Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PRIME ROCK RIB - ANY CHANCE OF SECONDS?
There are some things in life (and music) that are meant to fit together - rock royalty Iron Maiden and UK precision metallers SikTh are not salt & pepper or Laurel & Hardy or roast beef & Yorkshire pud. What they are is a far-from-predictable, studio-based alliance that might seem a trifle off-the-wall on paper, but hits the spot massively in practise. If you're a fan of...
Published on 27 Feb. 2012 by Inferno

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Musically brilliant but the vocals bring it down a notch!
I love Adrian Smith. I love the fact that he branches out into different territory (Welcome to the World by Psycho Motel is one of my all time favourite albums) but why the hell did he choose a crap vocalist to bring the album down?????? The vocals simply do not do this album justice! Musically the ferocity is utterly brilliant but I cannot stand the vocalist!
Published on 6 Mar. 2013 by Bish


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PRIME ROCK RIB - ANY CHANCE OF SECONDS?, 27 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Awoken Broken (Audio CD)
There are some things in life (and music) that are meant to fit together - rock royalty Iron Maiden and UK precision metallers SikTh are not salt & pepper or Laurel & Hardy or roast beef & Yorkshire pud. What they are is a far-from-predictable, studio-based alliance that might seem a trifle off-the-wall on paper, but hits the spot massively in practise. If you're a fan of SikTh or Maiden, then there's plenty here to grab your interest, and enough experimentation to keep you both entertained & challenged. Former SikTh frontman/lyricist, Mikee Goodman, shows just how much he's matured, with his big hooks, thought-provoking lyrics & memorable choruses, while Maiden guitarist Adrian Smith proves that he's not afraid to push the envelope and to try out new things - to sharpen his musical edge and to keep the whole thing exciting & fresh. All in all, a great album, whatever your affiliations and taste - if you like rock (in all or any of its various guises) you'll relish this meeting of music & minds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 17 Jun. 2012
By 
J. Press "jimp" (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awoken Broken (Audio CD)
Few albums these days grab you immediately and most albums by established bands fail to deliver decent memorable songs. This experimental project by Iron Maiden's Adrian Smith however hooked me immediately. OK, Mikee's strange vocal style needs a little getting used to. I've not heard any SikTh and am not a fan of cookie monster or dead man singing vocals but thankfully Mikee rises above that and you soon realise what a good vocalist he is capable of cutting across a varied range. The songs are well structured and executed, and Adrian Smith's playing faultless. These are mostly all out metal rock songs that are well outside Smith's day job with Maiden but neither are they extreme - think high quality mid-paced metal rockers (in the main). As with the two Bruce Dickinson albums, he played on before rejoining Maiden, Smith downtuned his guitar (to Drop D according to a recent interview which isn't drastic) and wasn't afraid to push the envelope which he does with style here. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tortured Tone, 20 May 2012
This review is from: Awoken Broken (Audio CD)
This ain't Maiden! Not even close. This is a whole different animal.
This CD is a creeper. At first the vocals can be a little... off-putting? Is that a word? They take some getting used to, as they're quite unusual. But after a couple listens, I found a few weird refrains stuck in my head. Some more listens and it sinks in -- this CD is Mind Blowingly Good. Quite possibly the best thing I've heard in a LONG time (since I discovered Ween). It's complex - all kinds of stuff going on if you listen, different, and oh so very heavy! Mikee Goodman's voice WORKS. It may sound screamy (and I am SO not a fan of screamy vocals) but it's actually quite melodic, in combination with Adrian's incredible playing, and song writing (c'mon - most of the best Maiden songs were written by Adrian!). I am now a big Mikee Goodman fan. Also, Adrian's backing vocals are awesome. I love every song on the CD but the favorites are No Friendly Neighbour, No Place Like Home, I See Lights, Bright As Fire, Tortured Tone, Search For Bliss and Snake Ladders. OK - the whole CD, really. The guitar playing is *amazing* - the solo in BaF will knock you on your butt. Wild! (GO H!) And the best song on the cd is... Tortured Tone. Again and again and again.
The production, and the sound/tone of H's guitar is better than I've heard in ages.
Listen to it with an open mind. Give it a few listens.

Adrian said about it in a recent interview,"It might be a bit hard to take for some people, but if you give it a chance, there's actually quite a lot of interesting stuff in there."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Musically brilliant but the vocals bring it down a notch!, 6 Mar. 2013
By 
Bish "}{ellraiser" (Melbourne, AUSTRALIA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Awoken Broken (Audio CD)
I love Adrian Smith. I love the fact that he branches out into different territory (Welcome to the World by Psycho Motel is one of my all time favourite albums) but why the hell did he choose a crap vocalist to bring the album down?????? The vocals simply do not do this album justice! Musically the ferocity is utterly brilliant but I cannot stand the vocalist!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Strange album, 17 May 2012
By 
N. Irshad (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awoken Broken (Audio CD)
I bought this after I saw it advertised on Iron Maiden website. This is a collaboration between Iron Maiden guitarist Adrian Smith and some bloke who used to be in a band called Sikth. He has a strange singing style which I am still trying to get used to but this is by no means the worst album that I have ever heard. There is some good stuff on here, you just have to get used to the singing style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant album, 19 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awoken Broken (MP3 Download)
Got this on a whim, longstanding Maiden fan who's always valued Adrian Smith's melodic sensibilities over any of the other Maiden writers. Not familiar with Sikth, but took a chance and this has not been out of the player all week. Hard edged and melodic in places, with Mikee Goodman's distinct vocal style and some great lyrics. Nice viola touches too. I can't recommend this highly enough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not the best. Bring back ASAP., 30 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awoken Broken (Audio CD)
For Adrian Smith and Maiden fans everywhere... Avoid this album and buy ASAP Silver and Gold instead. Alternatively Bucket & Co's Guitars Beers and Tears has two great H tracks on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awoken Broken (Audio CD)
Some good tunes on it but Sikth and Iron Maiden will always make for better listening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Odd couple made in heaven!, 15 Oct. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Awoken Broken (Audio CD)
Of the two guitarists in Maiden,(Gers is NOT a guitarist,a gurner maybe!!)Adrian Smith is my personal favourite.A melodic,tasteful & discreet player,who never plays for the sake of it,top song-writer too both in Maiden & outside of the band.Here he has teamed up with Mikee Goodman(me, neither) from the band SikTh ( again, me neither) to combine on PRR.The 1st thing to report is Goodman's singing.Imagine a cross between the singer from The Offspring,Bobcat Goldthwait from Police Academy,Phil Anselmo from Pantera ,plus early Geoff Tate,Justin Hawkins & Andrew Elditch from Sisters of Mercy & Richard Butler from The Psychedelic Furs ,you are on the right way,but still not really there,ok??Talk about a multi dimensional vocalist,blimey!The material has bit's of Thrash,Industrial,Goth(none of which I particularly care for) yet tastefully fused together,& memorable & melodic,& a real grower,trust me,with some big ,catchy chorus'. I know I've mentioned Thrash,don't be put off.Personally apart from Megadeth & Slayer I hate it;Its just fast,un-musical rubbish,played at such ridiculous volume in the hope you will not hear the distinct lack of talent making such a din,& than goes for Speed/Hardcore/Death etc & all the off-shoot's of Thrash, but this isn't like that at all.This is well thought out,well mixed & the vocal harmonisation of Smith & Goodman on the song's catchy hooks,work together really,really well. Sure ,Goodman's shrieks & screams won't be everyones cup of tea,but if you can play it 2 or 3 times you will get it.Heavy?? yes, very. Melodic??,definitely & original too & certainly not what I was expecting from Adrian at all!Adrian's solos are skillful,without getting widdly diddly,& there are plenty of heavy de-tuned,thrashish riff's, also. Highlights;Tortured Tone ,is my favourite tune at the moment,No Place Like Home has a fantastic chorus you will Love!Be warned you Smith fans ,if you are expecting ASAP;Silver & Gold part 2,this really isn't it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Awoken Broken
Awoken Broken by Primal Rock Rebellion (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews