Customer Reviews


448 Reviews
5 star:
 (272)
4 star:
 (103)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (26)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


234 of 247 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A review of the movie itself...
Ok. Where to start?
Firstly, I have not read the book. So I can't draw any comparisons on content/accuracy etc.

What I wanted to do is simply dispel the rumours and terrible press this move has had to endure.
To start with the painfully obvious: This movie is unlikely to win any oscars (although the CGI is really really good).

I sat down to...
Published 23 months ago by P. Vlahodimos

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not terrible, but too bogged down in exposition and clumsy storytelling to be enough fun
Fanboys may love to blame the marketing or the title change or even an elaborate conspiracy by Disney to sabotage their own massively expensive film for John Carter - formerly John Carter of Mars - becoming the biggest money loser of all time, but Andrew Stanton's very loose reworking of Edgar Rice Boroughs' books has plenty of more fundamental problems that turned a...
Published 16 months ago by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 345 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars surprisingly good, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Carter [DVD] (DVD)
I had seen the dreadful reviews of this film along with the disastrous box office performance and as an independent film maker was interested to see what had made it so bad. However after watching it I thought it was an honest and entertaining piece of work that brought the Edgar Rice Burroughs style of pulp fiction and imaginative fun, brightly to the screen.
I think the reviews were unfair, it certainly won't win any acting awards but the cinematography, CGI and flashes of humour work really well and if viewed with an open mind, gives an entertaining two hours. the price for the DVD is very low but it's worth having in any DVD sci-fi/fantasy collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not terrible, but too bogged down in exposition and clumsy storytelling to be enough fun, 7 Dec 2012
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: John Carter [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Fanboys may love to blame the marketing or the title change or even an elaborate conspiracy by Disney to sabotage their own massively expensive film for John Carter - formerly John Carter of Mars - becoming the biggest money loser of all time, but Andrew Stanton's very loose reworking of Edgar Rice Boroughs' books has plenty of more fundamental problems that turned a potential franchise into a $200m loss on its theatrical run. The twin perils of poor casting and lumpy storytelling for a start. Stanton never made much secret of the fact he didn't think Burroughs' influential pulp novels were that good and made huge changes not just to the plot, not least introducing a radically reworked version of the villains from the second novel into the film, but also to the central character, turning him from a heroic adventurer to a bad tempered, moping gold-hungry prospector so he can have more of an emotional journey before becoming the saviour of Barsoom, as the locals call Mars. The kind of thing that Harrison Ford could have done in his sleep back in the 80s before he settled into his grumpy old man routine, it could have worked with a genuinely charismatic lead, but Tyler Kitsch ain't it, sulking and growling his way though the first half of the film as the script requires without ever making you give a damn about him.

Not that he's the only one who feels wrong - the actor playing Burroughs in one of the film's multiple framing scenes and the cavalry officer who tries to press Carter into service against the Apaches in what feels like the third opening of the picture grate more than somewhat, and you suspect that they're not getting much help from behind the camera. Stanton's direction doesn't help keep things moving either. It's not always that his ideas are all bad, more that some of them just don't work, partially because of the constant stop/start rhythm of the film, partially because the character doesn't win you over and you tend to notice the joins more because of it. Even when the film finally does promise to burst into action, it's either uninspiringly handled or, in the case of the Tharks' attack on the city that oh so very briefly promises to turn into Lawrence of Arabia with aliens, over in a few shots because a minute of thousands of CGi creatures is much more expensive to shoot even on a $250m budget than several minutes of thousands of real Arabs on real camels.

Perhaps the biggest problem is that in the hundred years since the books were published, they've been strip-mined by everyone from George Lucas and Frank Herbert to James Cameron, so that there's so little that's new to moviegoers here that it needs to be told with real panache and enthusiasm. Unfortunately what we get is an overfamiliar tale clumsily told, despite the large amount of money spent telling it. It's not a disaster of Dune-like proportions, though it does share David Lynch's film's habit of spending so much time stopping the film to explain the plot that the story never really gets a chance to get going: it's the kind of film where Mark Strong's shape-shifting villain will capture the hero only to take him for a long walk in front of expensive CGi backgrounds so he can explain the plot at great length for several minutes. What makes it worse is that his character is actually from the second novel in the series and remains an unresolved behind-the-scenes manipulator obviously being set up for a sequel that will never happen. Not that this is good enough for that to be a cause of much regret.

There is enough that is good to make it worth a look, albeit more as a rental than a purchase: the Tharks are well realised and parts of the film do work and momentarily create a very 1960s fantasy film sense of wonder before the film almost completely loses its way in a rather messily staged final battle and a twist-in-the-tale epilogue that needs far too much setting up at the beginning of the picture. It's certainly not as bad as its huge losses would imply, but it's just too mediocre to really stand out in an increasingly crowded field.

Typically for a flop, the extras package seems a lot less extravagant than it was presumably originally intended to be (the French 3-disc 3D release also includes two extended scenes and an additional featurette). There's a lengthy selection of deleted scenes that wouldn't have improved the picture - one even includes the Princess of Mars telling the assembled statesmen of her kingdom all about their planet at great length as if they needed to be told where they were - a decent look at a day in the making of the film, audio commentary by Stanton and his producers, self-congratulatory featurette about the origins of the film that includes a glimpse of the test footage Bob Clampett shot for his proposed 1930s animated version as well as an interview with Jon Favreau, who spent years developing a much less expensive version of the film that was abandoned due to budget concerns, and a blooper reel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED IT, 4 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Carter [DVD] (DVD)
Cannot understand how anyone could slate this as it is awesome i really enjoyed it and do hope that there is another as i so would like to see more of this.
Anyone who thinks a two hour film is too long proberbly has some sort of attention problems that they should seek help for, i could happily watch this for many many hours and can state to you all right now that i will be watching this again many more times as it is a wonderfull change of pace from the useual tired storylines that are done and redone by other films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you Liked this...You'll LOVE John Carter (of Mars, 7 May 2012
By 
Celefinniel (On The San Andreas, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: John Carter [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
When was the last time I went to see a film twice in the theater? Well, there were Hobbits in it. I've seen John Carter five times in as many weeks. When was the last time I HAD to place a pre-order to get the DVD ASAP? Never!!! I could always wait, even for LOTR. So why is this film different?

John Carter has a lot going for it, despite anything the critics may have said. I am not a prior fan of the actors or director, so that isn't why I went. I just loved the books. I was fortunate not to read the bad press until after I bought a ticket and so I went expecting an acceptable adaptation, maybe what we think of as "the Disney Version." What I got was so much more. Two heroes you can empathize with and respect - John and Tars Tarkas - who change and grow while you watch them. There is a princess who could give lessons in spunk, brains and sheer grrrl power to any female around and still be your BF, and the cutest - and fastest - monster-dog you've ever seen.

This is not cheesy CGI - these characters are well done, well rounded and believable. I forgot they were animated. There is no gratuitous throwing junk at the screen, no camera jiggle to hide the poor SFX. Just sheer talent displayed by the entire cast - live and animated.

If you liked 20000K Under the Sea - you will like this movie. It is epic!
If you liked StarWars - you will like this movie - the princess is priceless.
If you liked LOTR - you will get a kick out of the Tharks and love Woola.
If you liked Romeo & Juliet - this love story will also move you.
If you just want a few good laughs John Carter has those too.

See it in theatres before it is gone and/or grab it on DVD while you can.
Tarks Takas says four thumbs way UP, and I have to agree with him!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nothing wrong here, 29 Mar 2012
By 
B. Edwards - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: John Carter [DVD] (DVD)
this film has been savaged by the critics with cries of seen it before.of course they have this is where the plots of star wars,avatar and countless other films have been stolen from.forget the critics.this is good old fashioned sci-fi.a joy to watch.good acting,good special effects.break out the popcorn,sit back,relax and enjoy.5 stars.ps 10 times better than the hunger games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly entertaining!, 5 July 2012
This review is from: John Carter [DVD] (DVD)
Not a great fan of sci-fi but went to watch John Carter with husband and son in the cinema. I am y glad I did not miss this as it was thoroughly entertaining and I enjoyed the film tremendeously. I say this having no background on what the film was about.

Please ignore the critics and watch this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great action adventure film, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Carter [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great film, definitely worth a watch. It is totally different from the usual action and adventure films. I just hope they make a second one as me and my brother would like to know more about who the enemies were working for and what happened when John Carter went back. I loved this film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Carter [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I bought this for my husband for a present. He and I really loved it. The action was fabulous. A great Present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What's the fuss....................., 10 Dec 2013
By 
Samuel Bond (limerick, limerick Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Carter [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I rented this film sometime ago and I enjoyed it. I have now purchased it on Blu-ray and I do not understand a lot of the negative comments it received at the time of it's release. The story is fine, the acting is fine, the picture and sound are both excellent, the special effects are amongst the best ever. I recommend the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars John Carter from Mars, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Carter [DVD] (DVD)
Good film. Too much CGI, as is often the way, but it's a good storyline, you care about the characters (shame about the CGI beast being the same as the one in Star Wars when Luke gets trapped under Jabba's throne - you know the one I mean). The best bit is near the beginning with the Martian aircraft sequence, the aircraft are breath-taking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 345 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7742c48)

This product

John Carter [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
John Carter [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Andrew Stanton (Blu-ray - 2012)
5.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews