Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a road it is!!!, 8 Mar 2012
By 
Sabooski the Cat (pure of heart, just passin through) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farther On Up The Road: The Chrysalis Years 1977-83 (Audio CD)
Ever since I heard my first Robin Trower record back in 1973 at 21yrs old I had always thought that the voice behind the guitar was Robin Trower himself.
Not that I did'nt enjoy excellent psychedelic blues rock guitar for its own sake, its just that the vocals of James Dewar were such an added blessing to the already Hendrix inspired power chords. It was by all definitions a perfect match. Add to this the focused drumwork of Bill Lordan and you had one of the most consistant power trios' of the 1970s, who made an awesome run of albums for Chrysalis Records.

As exemplified on the first set of Trower's output captured on the complementary box setA Tale Untold: the.. the definitive sound of the Trower-Dewar-Lordan lineup through 1983 is solidly boxed together on 3 more jam-packed cds (6 more albums!)all with 2012 remastereded sound (the earlier set is the 2010 remaster).

To make this package even more enticing, 2 of these 6 albums have the collaborative efforts of Jack Bruce's vox fronting those massive power chords. As if Dewar isn't enough for incredible voice (just check out 'Bluebird') there are two more albums with perhaps one of the all time greatest, Jack Bruce!
Truth be told when all's "sung" and done (imho), Dewar is better suited for Trower's guitar. Bruce does a fine job on the two representational albums however when the last album to finish this box unfolds Dewar's wonderful voice is a welcome return.

I find that the years represented here for Chrysalis the most interesting 'cause we find the BAND mixing it up abit with variations on their "sound"....but always consistant, powerful and ferociously Robin Trower. The years covered here are relatively 'new' to me so's I have the pleasure of exploring these sounds for the first time...at 60! (yup, I'm twice removed from yesterday's madness).

There are lengthy informative liner notes for this box set, better than the first (1973-76) segment cause it had none. Also we have some decent pix of James Dewar as well as Lordan and Jack Bruce. On the earlier set there was only a teeny-tiny picture, hardly visible amongst numerous repetative Trower shots. All in all the booklet layout for this set is much more polished, proportioned and artsy. The jewel housing is in the same, sturdy quality box.

This is a no brainer folks. Don't forget 'A Tale Untold, 1973-76 either. Both are essential listening, and essential rock.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value!, 16 Mar 2012
By 
Rockstar2112 (Somewhere Over The Hills & Far Away) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farther On Up The Road: The Chrysalis Years 1977-83 (Audio CD)
While to me the material on this second version is not quite as strong as Chrysalis Years Vol.1 I would still rate this release 5 stars because you get six(!) albums of remastered Trower from his the late 70's/early 80's period at one very low price. The booklet is more informative here also, so its a no brainer to pick this up if you liked Vol. 1. If you are new to or just getting in to Robin's work I would suggest you start with Vol.1 & then move into Vol.2. Its nice to see that there is still great value being offered by the big music labels after all of the overpriced Immersion & Super Deluxe box sets being released recently. Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A mention for the man, 6 Mar 2012
By 
Richard Devlin "Rikman" (Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Farther On Up The Road: The Chrysalis Years 1977-83 (Audio CD)
Excellent music...this completes the great run of Robin Trower albums. It's also great to see a well deserved mention for James Dewar on the cover, he was always the icing on the cake for me. This is not to decry the material featuring Jack Bruce, I just love Jimmy's voice more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Caravan to Magnificent, 19 April 2012
This review is from: Farther On Up The Road: The Chrysalis Years 1977-83 (Audio CD)
Any great artist may have a period of great commercial acclaim with record sales to match but that doesn't last forever. The tendency then, is to think that this is a result of an inferior product. In some cases perhaps, but certainly not here!

Another important consideration is that in the 70's and early 80's Artists like Robin were producing a record per year - sometimes two! Another reason why the 'commercial mass' may move on to the next thing: saturation -too much of a good thing.

My point being that although these releases were not as commercially successful as Robin's previous releases that in no way can be seen as a sign of inferior quality. Far from it, we have a diversity in scope that is amongst his best. In City Dreams is almost a Funk/Blues outing. Caravan to Midnight (long been my favourite RT release) is a R&B, meets Soul, meets the blues tour de force. All achieved with the same inimitable RT sound and yes, the wonderful Jimmy Dewar!

Victims of the fury is more aligned to a blues rock format and contains the sensational Roads to Freedom. Reason enough to buy it.

The two records with Jack Bruce are very good (especially BLT) but JB is not on a par as a singer or as good a fit as JD in my opinion and so not quite as pleasing for me.

Lastly Back it up -it has some great tunes on it, but perhaps, not quite on a par with the other releases here... This was the last Record with JD -sadly - and RT took a break before returning with Dave Bronze on vocals in Beyond the Mist. With all respect to Dave Bronze, I can't tell you how disappointed I was to finally get to see Robin in 1985 and then find no Jimmy on vocals!!! Never got to see him... Gutted! : (

Please don't let the consensus that reduced sales equals reduced quality... these are pretty much essential for any collection let alone a committed RT fan!

Buy, Buy... : )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "....Tasting The Charms..." - Farther On Up The Road by Robin Trower Reviewed, 19 Dec 2013
By 
Mark Barry (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farther On Up The Road: The Chrysalis Years 1977-83 (Audio CD)
Released 27 Feb 2012 - "Father On Up The Road: The Chrysalis Years 1977-1983" on EMI/Chrysalis 5099930138629 is the mega label's second anthology for guitar virtuoso Robin Trower and breaks down as follows:

Disc 1 (79:30 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 9 are the album "In City Dreams" released September 1977 in the UK and USA on Chrysalis CHR 1148. Track 10 is "Bluebird (7" Edit) - a non-album version. Tracks 11 to 19 are the album "Caravan To Midnight" released August 1978 in the UK and USA on Chrysalis CHR 1189.

Disc 2 (73:07 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 10 are the album "Victims Of The Fury" released January 1980 in the UK and USA on Chrysalis CHR 1215. Track 11 is "One In A Million" - the non-album B-side to the 7" single "Victims Of The Fury" released January 1980 on Chrysalis CHS 2402. Tracks 12 to 21 are the album "B.L.T." released February 1981 in the UK and USA on Chrysalis CHR 1324. The B.L.T. refers to the Guitarist, Bass and Drummer - Robin Trower, Bill Lordan and Jack Bruce.

Disc 3 (71:26 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 9 are the album "Truce" released January 1982 in the UK and USA on Chrysalis CHR 1352 (credited to Robin Trower and Jack Bruce). Tracks 10 to 18 are the album "Back It Up" released September 1983 in the UK and USA on Chrysalis CHR 1420 and FV 41420 respectively.

To get 6 albums and two 7" single sides thrown in for just over twelve quid is pretty amazing value for money (including a free rip to your PC or Mac). But the big deal here is the 2012 PETER MEW REMASTER. I've raved about this guy's touch at the tape before - even set a tag of his remastered issues for those interested in quality sound (there's hundreds) - and this double jewel-case set is no different. The sound is truly fantastic - full and clear without being over-hyped or amped up for the sake of it.

I've always thought "In City Dreams" to have been an overlooked funky nugget in his catalogue. Often associated with Hendrix in terms of guitar sound and technique - people are amazed at the sweetness of Trower's playing on lullabies like "Bluebird" and "Little Girl". But my bomb is the funky-rock of "Somebody's Calling" with its hooks and flange effect - I've often included in on my 70's Fest CD Shop Plays and it always brings a customer hustling to the counter wanting to know who this fantastic track is by (lyrics from it title this review). The album that folowed "Caravan To Midnight" was just as good - a similar mix of funky and mellow with the occasional rock out. The single "It's For You" was a purchase of mine on red vinyl back in the day when we devoured 45s in picture sleeves for breakfast. There's so many goodies on here. "Back It Up" was only issued on CD in 1999 and the other albums have been either unissued or released on long deleted titles. And apart from Bill Lordan and Jack Bruce who brought so much the table - the other unsung hero in the line-up is vocalist JAMES DEWAR (ex Stone The Crows) whose tones and lyrics brought the touch Trower needed to the songs (sadly missed).

The 12-page booklet pictures the albums and has a brief history on them by noted writer MALCOLM DOME whose name has graced many a quality reissue. In fact this entire EMI series is exemplary.

On the rocking "My Love (Burning Love)" James Dewar sings "My love is a burning love...and its yours 'til the end of time..."

Indeed it is.

I've also reviewed "Taking Some Time On..." by BARCLAY JAMES HARVEST, "That's Who!..." by FRANKIE MILLER and "Think About The Time..." by TEN YEARS AFTER in this 3CD series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Class, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farther On Up The Road: The Chrysalis Years 1977-83 (Audio CD)
I'm quite new to robin trower, all I knew of was the Victims of the Fury LP which my dad had on cassette. Brilliant guitar playing, obviously influenced by Hendrix although some of the funkier stuff reminds me of Jeff Beck. Mellow, Funky, Bluesy and Total Rock, theres something for everbody here (Especially if you love good guitar work). Crank up Jack and Jill from Victims of the Fury and watch the hairs stand up on your arms. (Awseome riff and intro). Can't stop listening to this album. Ace. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Trower of my youth, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farther On Up The Road: The Chrysalis Years 1977-83 (Audio CD)
Although I have all the albums on vinyl, playing them without a deck has been a problem! this contemplation gives you the best, remastered and I can play them in the car :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farther On Up The Road: The Chrysalis Years 1977-83 (Audio CD)
Already had most of these albums on vinyl, but a couple were new to me. Great multi-disc jewel case, great appearance, great sounds. Only slightly annoying issue is that some albums have been split over 2 discs - but not an issue if you think "I'm gonna play some Trower" rather than "I'm gonna play the Live Trower album" :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trower as usual is tremendous!, 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Trower as usual is tremendous! There are very tracks I don't like much, this guy has been around a while and hope he keeps on making fantastic music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Robin Trower CD collection Farther On Up The Road: The Chrysalis Years 1977-83, 16 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Farther On Up The Road: The Chrysalis Years 1977-83 (Audio CD)
A great collection made of 6 LP's ...of the great Robin Trower "concentrated" on 3 CD's!! It was difficoult to find the single Cd's, so I think this is a great buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6e1960c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews