Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great nostalgia. Spot on memories at record shops spending hours of brousing, As they now all seem to be disapearing.
Great nostalgia, great memories of times browsing through record shops. Unfortunately they are now rapidly disappearing, well written. Thank you for keeping these memories of happy times alive, look forward to a second book.
Published 22 months ago by H. J. Cook

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Will keep you interested for a while
Some interesting and amusing episodes to be found in this brief collection of anecdotes. But you are left feeling that it could have been so much more with a bit of effort on the authors part.
Published 23 months ago by 1Impens


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great nostalgia. Spot on memories at record shops spending hours of brousing, As they now all seem to be disapearing., 16 Feb 2013
By 
H. J. Cook "Helen. J" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Record Collecting in the Digital age (Kindle Edition)
Great nostalgia, great memories of times browsing through record shops. Unfortunately they are now rapidly disappearing, well written. Thank you for keeping these memories of happy times alive, look forward to a second book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, yet educational, 5 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Record Collecting in the Digital age (Kindle Edition)
A fantastic read from start to finish which had me laughing throughout, whilst building my knowledge of the diverse world of record collecting further. It tells of the many ways at which you can collect records in the 21st century through many an anecdote. Incidentally Each of these anecdotes seem to read like a vinyl collecting Alan Partridge talking, the author deffinitely has a knack, as its comedy gold.
Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Record Collecting in the Digital Age, 29 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Record Collecting in the Digital age (Kindle Edition)
A great insight into the life and world of contemporary record collector John Silke. With tales of 'Obsessive Steve', lucky finds, record buying adventures and internet trading nightmares, there is plenty of material here that most record collectors can relate to. There are also interesting interviews with a record sleeve artist, an independent record shop owner and a retired TV technician. Well worth reading!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing perspective on modern music collecting, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Record Collecting in the Digital age (Kindle Edition)
Clearly passionate about music and finding treasure in the darkest recesses of today's throwaway society, John Silke's guide is engaging and an important read for those obsessed with vinyl, or those seeking a more satisfying experience than browsing the online music stores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Will keep you interested for a while, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Record Collecting in the Digital age (Kindle Edition)
Some interesting and amusing episodes to be found in this brief collection of anecdotes. But you are left feeling that it could have been so much more with a bit of effort on the authors part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very readable, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Record Collecting in the Digital age (Kindle Edition)
he bought to life a lot of people i know and talks about record fair and shop i know very well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic read!, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Record Collecting in the Digital age (Kindle Edition)
As a new vinyl junkie I found this book not only an invaluable & interesting 'handbook' but also am amusing & anecdotal read at the same time! Not all authors make this contrast as 'smoothly as Silke'. Get it.? ;o) I look forward to more from this original author..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as useful as I'd hoped but in no way awful, 4 Mar 2013
By 
S. Bray "thinelvis" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Record Collecting in the Digital age (Kindle Edition)
I was hoping for more of a guide & less of a series of personal experiences. Having come to terms with the fact that this isn't quite what I expected it's not a bad read. As a small time collector myself I identified with the author to some extent. Ultimately I didn't take any great truth away from this book but it entertained me on a long train journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Record collecting in the digital age, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Record Collecting in the Digital age (Kindle Edition)
Could have been so much better than this ,I love record collections ,the author of this book came across / Bore bore bored .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal read for the vinyl enthusiast., 28 Sep 2013
By 
M. J. Turner (St. Dogmaels, Pembrokeshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Record Collecting in the Digital age (Kindle Edition)
If you've just got back into the vinyl album collecting mode like me then this is a darn good read. The author gives a great insight into some familiar traits of pursuing that crock of gold we`d all love to stumble across, his description of charity shop behaviour is spot on and he is also accurate in his description of car boot, record fairs and junk shop perusing. His reflection on eBay buying and selling is a valuable lesson and one which sellers of vinyl would do well to heed.

Although he doesn't go into any detail about the profits he has made from his selling ventures it is very clear that he has gained massive pleasure out of his enjoyment of collecting vinyl down the years. Perhaps that more than anything else should be the key to understanding what makes vinyl lovers tick, whether we have just stumbled across a rare find for a quid at a car boot or travelled 40 miles to a record fair and found nothing it is the rummaging that is often most fun because you never quite know what will turn up unexpectedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews