Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great alternative to Lightroom
Corel After Shot Pro

What is it ?

This is a post shot photo editor and enhancer which will work with many RAW formats, JPEG and TIFF image files. It allows the manipulation of information captured from the cameras sensor. It works best with RAW files as these have little or no compression and no in camera systems are applied.

Tools...
Published on 25 Jun. 2012 by RJP the Book Boy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheaper than the competition, not as good as the competition.
Like Adobe Lightroom (Mac/PC) or Apple Aperture (Mac only), Corel AfterShot Pro is a digital imaging program to catalogue your digital photographs and perform basic edits on them without making permanent changes to you original photos (in RAW, Tif or jpeg formats). This is not fully fledged Photoshop-type software; you aren't able to perform minute changes to your images,...
Published on 24 Aug. 2012 by Squeebles


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Struggling to justify a place in my graphics/photo toolbox - but still there!, 24 Oct. 2012
By 
The Fat Monk (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Corel AfterShot Pro (PC/Mac/Linux) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Not only is the software struggling to justify its place in my photo/graphics toolbox, but I've really struggled to review it as well.

Previously known as Bibble, AfterShot Pro is now Corel's 'digital dark room' and photo manager software. As a long time PaintShop Pro user and advocate (see my review for PaintShop Pro X4 Ultimate for example) I'm not sure why I need this as well - BUT I am using it, and there are some things it does very well.

Where PSP is Corel's answer to Adobe's PhotoShop and CorelDraw is Corel's answer to the same's Illustrator, AfterShot Pro is their answer to Lightroom.

The fact that Lightroom is so well respected and heavily used in the pro photography world would indicate that there is certainly a demand for packages like this, but actually PSP does almost all of what AfterShot Pro does and so, so much more.

INTERFACE

The critical difference between photo/graphics editing software and digital dark room software such as this is the interface. AfterShot Pro's interface is, I suspect, aimed squarely at the professional photographer's workflow rather than the graphic artist's workflow. To that end the interface is arranged around functions rather than tools. By that I mean that there is a library tab, a Colour adjustment tab, a Tone adjustment tab and a Detail adjustment tab among others. In standard image editing software these are replaced by vector drawing tools, bitmap drawing tools, shape tools and text tools.

Where there is cross-over is in the image enhancement and adjustment functions such as noise removal, colour/contrast curve adjustment, straightening tools etc. The basic functions are available in both, but rather surprisingly it is PSP that offers more flexibility here. As another reviewer has commented, even red eye removal is missing from AfterShot Pro (though there may be a plug in to do it - both products support a plugin architecture and you get a Vignette plug in supplied as a download when you register AfterShot to demonstrate that add-on type functionality).

INTEGRATION

Integration with your chosen image editor (as mentioned, Corel's own PaintShop Pro in my case) is clunky at best. If I choose to open an AfterShot Pro image in PSP, AfterShot Pro actually saves an enormous tif version of the image and opens that. That can be very slow if you are working off network or cloud storage and even if you are not is very wasteful of disk storage. That's not integration in my book, and considering both are Corel products I would expect much better.

So, why four stars then?

Well this is where rationale goes out the window... My rational mind would only score this software three stars. However, I do like it and find myself using it for photo management, cropping, colour corrected, straightening and tweaking gamma and saturation. If I need to do more then I use PSP directly - avoiding the 'integration'- and as a workflow that works. I flag images I'm then happy with in the 'raw' section of my library then publish all the flagged images to a folder which is shared. This publishing could just as easily be printing, printing a contact sheet or uploading to an online gallery or photo sharing service.

The thing is there are free alternatives that do all or some of the above in some combination - Google's Picasa being one of the best.

In fact, Picasa was one of the first tools I used that boasted 'non destructive editing' - a feature Corel make a big noise about in AfterShot Pro. Basically any edits or changes you make to a photo are stored as a list of instructions in a file that is associated with the photo rather than making changes to the actual photo. You see a preview of what the changes will look like but no changes are made to the original. Only when you publish, print, export or whatever are the changes applied to a copy of the original.

One useful feature I haven't been able to find in AfterShot Pro is a list of those edits and changes in the order in which they are being applied to a photo. It would be very useful to be able to see that list, re-order it (applying a new gamma curve before a b/w filter has very different results to applying them the other way around, for example) and even edit a particular adjustment's settings from the list. If that functionality is there I haven't been able to find it.

PSP also boasts non-destructive editing but achieves this by saving new copies of your photos whenever you save, preserving the original but being less efficient with disk space.

LINUX and SHARED LIBRARIES

Because of its history as Bibble, AfterShot Pro is also available for Linux (Debian flavours) and both are included here (though you'll probably be prompted to download an updated version anyway). This was a bonus for me as I'm spending more and more time in a Linux world and less in Windows.

Both versions are all but identical, but one area I have struggled with is sharing libraries. If I want the same photo library available to two computers, or to my Windows and Linux partitions then AfterShot Pro provides a means of doing that, sadly it's far from straight forward. This is, to be fair, because a network drive or removable storage such as a USB drive could show up on different systems with a slightly different drive letter or path and AfterShot Pro has to be able to cope with that. I just can't help thinking that there must be a better way of supporting this than the way it's currently supported though.

SUMMARY

As I've previously mentioned, I think this interface is likely to appeal to photographers as the workflow is presented in relatively familiar terms. It has to be said as well that in general it is a very nice and professional looking interface - the dark colour scheme that has been adopted across most of Corel's image and video software working particularly well here.

If you are not familiar with image editors and graphics software in general and want something that has a familiar photographic workflow without too many bells and whistles to get in the way then AfterShot Pro is a good choice.

Personally, though, PSP will remain my go to software, with AfterShot Pro fulfilling the photo management function primarily. (If PSP incorporated the additional management functionality found in AfterShot Pro there'd be no need at all for me to own both)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful if this is the only photo software you intend to use., 23 April 2012
By 
Tellboy (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Corel AfterShot Pro (PC/Mac/Linux) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The main aim of this software is to work on RAW images. I suggest before considering it check on the Corel Website where there is a list of camera models that are compatible with it so make sure your camera can store images in the RAW format used by this software.
I found that my point and shoot Fujifilm F300EXR does not shoot in the RAW format only JPEG so had to dig out a previous Olympus camera to try it for what it is designed to do.
It will of course process JPG files but the intention was for RAW files which store all the original information as captured by the camera..
Corel offers a fully functional 30 day trial version of this software and I suggest you download and try this before purchasing.
AfterShot Pro is a new version of Bibble's post production software of the same name. Bibble is now Corel AfterShot Pro.
This software was tested on a Windows 7 PC, 32 bit with 4gb of memory.
This is not the ultimate photo manipulation product and it is not meant to be, in fact if you own Corel Paint Shop Pro and have used it for some time you will probably like me find that the workflow process a bit confusing.
I was never sure exactly where the files were located on my PC and found the file structure it creates a bit confusing. Importing directly from a camera was not possible you need to download to a folder first.
AfterShot Pro is more of a digital photograph database management system and an interface for creating many versions of images from raw images.
Each adjustment creates a different version and the original RAW file is always left untouched.
It seemed a bit odd that after processing an image you can then switch over to Paint Shop Pro if you have it installed as Paint Shop Pro can deal with RAW images anyway so basically it is the presets that are the attraction and the fact the they cam be applied as a batch that is considered useful.
Having tried it I prefer to stick with Paint Shop Pro X4 and rename my own files as I change them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars No longer runs, 18 May 2012
By 
 - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Corel AfterShot Pro (PC/Mac/Linux) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This program used to work, but is now incompatible with Windows 8.1 on my laptop. It crashes at startup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Designed for photographers, 11 May 2012
By 
Peter (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Corel AfterShot Pro (PC/Mac/Linux) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Aftershot Pro is a tool for cataloguing and adjusting photographs. It is not photo-editing software in the way that Paint Shop Pro or Photoshop is: the adjustments are for cropping, adjusting white and colour balance and the like, so it's a tool for photographers rather than for graphic artists. It has very good cataloguing, which is much quicker at importing a large library than some other photo tools I've used, and it keeps the original image and its derived version organised in "stacks". In fact, the modifications don't directly create new image files: the editing instructions are stored so the edited version can be recreated from the original image as required. This saves space and significantly improves flexibility and speed. You can nominate an external editor (such as PaintShop Pro) so you can perform more complex and creative editing from within the program if you wish.

The program is really designed to work with RAW image files: these give the greatest amount of post-processing flexibility and the best image quality (check your camera's compatibility before buying). However, JPEG source files are also supported. Once you have manipulated the image to your satisfaction, you must export it (individually or in a batch) to an output file. The only supported export file formats are JPEG and TIFF: this is consistent with the targetting of the product at serious photographers.

The GUI is a little unusual, and takes a while to get used to - despite being superficially very similar to PaintShop Pro. There are lots of one-key shortcuts that make the program quick and easy to use, once you've taken the time to learn them.

One thing I found slightly annoying is that the full version of the Noise Ninja plugin needs to be purchased separately. The free version of the plugin works pretty well, though.

I've been using PaintShop Pro to organise my photographs for years (having found that I don't get on well with Adobe products). AfterShot Pro is a much better solution for my requirement; using PaintShop Pro as the nominated editor within AfterShot Pro means I have a way to organise my photos and still have the flexibility to use more creative graphics editing tools when I want them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but where's the updates?, 8 Sept. 2012
By 
JBV "JBV^_^" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Corel AfterShot Pro (PC/Mac/Linux) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
There are several programs out there that allow you to process raw files, and to be honest, they're pretty much the same.

Except this allows the use of plug-ins that expand the range of operations you can perform on an image. Black and White conversion with classic film grain? There's one for that. Lens correction? There's one of those too (though not as good as the one built into lightroom.) Almost all the plug-ins are free. And even the pay-for ones have a free option available.

Actually I wrote a review for this that vanished. I even gave it four stars, so why only three? I've now got a Samsung NX20 and AfterShot Pro won't open the images. The Lightroom demo opened them. DNG converter does too. Corel is apparently "Looking into it. But no time scale." Not a good reply, especially since the program will open NX200 files which are the same format (though I haven't tried nx200 raws since the firmware update. I only have a NX10 and NX20.)

If you have a camera covered by the current (1.01) version, then I would recommend this highly. Some of the plug-ins are really useful. On the other hand, Corel is slow at updating with new cameras. If they were quicker, it would get 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not Lightroom - by quite a long way, 22 April 2012
By 
PeeBee (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Corel AfterShot Pro (PC/Mac/Linux) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
AfterShot Pro is Corel's answer to Adobe's ground-breaking Lightroom application. While the features list is very similar to Lightroom, Corel's product is a long way behind Adobe's. Adobe is now on version 4 of Lightroom and it works very well. As long as you have a reasonable PC spec, Lightroom is fast to use; it also has a large range of add-ons (such as presets) which are available at a price, or for free. Corel, by comparison, is slower (although not exactly "slow") in use and won't have as many after-market add-ons or training as Adobe's. AfterShot Pro's interface borrows very heavily from Lightroom, but the final result just isn't as polished.

The point of AfterShot Pro and Lightroom, is to provide an all-in-one solution for photo indexing, tagging and minor adjustments, such as those you would expect from a good processing lab. I.e. fine adjustments to colour temperature, exposure, selective highlight/shadow detail recovery, cropping, noise reduction etc. So, not the full-blown "Photoshop" experience, but tweaking your images for final output; you won't be able to mask out people you no longer want in photos, or liquefy someone from an ogre to a beauty, but that seems like a good thing to me.

The application works best with Raw files and provides a nice workflow to get the images off your card, onto your hard drive, index/tag them, sort/rank them, make adjustments on individual images or in batch and prepare for display or printing. The workflow is simple, largely using sliders, and for those who don't have the inclination to learn all about layers, provides all the functionality a photographer needs. What's more, all adjustments are non-destructive - no changes are made to the Raw files themselves; the app stores your changes as metadata (or rather, sidecar data) alongside the Raw file so if you're unhappy with a change or want to try a different treatment to your images, you can start again from the base image.

There is a relatively small difference in price between PhotoShop Pro and Lightroom. Lightroom is just under £100 for a standalone, full-price version, or about £60 for an upgrade version or Adobe Lightroom 4.0, Student and Teacher Edition (Mac/PC)). I'm all for competition, but sadly, Corel's product doesn't compare well with Adobe's, especially if you qualify for the Student/Teacher version (which you do if you have a student in your household who will be using the software).

In terms of final output, the results from working with AfterShot Pro are perfectly acceptable, but again, not as good as Lightroom. The noise reduction isn't as clean as Lightroom (although Noise Ninja is very good; the highlight/shadow recovery isn't quite as good. However, in terms of photo management (tagging, search, adjustments, batch processing) AfterShot Pro does the job; just not as well as Lightroom. Lightroom 4 also offers GPS location-tagging and simple video editing. I'm not a big videographer, but it's nice to have a simple integrated solution as my clips are largely recorded on my 'stills' cameras. In addition, Lr has camera and lens profiles which auto-correct some of the known issues with your kit, e.g. barrel distortion and so on, which can be fixed on the fly in Adobe Lr. Of course, Adobe has huge resources compared to Corel and it has very close links with the camera manufacturers, but that works in the consumers' favour as the products are kept up-to-date with the newest cameras and lenses being added to software updates very quickly.

I tested AfterShot Pro with Raw files from an Olympus E-P3 and Canon EOS 5D mk II. AfterShot Pro is not as fast as Lightroom and when applying adjustments, I found my machine would lock up for a second or two while AfterShot Pro did its thing. The image adjustments are not rendered to screen as you move the sliders, but after a short lag - it's not a show-stopper, but until you get used to the sensitivity of the sliders, this can be a little frustrating. My machine runs Win7 64bit and has an Intel Core i5 (first generation), 8Gb RAM and 1Gb video card - not cutting edge, but no slouch. Even when running batch processes on Lightroom, my machine never suffers slowdowns like that.

The only reason one might choose AfterShot Pro over Lightroom is if you run a Linux machine - there is no Linux Lightroom. Otherwise, I can see no reason to choose this. AfterShot Pro would need to sold at about £30 for me to give it a thumbs-up. If you're in the market for a Lightroom-like solution, I would say get Lightroom. Luckily, you can download a trial version of both and test them for yourself; head over to Adobe's and Corel's websites to get a trial version and see which you prefer.

*One thing worth noting: If you have your OS on an SSD hard drive and files on a second HDD, you will probably want to install AfterShot Pro to on your non-SSD drive. This is because the metadata and photo catalogues will take up a lot of space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good medium-range package for semi-pros, 27 April 2012
By 
Inspector Gadget "Go Go Gadget Reviews" (On the trail of Doctor Claw) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Corel AfterShot Pro (PC/Mac/Linux) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I do believe that Corel are currently best when it comes to photo-manipulation programs. I've tested and reviewed previous packages such as PaintShop Pro X4 Ultimate (PC) and CorelDRAW Graphics Suite X5 (Guidebook and DVD) (PC). AfterShot Pro isn't all that great for drastically altering your photos beyond the point of making them clearer or increasing saturation, but if you take hundreds and hundreds and lose track of them then it's brilliant for organizing and arranging.

The box over-hypes the content a little bit, so don't be too drawn-in by it, but I am pleased to report there are no bugs (never had such problems with Corel) and that the package works quickly and smoothly. If you have either of the packages mentioned above then it's maybe not worth getting, but as a starter it may well be invaluable for giving order to your pics. I assume something like AfterShot Pro would be more fitting to photo-journalists than serious photo-editors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic photo software, 23 April 2012
This review is from: Corel AfterShot Pro (PC/Mac/Linux) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A brilliant package for all levels of users, you can like me - use this package as an advanced photo editing suite for your everyday photos - adding the usual touch ups or colour effects, adjusting your brightness and contrast - or for the more advanced there is a wide array of more in depth effects that you can control entirely, use this for RAW images, which my camera does not support unfortunately but this is a great program to organise and edit a number of photos at the same time - you can store particular effects you like and very handy for me - quite a few of my photos lately had been too dark so all at once i could use the same setting to get them all brighter instead of trawling through each one!

A fantastic program and reasonably priced for everything it does - it can be as simple or as complex as you want it to be from beginner to advanced this package has everything - highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Lightroom...., 19 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Corel AfterShot Pro (PC/Mac/Linux) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
...which is really has to be to stand a chance.

However, those of us (like me) who use Paintshop Pro as their main graphics software will find this a useful RAW process suite and worthwhile addition. However, this should really be given away with the Ultimate version of PSP, instead of asking the same amount again. People are willing to pay for Lightroom because it is the industry standard; this is not, and never will be.

As for the software, it is basically Lightroom Lite, in Corel flavour. The majority of the functions are there, some easier to use, many harder. However the reason I only give this three stars is the lack of camera support. I suggest you check if your camera is supported before you buy this product, otherwise it's pretty useless (unless you first convert via some other RAW convertor, which makes this a pain to use).

If you don't have Lightroom and use PSP as your main editor, then this could be a good buy, just make sure you know what you're buying and try to get it for a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is decidedly M'eh, 19 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Corel AfterShot Pro (PC/Mac/Linux) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
With so many photographers around me I like to dabble a bit when it comes to taking pictures. I couldn't justify spending even half the cost of this software were I looking to purchase it, and having played with it a bit, it is just as well I didn't as it doesn't pass muster with that price tag.

This is a nice piece of play about picture editing software but doesn't cut the mustard when playing with big boys like Lightroom and I've used some manufacturer and other less expensive products and pound for pound they outperform AfterShot by quite a distance. What Coral have produced is a lightweight product which it has then marketed, priced and positioned in the heavyweight leagues where it simply cannot hold its own.

While it does what it does to an acceptable level, to me it is not worth the money when much better software is available for similar money and similar quality software is available for less.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Corel AfterShot Pro (PC/Mac/Linux)
Corel AfterShot Pro (PC/Mac/Linux) by Corel (Linux, Mac OS X, Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews