Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
This is a very effective piece of software from the name you can trust. You know that buying something from Sage will do the job and this is no exception. Designed for small businesses, market traders and the like, this is accounting made as simple yet thorough as possible. You can send everything electronically to your accountant, should you even need one and also send...
Published on 21 Jun 2012 by Adamski

versus
25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good accounting solution for the small business
You can tell straight away that Instant Accounts 2012 is aimed at people who know little about accounting. It's help and wizards are extensive and on first use it's possible to get up and running surprisingly quickly.

Day to day tasks such as sales, purchases and invoices are very straightforward, and a large range of reports is provided. VAT returns can be...
Published on 22 May 2012 by N. Burgess


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great item, 9 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Instant Accounts 2012 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Had been using an older package previously when i overwrote a problem arose with accounts i contacted safe and data repair was done. Fantastic item. Would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Instant accounts, 22 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Instant Accounts 2012 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Excellent product with very good backup from Sage if it is required.
The tutorals provided with the product does answer most queries that may crop up but the 45 days free support with the product is a very positive asset for the product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not for the casual user, 21 Oct 2012
By 
Gary Hilton "ursinebrute" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Instant Accounts 2012 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Sage produces quality products and its' reputation precedes it: often considered the ultimate accounts software package, this can be advantageous yet has its drawbacks as well. It's good because it means you can do a lot with Sage programs - no matter how you need to record, analyse and manage your finances, there's a very good chance that Sage Instant Accounts will do the job. It's bad, because it make the program sometimes bafflingly complicated.

You can't fault Instant Accounts on either the level of detail or control it offers. Set up your chart of accounts properly and thereafter all you need to do is regularly record your transactions. The program will automatically create a set of double-entry books for you. This sounds so easy. Like many finance programs, Instant Accounts uses a flowchart interface to make tracking transactions easy. To start a job simply open the Customers tab and create a quote. When the job is accepted, convert the quote into an invoice, then take payment against that invoice and so on. Instant Accounts busily beavers away in the background, updating your nominal accounts.

But what about transactions which aren't associated with a new quote, for instance capital investments, bank charges or old transactions that you want to record when you first start using the program? Well, for that you need to switch over to the Company tab and enter the details into the Journal. You'll need to enter the details of every transaction twice, debiting it to one nominal account and crediting to another. And if you make a mistake when you're entering a transaction, there's a good chance you won't be able to edit or delete the error, so if you make a mistake on your opening balances or on internal transfers, you need to reverse the transactions manually.

That still doesn't excuse the complicated interface. Sage Instant Accounts feels too much like a professional program that's been slimmed down a bit and repackaged for small businesses. If you're an accounts expert or you already know Sage, then that's OK, Just buy this program and you've got something that will pretty much run your business for you. If you weren't born to bookkeep and you just want simple accounting software that will take some of the pain out of finances, then Sage Instant Accounts may not be for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sage accounts makes accounts easy!, 19 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Instant Accounts 2012 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Received this product really quick. Passed onto my book-keeper who was over the moon. Said very simple to use and very easy to pickup as never used Sage before. Makes her job easy and plus takes less time. Very Good Product would recommend to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sage goes on forever, 25 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Instant Accounts 2012 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Bought Sage 2012 as a modernisation from Version 15, although I have been using various incarnations of the programme for some 20 years.
As usual, there are no radical changes to cope with for the long-term user and the program continues to be the best for small business although it is annoying that there appears to be no way of installing the new version in a way that will allow you to have your old version running simultaneously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The best one yet, 23 July 2012
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Instant Accounts 2012 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Oh, I liked this. I'm far too lazy to do my accounts, so having something that does most of the hard work for me is a real boon. I found this to be easy to learn, understand and implement. Not something I can say for most accounts packages.

I don't make enough to register for VAT, but had a play around with the function anyway, and it seems to do wonders. The layout is a bit tricky at first, but within hours I'd got used to it, and finding my way around was remarkably intuitive. The customer and supplier details are straightforward, and it's an absolute breeze to work out how your receipts, banking and expenditure are looking.

The best one yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Effective software, 15 Jun 2012
By 
The Emperor (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Instant Accounts 2012 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was very impressed with this accounting software. I am currently using Sage 200 and I was surprised by how many features Sage Instant accounts has and how similar it is.

There is a learning curve but it is rewarded and this software is pretty straightforward and easy to use.

If you are a well organised person and don't mind getting information from websites like HMRC's and Companies House you probably don't even need an accountant, if you are a sole trader or have a new start up or very small business.

There are a few attempts by Sage to `upsell' but these are easily ignored.

I would recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It works great!, 13 Jun 2012
By 
A. Kwabula (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Instant Accounts 2012 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Sage Instant Accounts 2012 is really the easy way to do your accounts. I think most people will agree returning the correct amount of VAT is the most difficult thing for some of us with little to no book keeping know-how. This software does a good job of calculating the correct VAT for you from what you have been feeding it. Very easy to track money, both the amount you woe and what you are owed.

It is largely driven by wizards so setting it up is not a burden even if you dread book keeping like I do.
The ability to create receipts and I was very happy to find you can store your products and services information and analyse how each product is doing.

For small businesses, this one is the real deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good software for a small business, 2 Jun 2012
By 
C. M. Cotton "Chris Cotton" (Europe and USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Instant Accounts 2012 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have tested a number of accounting software for the Amazon vine programme. I have found virtually all the software I have tested as being easy to use and good. This package was easy to load and comes with a number of video tutorials. I have to say I do not like the videos as they are very boring and not engaging at all. This issue I have with the videos is a minor problem as the software is intuitive to use with lots of "wizards" to help you make the most of the software.

The software itself is pretty competent for use by a small business and it allows you to file certain parts of the tax return directly with Inland Revenue. I found this package easy to use and probably the most intuitive of any accounting software I have tested for the Vine programme. I would not recommend it for a large complex organisation, but for a small business it is simple and almost perfect.

Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great all rounder, 24 May 2012
By 
Dinah85 "Dinah93" (Cleveland,UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Instant Accounts 2012 (PC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've tried quite a few bits of accounting software through Vine and I have to say this is my favourite. Easy to install and quick to run, the software is intuitive meaning no need to read the instructions. For me as a very small business owner I find it can more than adequately meet my needs, enabling me to produce much more usable results for my tax return (or accountant if I had one). I like that in future I could use it to send a VAT return straight to HMRC if the need arose. A very efficient piece of software to make life easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Instant Accounts 2012 (PC)
Instant Accounts 2012 (PC) by Sage (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
129.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews