Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great little piece of kit
I live in Ireland and wanted a Freeview receiver that did Saorview, the Irish Freeview. (Note that not all Briitish Freeview boxes work in Ireland, The Irish Standard is MPEG4, which is the British HD standard, the ordinary standard is MPEG2)

This box worked perfectly and at a cheaper price that anything I saw locally (and that includes delivery charges) It...
Published 19 months ago by NJS

versus
52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Standard Definition PVR in the UK (NOT HD)
Like another reviewer I took a punt on this little set-top box with usb recording facility and ordered one prior to its Amazon release.

Given the torrent of HD-friendly specs. in the manufacturer's description, you might be forgiven for thinking that this was a bargain price HD recorder. Sadly, it is not - or at least not here in the UK. UK Freeview HD...
Published on 28 Feb 2012 by David


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great little piece of kit, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Premier AV TV-1158 Freeview Receiver/PVR via USB, HDMI upscaling (a UK HD Freeview channels not supported) (Electronics)
I live in Ireland and wanted a Freeview receiver that did Saorview, the Irish Freeview. (Note that not all Briitish Freeview boxes work in Ireland, The Irish Standard is MPEG4, which is the British HD standard, the ordinary standard is MPEG2)

This box worked perfectly and at a cheaper price that anything I saw locally (and that includes delivery charges) It also features a good little media player for which works with my external drives.

The only point to note is that Ireland was not a country selection on set-up, I had to choose England, but it found the Irish stations anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Standard Definition PVR in the UK (NOT HD), 28 Feb 2012
This review is from: Premier AV TV-1158 Freeview Receiver/PVR via USB, HDMI upscaling (a UK HD Freeview channels not supported) (Electronics)
Like another reviewer I took a punt on this little set-top box with usb recording facility and ordered one prior to its Amazon release.

Given the torrent of HD-friendly specs. in the manufacturer's description, you might be forgiven for thinking that this was a bargain price HD recorder. Sadly, it is not - or at least not here in the UK. UK Freeview HD channels are broadcast in DVB-T2 ... and the standard definition programmes in DVB-T.

So, for UK users, this is a single tuner, standard definition Freeview set-top box with usb PVR, upscaling HDMI output and the ability to play HD files input via its single usb-2 port.

I have tried playing 1080-P (1920x1080 @ 30fps) camcorder footage, copied onto a fast usb stick (Transcend Jetflash 600), through this unit - and it seems to play without problems. The box has no network capability - only file -read and -write to a connected usb drive. FAT32 is the required file format - and the unit can format a drive for you should you need it.

I've only used usb flash drives with this box - and despite the apparent adequacy of the claimed write speeds of cheaper usb sticks (such as the Kingston 'Data Traveller' series) I have found, when used with other Freeview & Freesat pvrs, that I get frequent 'insufficient speed' warnings during recording - causing 'skips' on playback. This is probably because the video bitrate is variable. I've measured peak video bit rates in excess of 6 Mb/s in files recorded on this box (this is channel and programme dependent) - though the average will be nearer 2.5 Mb/s. Stick to faster drives - they will be more likely to cope with the peaks.

Via HDMI, the picture quality is good - and occasionally very good indeed - at normal viewing distances. Recordings, when played on a PC, are very good and, there, the compression artefacts, sometimes evident on a large TV screen, are virtually non-existent.

The recorded files are in .mts format which, like the .ts format files produced by the neat little scart pvr unit sold by Digi Fun SCART FREEVIEW, DIGITAL TV RECEIVER RECORDER TUNER SET TOP BOX, USB MEMORY RECORDER, SD CARD READER, HINGED for LCD TVs, will play happily on a PC (if you have the right codec). The recording rate (Gb/hr) varies according to the TV station. The main channels (BBC1, 2, etc.) broadcast full 720x576 images - usually with an 'acceptable' 256kb/s sound bit-rate. Smaller stations seem to broadcast lower resolution images and/or sound - e.g. I've found that E4 and More4 usually broadcast 544x576 images with 192 kb/s sound whereas Film 4 seems to offer the full 720x576 picture - but a barely adequate 128 kb/s for sound. Of course the box can only reproduce what the broadcasters deign to provide - and by and large it does a fair job even with lower resolution broadcasts.

The on-screen menus offer a basic selection of options and the presentation is clear and largely self explanatory. - they do, however, block-out about 80 - 90% of the screen area.

One annoying feature is that the EPG has a mind of its own. I'll upload an off-screen shot to show the problem(s). The photo was taken on Monday 27th Feb 2012: The first issue is that the declared Day for the current date is wrong - and cannot be changed. This in itself isn't a major issue - but the inability of the EPG sometimes to display a complete programme listing for the current & next (actual) date is downright vexatious. You might think that the day after the 27th of Feb. would be the 28th ... but not according to this EPG ... in its world, there is no 28th Feb. The displayed information, by the way, is correct (dates and times) for the listed programmes - it is simply incomplete! The mere act of changing the selected channel can initiate this strange behaviour. By powering off at the mains - or, sometimes, going in and out of standby, the listings will correct themselves - but it is still very annoying.

There is no direct manual entry method for setting a recording time - the only way to input basic timer data is to select something from the proffered EPG listing - then edit it. Fortunately editing the EPG timer data is very straightforward. A minor irritation, to those of us who mostly use timers to record rather than change channels at set viewing times is that, when called, the EPG timer is always pre-set to 'view' not 'record' - so if you forget to change it - you'll miss your recording.

Whilst in grumpy mode - I should also mention that although you can instantly start recording with a single button push there appears to be no simple way to tell the box to automatically stop recording after half an hour or an hour etc. To stop a recording you have be there to push the stop (& OK) buttons at the appropriate time - or, possibly, let the 'sleep timer' do it for you. I haven't tried that one yet - but it would be a clumsy and inflexible solution (if it works).

You may, by now, be thinking that a firmware update was in order - but if you check the website mentioned on the supplied guarantee document , you will discover that this model is new (indeed it wasn't even on the website, in mid Feb2012, when I bought it) - and there are no bug fixes as yet!

One useful feature is that, whilst recording, an information box appears in the top left of the screen. It contains a yellow flashing 'ball' and displays the elapsed time since the start of recording. Naturally the info. box does not appear in the recording itself!

The supplied remote control is reasonably functional - the buttons are clearly marked and quite well spaced (unlike the one for the Digi Fun scart unit). Some functions on the handset appear not to work - particularly the 'skip to next marker'. Video is recorded without marker 'jump' points - so the only way to navigate through a video file is to use the fast forward or reverse buttons (offering the standard x2, x4, x8, x16 and x32 speeds). It may be that the 'skip' buttons will work on jpeg and mp3 files - but I've not experimented with them yet.

The unit comes with a two pin European type mains plug. The pins are too thin to make reliable contact in a 'shaver' adapter so if you don't fancy wiring your own mains plug - there are sellers on Amazon who can supply the correct two to three pin adapter. Euro 2 Pin to 3 Pin Converter Plug / Adapter - White.

In summary, this is an easy to use, if occasionally exasperating, little Freeview set-top box - and if that's all it was then I'd regard it as quite expensive. It's saving grace is its ability to record computer readable files - which it does well enough - though that activity isn't as bug free or user friendly as other, cheaper, units on the market. The HDMI / up-scaling feature is fine so far as it goes - but your TV will up-scale any signal you feed it anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVB T Receiver and recorder., 21 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Premier AV TV-1158 Freeview Receiver/PVR via USB, HDMI upscaling (a UK HD Freeview channels not supported) (Electronics)
The DvB T Receiver was what i expected as described. The Receiver has NO BUILT in Memory for Recording films etc, so i bought a Buffallo 500Gb External harddrive, which works fine. This plugs into the receivers USB socket. The Receiver writes onto FAT 32 format, so most External harddrives (with 1 USB Plug) ie the same USB plug also powers the hard drive and most Flash memory sticks will work too. The receiver cannot write using NTFS. You can set the record times , either from the EPG or Manual input. The receiver needs to be left on with the External harddive to do so, but the TV can be turned off. One more point is it is not HD Receiver, only when you play back HD recorded media, ie, using a HD Camera. The receiver will not find HD Channels anyway, only standard Freeview. It does find plenty of freeview channels and took about 5 mins to do a scan. The tv can be connected using a HDMI Cable, RGB Cable, a Scart lead or a Digital coax lead. Overall it does a good job for the overall price, i gave it 4 stars as it does'nt receive HD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars exactly whay i wanted, 27 Aug 2013
By 
R. Clenaghan (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Premier AV TV-1158 Freeview Receiver/PVR via USB, HDMI upscaling (a UK HD Freeview channels not supported) (Electronics)
This box enabled reception of the RTé channels in N.Ireland a long with all the other freeview stations. Very easy to setup and works well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent !, 9 Oct 2013
By 
R. J. Pringle "musojim" (Shropshire,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Premier AV TV-1158 Freeview Receiver/PVR via USB, HDMI upscaling (a UK HD Freeview channels not supported) (Electronics)
Although my main viewing is via satellite, I occasionally wish to record a film. Up to now I have been using an elderly Digihome recorder,but have been increasingly dissatisfied with the picture quality.
Having a spare hard drive kicking about I decided to try this Premier unit. It was very easy to set up,pretty much on the lines of my TV,and having easily made a couple of recordings I am pleased with the increased quality I am now getting.
It does seem to run a little on the warm side,so have elevated it in my "stack" so as to have airflow all round.
Let us hope that it proves to be durable.

Just a couple of points further down the line,one negative is that it does not seem to collect as many channels as the tuner in my TV,but all the main ones are there, so it is not a serious problem as it is only there for recording. On that subject,I was pleased to find that it recognises and plays recordings made on my "Skybox" F5,which I have in the bedroom. The TV and DVD player will not support these files via USB, so it is a big plus point to be able to make two separate recordings at the same time,if necessary,and bring the F5 recording into the main room for playback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Has served me well., 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Premier AV TV-1158 Freeview Receiver/PVR via USB, HDMI upscaling (a UK HD Freeview channels not supported) (Electronics)
Obviously it's quite a cheap freeview box so is not going to blow your mind. I purchased this box ages ago and decided to come back and review it s it has served me so well. It's not fancy but does the job, has a usb port so you can plug usb sticks or external hard drives into it and watch video or listen to music, it also has a hdmi port at the back so you can connect your tv to it (has a scart lead so you can use it with older tvs as well). If you're on a budget this is a good buy. Only criticism I would have is that if you plug a usb or external hard drive into it to play videos or music it will not read all file types, about one third of the files I have tried to play don't work. Other than that I.m very pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CHEAP AND CHEERFUL PVR, 24 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Premier AV TV-1158 Freeview Receiver/PVR via USB, HDMI upscaling (a UK HD Freeview channels not supported) (Electronics)
GOT THIS FOR THE BEDROOM TELLY PRIMARILY TO RECORD THE GRAND PRIX TO WATCH IN PEACE.
ITS EXCELLENT VALUE, DOES WHAT IT CLAIMS AND IS VERY COMPACT.
REQUIRES A USB STICK, AS THERES NO INTERNAL MEMORY. AND BE AWARE, THERES ONLY ONE TUNER SO
NONE OF THIS WATCH ONE CHANNEL AND RECORD ANOTHER TRICKERY, BUT SO WHAT LET THE PVR GET ON
WITH ITS JOB AND WATCH THE TELLY DIRECT, SORTED.
THE EPG IS A BIT FUSSY AND YOU NEED TO LEARN THE ROPES, JUST LIKE ANY OTHER MODERN CONSUMER
ELECTRONIC. OTHER REVIEWERS HAVE NOTED A EUROPEAN MAINS PLUG, MINE CAME WITH A BRITISH PLUG FITTED OK. SERVICE AND DELIVERY EXCELLENT AS USUAL, KEEP IT UP AMAZON.AT THIS PRICE I'D GIVE IT SIX STARS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good product, 13 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Premier AV TV-1158 Freeview Receiver/PVR via USB, HDMI upscaling (a UK HD Freeview channels not supported) (Electronics)
Works well. I had to turn off the sub-titles altogether because they kept cropping up. Otherwise I found it fine..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good product, but be aware of a few limitations, 20 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Premier AV TV-1158 Freeview Receiver/PVR via USB, HDMI upscaling (a UK HD Freeview channels not supported) (Electronics)
I wanted a cheap Freeview box to record to USB connected storage for playing back on other devices, and overall this unit meets my needs. I can live with the limitations I have found - the Red Button to bring up extra text content does not work and the channel list only contains channels that are broadcasting when a scan is performed.

To set up the recordings I linked to a spare LCD computer monitor using an HDMI to DVI cable. (I tried a 1680 x 1050 max resolution monitor first, but this gave problems. A 1920x1080 max resolution monitor was fine). I can connect the audio output to my HiFi to provide sound, should I ever need a backup for our main TV. There are cheaper products that connect via a SCART socket, but I wanted the more flexible connection options provided by this box.

Although there are no software updates on the AV web pages (as of Oct 2012) when I emailed the support team I was sent a software update for the EPG function. Haven't worked out what the update has actually done to the EPG!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... well and found all our locally available Freeview channels easily on first scan, 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Premier AV TV-1158 Freeview Receiver/PVR via USB, HDMI upscaling (a UK HD Freeview channels not supported) (Electronics)
This liitle box works well and found all our locally available Freeview channels easily on first scan. I attached one of my backup external drives (Samsung 1Tb) and it recognised it immediately and set up a buffer folder to allow pause on live TV. Once I'd worked out how to record (go to EPG, select channel, scroll down to Mode and change from view to record) it's been really useful.

Only three downsides:

- You can't record one channel and watch another - not a problem for me
- The recorded programmes are listed as channel/time/date, rather than title - you can rename them but it's slow work, easier if you plug the disk into your PC and do it there.
- The record format is .mts, which will play in Media Player but not on a video player. If I want to make a disk, I have to edit and convert it with a freeware converter (Freemake).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews