of Science Fiction, from classics like Forbidden Planet to Avatar, and this film is awesomely good fun. Not too Tecky like Star Trek, or serious like Blade Runner, nor pious like 2001. Just a great watch.

Imagine these film mashed together, Indiana Jones, Star Wars, Lynches Dune, and Flash Gordon! Its full of Action, Monsters, Aliens, Swords, Magic, and Romance, and a lot of Fun.

Just sit the family in front of the TV and enjoy, scoff lots of pop corn, and while away two great hours.
Yes it is over two hours long, unlike some recent films, like the last Underworld film that barely went over an hour!

In short BUY THIS FILM!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 145 46 4752 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

John Carter [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
John Carter [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Andrew Stanton (Blu-ray - 2012)
£6.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews