Customer Reviews


554 Reviews
5 star:
 (341)
4 star:
 (125)
3 star:
 (41)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


248 of 262 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A review of the movie itself...
Ok. Where to start?
Firstly, I have not read the book. So I can't draw any comparisons on content/accuracy etc.

What I wanted to do is simply dispel the rumours and terrible press this move has had to endure.
To start with the painfully obvious: This movie is unlikely to win any oscars (although the CGI is really really good).

I sat down to...
Published on 21 May 2012 by P. Vlahodimos

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not terrible, but too bogged down in exposition and clumsy storytelling to be enough fun
Fanboys may love to blame the marketing or the title change or even an elaborate conspiracy by Disney to sabotage their own massively expensive film for John Carter - formerly John Carter of Mars - becoming the biggest money loser of all time, but Andrew Stanton's very loose reworking of Edgar Rice Boroughs' books has plenty of more fundamental problems that turned a...
Published on 7 Dec. 2012 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 356 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

109 of 128 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast, fun and likeable., 18 Mar. 2012
By 
Davywavy2 - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: John Carter [DVD] (DVD)
What with Harry Potter, The Lord of the Rings and Star Wars, Hollywood is mad keen to find potential established intellectual properties to turn into movie franchises. Franchises are easy, you see. If people love the first one, they'll go and see the others no matter how rubbish they are (Matrix and Pirates of the Caribbean, I'm looking at you) and guaranteed revenue streams are the dream of, well, not just Hollywood executives, but it is definitely their dream as well as everyone elses.

With that in mind, it was sort-of inevitable that Edgar Rice Burroughs' John Carter series would make their way to the big screen. It is not the original man-travels-to-alien-culture-and-has-an-adventure story in spite of what some might say, but certainly a early and pivotal addition to the genre especially in American culture. Burroughs' stroke of genius with John Cater was to realise that when it was written the British had most of the globe stitched up in terms of travelling to foreign places and showing the natives who was best, and so he transferred the action to outer space. It's an idea that has been mined by James Cameron and George Lucas and many others for the last century and that is, perhaps, the biggest problem the film faces. We've seen it all before. In Avatar, in Dances with wolves, in books like Ursula le Guins The Dispossessed. Most of the reviews I've seen have taken the line that John Carter is kinda samey and unoriginal. Reviews like that are going to put people off seeing it, which I think is unfair because I really rather liked it.
Perhaps because the story is so old, it lacks any pretentions or postmodernism. It's an unapologetic adventure romp as earthman John Carter is whisked off to an adventure on the planet Mars where the yellow sun - sorry low gravity - gives him superpowers, and where he jolly well shows the natives who's best. And perhaps due to the lack of any knowing winks, political subtext or post-colonial guilt, it's a tremendously enjoyable adventure romp. John (the unfortunately named but pleasingly charismatic Taylor Kitsch) leaps about the screen showing baddies what's what and is ably supported by a supporting cast including Dominic West, Ciaran Hinds, James Purefoy, Mark Strong (typecast as a villain, Mark?) and Willem Dafoe who all ham it up with gusto. The design of Mars is great - referencing decades of pictures inspired by Burroughs' work, whilst neatly bringing up to date some of the more dated ideas (like Martians flying round in airships) and rendering the lot seamlessly between CGI, model work and location filming to create a convincing image of a life-bearing by dying mars. The director even takes the time to reference the work of Boris Vallejo in one battle sequence which ends with Carter standing atop of pile of slain enemies. All he really needed was a girl or two clutching his leg and gazing up at him adoringly.

As I sat and munched on my popcorn, one thought just kept popping into my head. Well, actually two thoughts . First that Lynn Collins, who plays Princess of Mars Dejah Thoris, is one of the most beautiful women I've ever seen and where has she been all my life?, and second the repeating thought: "This is what The Phantom Menace should have been like". Phantom Menace failed in two major areas. One, a clunky, exposition-heavy script which led to considerable yawning and bemusement by the audience, and two, a comic sidekick who any normal person wanted to see killed as quickly and painfully as possible. John Carter gets both these things completely right. The script is fast-paced, doesn't pause for breath much or take time for unnecessary exposition and instead of winking at the audience it smiles broadly at you instead. It's like the film is an playful dog, saying "Isn't this fun? Let's play some more!" before launching into some more action-packed intergalactic hi-jinks with an enthusiastic twinkle. Perhaps most impressively, the film contains an amusing comedy sidekick who - get this - you don't want to see dead or maimed and is, in fact, both likeable and amusing.

Wow. Beat that, George Lucas.

So in many ways, the reviews are correct: John Carter is dated, twenty years too late, and filled with ideas that have been done to death.

On the other hand, it's fast, fun, highly likeable, and extremely pretty. It is, like I say, everything the Phantom Menace should have been. The tragedy is that George Lucas is the one who got all the money whilst we're unlikely ever to see the heavily flagged sequel to John Carter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Star Wars, 15 Dec. 2013
This review is from: John Carter [DVD] (DVD)
Who would have thought? It's one of of the best sci-fi adventure films ever made. A genuine timeless classic that's full of charm. Shame on those who panned it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars surprisingly good, 28 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Carter [DVD] (DVD)
I had seen the dreadful reviews of this film along with the disastrous box office performance and as an independent film maker was interested to see what had made it so bad. However after watching it I thought it was an honest and entertaining piece of work that brought the Edgar Rice Burroughs style of pulp fiction and imaginative fun, brightly to the screen.
I think the reviews were unfair, it certainly won't win any acting awards but the cinematography, CGI and flashes of humour work really well and if viewed with an open mind, gives an entertaining two hours. the price for the DVD is very low but it's worth having in any DVD sci-fi/fantasy collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED IT, 4 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Carter [DVD] (DVD)
Cannot understand how anyone could slate this as it is awesome i really enjoyed it and do hope that there is another as i so would like to see more of this.
Anyone who thinks a two hour film is too long proberbly has some sort of attention problems that they should seek help for, i could happily watch this for many many hours and can state to you all right now that i will be watching this again many more times as it is a wonderfull change of pace from the useual tired storylines that are done and redone by other films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you Liked this...You'll LOVE John Carter (of Mars, 7 May 2012
By 
Celefinniel (On The San Andreas, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: John Carter [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
When was the last time I went to see a film twice in the theater? Well, there were Hobbits in it. I've seen John Carter five times in as many weeks. When was the last time I HAD to place a pre-order to get the DVD ASAP? Never!!! I could always wait, even for LOTR. So why is this film different?

John Carter has a lot going for it, despite anything the critics may have said. I am not a prior fan of the actors or director, so that isn't why I went. I just loved the books. I was fortunate not to read the bad press until after I bought a ticket and so I went expecting an acceptable adaptation, maybe what we think of as "the Disney Version." What I got was so much more. Two heroes you can empathize with and respect - John and Tars Tarkas - who change and grow while you watch them. There is a princess who could give lessons in spunk, brains and sheer grrrl power to any female around and still be your BF, and the cutest - and fastest - monster-dog you've ever seen.

This is not cheesy CGI - these characters are well done, well rounded and believable. I forgot they were animated. There is no gratuitous throwing junk at the screen, no camera jiggle to hide the poor SFX. Just sheer talent displayed by the entire cast - live and animated.

If you liked 20000K Under the Sea - you will like this movie. It is epic!
If you liked StarWars - you will like this movie - the princess is priceless.
If you liked LOTR - you will get a kick out of the Tharks and love Woola.
If you liked Romeo & Juliet - this love story will also move you.
If you just want a few good laughs John Carter has those too.

See it in theatres before it is gone and/or grab it on DVD while you can.
Tarks Takas says four thumbs way UP, and I have to agree with him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 6 Oct. 2013
By 
Y. Charlton "Plooma" (Cold Northwest UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Carter [DVD] (DVD)
This film didn't receive many good reviews on its release, however we thought we would give it a go a few weeks ago as we are avid fans of Edgar Rice Burroughs.
We thoroughly enjoyed the film and would recommend it to anyone who is a fan of this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nothing wrong here, 29 Mar. 2012
By 
B. Edwards - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: John Carter [DVD] (DVD)
this film has been savaged by the critics with cries of seen it before.of course they have this is where the plots of star wars,avatar and countless other films have been stolen from.forget the critics.this is good old fashioned sci-fi.a joy to watch.good acting,good special effects.break out the popcorn,sit back,relax and enjoy.5 stars.ps 10 times better than the hunger games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 7 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't know why this was slated so much. It's a great film overall with good effects and acting. The casting of the main characters is pretty much spot on and the CGI Tharks are amazingly detailed. The science is a bit sketchy in parts perhaps, but the story is a good one. For me a sequel would be great but that looks unlikely even though the Edgar Rice Burroughs books give loads more scope for this. Not sure the 3D version adds much extra effect to the film but this seems true of a lot of 3D films recently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mars Attacks! (Each other), 12 April 2012
This review is from: John Carter [DVD] (DVD)
This movie received a lot of bad press when it was released, however I was pleasantly surprised by how much I actually enjoyed it. The scene in the gladiatorial arena is as good as anything I've seen at the movies, whilst strong performances from the likes of Dominic West, Mark Strong and (a heavily made up) Willem Defoe add to the film's appeal. I guess there was always going to be a problem with scripting a movie based on a hundred year old novel, however Burroughs' themes of resilience, adventure, derring-do and love against the odds are all pretty universal. Some of the creatures on Barsoom put me in mind of the various inhabitants of the Star Wars saga, but this is no bad thing - John Carter is the continuation of a fine heritage of Sci-fi Fantasy films, and I await the next segment with keen anticipation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly entertaining!, 5 July 2012
This review is from: John Carter [DVD] (DVD)
Not a great fan of sci-fi but went to watch John Carter with husband and son in the cinema. I am y glad I did not miss this as it was thoroughly entertaining and I enjoyed the film tremendeously. I say this having no background on what the film was about.

Please ignore the critics and watch this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 356 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

John Carter [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
John Carter [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Andrew Stanton (Blu-ray - 2012)
£6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews