Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great interpretation of a classic book
For those of you who prefer to watch a drama than struggle with the verbose Victorian style of script, this is a well portrayed BBC drama. I remember when it was screened on TV in the 1990s and the captivating story has always lingered with me after all these years. I was delighted to be able to procure my own DVD copy. When watching this drama, one has to accept that...
Published 21 months ago by Derek Humphries

versus
2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stiff and stagy
Faithful to the original, yet rather stiff, stagy and poorly furnished and costumed BBC screen adaption of James' verbose and venomous short novel, a text probably unfit as source material for a good movie or tele script (quod erat demonstrandum: new effort by Andrew Davies supposedly TBA)
Published on 17 May 2012 by Paul Esterhazy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great interpretation of a classic book, 27 Nov 2012
This review is from: Spoils of Poynton [DVD] (DVD)
For those of you who prefer to watch a drama than struggle with the verbose Victorian style of script, this is a well portrayed BBC drama. I remember when it was screened on TV in the 1990s and the captivating story has always lingered with me after all these years. I was delighted to be able to procure my own DVD copy. When watching this drama, one has to accept that this is an on-screen play and the style of acting more akin to watching a theatre production where the cast seem to be projecting themselves to an audience. If you can accommodate this form of presentation, then it is an absorbing story. I found myself reflecting on the story long after watching it ... around twenty years to be more precise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic James, 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spoils of Poynton [DVD] (DVD)
Faithfully follows the book - pretty well all the dialogue - and is typical of James' moral angst and his unwillingness to have an artificial predictable ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy!, 20 May 2013
By 
David A. Novak "David Novak" (Lorain, Ohio) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spoils of Poynton [DVD] (DVD)
I remember watching this film version of the "Spoils of Poynton" as a young man. It is a wonder to see it without the commericals. The DVDs arrived in perfect condition. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful play on human feelings., 14 Mar 2014
By 
George A. Nott (Balerno. Scotland. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spoils of Poynton [DVD] (DVD)
I remember seeing this play on television-it must be some thirty years ago-and it has remained in my memory since then.
Over the years I have checked its availability on DVD, but have been disappointed until now.
Wonderful to now have it "on the shelf", and superbly transferred from the original tapes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Henry James, 23 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spoils of Poynton [DVD] (DVD)
It is unfortunate that there are no happy ending in any of H James novels which is dissappointing for us in the 21st century who have grown up with happy endings. I saw the Spoils of Poynton many years ago and was enthusiastic to see it again. However, I find I simply don't have the courage to see the ending now it is so sad and unfair. So I'm waiting for a day when I'm in a good mood. However, it seems that novels at that time had to make people miserable - just see Mrs Wharton's work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Stiff and stagy, 17 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spoils of Poynton [DVD] (DVD)
Faithful to the original, yet rather stiff, stagy and poorly furnished and costumed BBC screen adaption of James' verbose and venomous short novel, a text probably unfit as source material for a good movie or tele script (quod erat demonstrandum: new effort by Andrew Davies supposedly TBA)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spoils of Poynton [DVD]
Spoils of Poynton [DVD] by Peter Sasdy (DVD - 2012)
13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews