Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars moving and poetic tale of the city
Rapael Barker [ he of the marvelous Shortbus] is in another gem . He plays Anthony who moves from a small town to san francisco . We see how the city gradually changes him and how he is drawn to those who wander the streets. Sexy, sad and although not that fast moving , kept me on the edge . Lovely movie , not at all sleezy .
Published on 15 Feb 2012 by cartoon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars aargh
So bloody depressing. don't watch it while getting drunk, you will want to die afterwards.
i wanted to give it one star, but i thought it fair to give the actors who play anthony and gavin a star each.
Published 13 months ago by Hauskajzer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars moving and poetic tale of the city, 15 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Stranger In Us [DVD] (DVD)
Rapael Barker [ he of the marvelous Shortbus] is in another gem . He plays Anthony who moves from a small town to san francisco . We see how the city gradually changes him and how he is drawn to those who wander the streets. Sexy, sad and although not that fast moving , kept me on the edge . Lovely movie , not at all sleezy .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "For Gavin", 6 Feb 2011
San Francisco is the melting pot that ingests Anthony, Stephen and Gavin. Stephen (Scott Cox), in his mid-30s, is a fragmented surface on which a battle is waged between an urge to control and the will to be dominated. On a business trip to rural Virginia, he met Anthony (Raphael Barker), a sensitive writer in his mid-20s.

Anthony's romantic idealism drew him to follow Stephen back to San Francisco. His passivity simultaneously attracts and repels the unstable Stephen, creating turbulent and aggressive relations between the two. When this coupling inevitably combusts, Anthony's fragility turns to apathy - although in a foray of aimless night-time encounters, his paths cross with those of Gavin (Adam Perez), an enigmatic 17-year-old hustler.

THE STRANGER IN US unfolds without linear narrative: various scenes interject themselves without any chronological foundation, almost as if they were being reconstructed by the vagaries of our memory. Consequently, there are moments of anguish juxtaposed with humour, sensuality bearing wounds, nave bliss and bruised pleasures. The strong cast and fresh dialogue work together to forge a unusual collective yet solitary intimacy.

Writer/director Scott Boswell - in this, his impressive début feature film - confidently creates an intriguing assemblage of churning sensibilities. Not for those who seek their reflection in a fairy-tale, the aptly-titled THE STRANGER IN US is otherwise a quietly thoughtful collision of ambiguous passions and irreconcilable identifications.

Extensive DVD extras include a behind-the-scenes feature, an alternative ending, deleted scenes and Scott Boswell's short film, "One Fine Morning".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars aargh, 5 Jun 2013
By 
Hauskajzer (Blackpool, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Stranger In Us [DVD] (DVD)
So bloody depressing. don't watch it while getting drunk, you will want to die afterwards.
i wanted to give it one star, but i thought it fair to give the actors who play anthony and gavin a star each.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the worst gay film, 15 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stranger In Us [DVD] (DVD)
While this is not the worst gay film I have seen it is certainly up there with the top ten. The continual use of flash backs is distinctly overdone - a straight forward chronological narrative would have done just as well. The film portrays a distinctly sordid side of gay life in Sans Francisco and it is difficult to empathise with the main character Anthony, though the subsidiary character Gavin rings true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loneliness, Friendship, Love and Life in San Francisco., 11 Mar 2012
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Stranger In Us [DVD] (DVD)
This tells the story of Anthony (Raphael Barker) who has met a guy in the shape of Stephen (Scott Cox) and has decided to upsticks from Virginia and travel to the gay Mecca that is San Francisco and live with his new boyfriend. Anthony is an `aspiring poet' and so therefore unemployed so is virtually dependent on Stephen. Whilst things go well at first Stephen has past issues that have caught up with him and he is a classic case of having to hurt the ones you love.

His violent and possessive swings in mood mean that before too long it is impossible for Anthony to remain. The story is told in flash back and has a time line that appears at the bottom of the screen to ensure you are not missing the importance of exactly when things are happening. We see how Anthony has so much to learn from the big city and he befriends Gavin (Adam David) a seventeen year old run away and street wise hustler. They form a bond that is more caring than the one he has/had with Stephen. Along the way there is a host of characters that bring the story to life.

This is a slow paced film with a minimalist approach to film making. I can not remember any background music for instance. There is extensive use of the shaky camera approach which always lends itself to realism/docudrama. But it also goes some way to making a somewhat drab scene be filled with more animation. This, as a device, is used to great effect as part of this story is the crushing loneliness of being in a big city where the one person you thought you knew and could trust, turns out to be a controlling egomaniacal bully (that is not a plot spoiler by the way). There are some very awkward scenes and the need for true friendship is at the core of the tale.

This is not a sex fest either, there are a number of bed room `grunting' scenes but it is actually done in a realistic yet surprisingly tasteful way. Also all of the actors come across (no pun intended) as being very real, they actually have body hair, which makes a pleasant change (unless its one of those rare `bear' movies that is). Even though this is slow paced, there is enough drama to keep you hooked and actually want to know what happens next. It also avoids all of the movie clichés both in terms of the relationship narrative and the whole street hustler thing too. So as a debut effort from writer and director Scott Boswell I feel he has done an outstanding job. If you are a fan of gay and moreover independent cinema then this is one you will want to see - recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely tale of lonely hearts, 10 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stranger In Us [DVD] (DVD)
Lovely done. Loved both the scriptwriting as well as the acting. We were quite impressed by Adam David's acting. He looks both sad and sexy, strong and so vulnerable. The ease with which he seems to do so seems rather promising for what is still to come...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Revealing Romantic Drama, 5 Mar 2014
By 
Petrus (Oxford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stranger In Us (DVD)
This is not your ordinary Mills & Boons love story! An intense look at abusive relationships and how they work. This is a movie that reveals more on second viewing, how people can be manipulative both in terms of positive and negative emotional needs. Excellent casting with sensitive acting from Anthony (Raphael Barker). The use of the date line format tended to confuse the issue however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 9 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Slow movie, disappointed by poor acting of the lead chatracter-couldn't take any more after 20 mins so I gave it to my local library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 5 Aug 2012
By 
D. Morris (Mid Glamorgan, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Stranger In Us [DVD] (DVD)
This story is close to my heart and I was looking forward to seeing the dvd. I have to say it was disappointing - slow, disjointed and difficult to follow; I nearly gave up before half-time. For me and my partner it just didn't have what it takes. To be fair, we'll watch it again sometime; perhaps it will be better viewing next time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Stranger In Us [DVD]
The Stranger In Us [DVD] by Scott Boswell (DVD - 2012)
5.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews