Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Action packed classic Star Trek, with some flaws, 7 Feb 2012
By 
Mr. P. D. Gregson-allcott "thegerg" (Muppet heaven!) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series: The Rings of Time (Kindle Edition)
What this book lacks in characterisation, it makes up for in action and plot ideas.

If you can forgive an, at times, rather pedestrian writing style, then there is much to enjoy in this title. You can find Kirk fighting, Spock being logical and scientific, Bones complaining, Scotty mending stuff, girls kissing Kirk, exotic alien probes, time travel, aliens and planets in peril, girls slapping Kirk and even the son of a seminal TOS character making an appearance.

It is a smorgasbord of Trek fare and it could all go horribly wrong because of this, but it mostly succeeds in keeping it all in place and wrapping it up. Although there is a rather mad final few chapters that I think could have lost of a few of their Trek references. Especially the moment involving Zoe, which is just a tad overboard.

The main weakness in this book is the lack of main character development because, although the author does create a believable Enterprise crew, at some moments they are become pastiches of themselves and this sours the milk. For example, each character seems to be in a race to say say at least 5-6 of their catchphrases and in some moments, these do seem to be forced into the narrative rather than subtly placed.

There are also some rather obvious plot twists that I saw coming the moment they were even hinted at and because it is a short book, it seems somewhat rushed and could have done with more pages. That said, for a £3.99 title on Kindle, I probably shouldn't expect War and Peace.

Overall, this book is worth the money and for the most part, does read like a classic TOS episode made for a modern audience. I cannot give it 5 stars because of the writing, but as a rollercoaster Trek story, it is good fun and ticks many of my favourite plot elements for original series Enterprise. Worth reading on the bus or train for fun but don't expect your little grey cells to be taxed that much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Time Travelling With Captain Kirk, 13 July 2012
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series: The Rings of Time (Kindle Edition)
A thoroughly entertaining story set a few years from now during the first manned mission to Saturn. The crew of the Lewis & Clark encounter an alien probe that seems to feed from a storm on Saturns pole. Jump ahead a few hundred years and the Enterprise rushes to aid another ringed planet which is being destroyed by the approach of the same probe. Kirk touches the dying probe in his time, Capt.Christopher touches it in his, and hey presto! Their personalities are exchanged. How Kirk and Capt. Christopher deal with their new situations and the problems they face with the alien probe is the basis for this enjoyable tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book..., 29 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A highly recommended read especially if you have read the Eugenics Wars books in which Shaun Christopher is introduced....

Full of action with great plot twists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The rings of time by Greg Cox, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series: The Rings of Time (Kindle Edition)
Amazing read all the way through amazing time line story could read it another ten time over ten out of ten
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good book, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series: The Rings of Time (Kindle Edition)
as Spock would say fascinating a good read but i found the ending to be rather disappointing but overall not bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series: The Rings of Time (Kindle Edition)
I have never read Greg Cox before but the title and preface interested me so I gave him a try. I was not disappointed as I read the book from cover to cover without stopping. Can't wait to read another one of his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The rings o time, 26 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series: The Rings of Time (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyable story, runs at a good pace. A few good twists, plenty to keep you involved in the story. Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Lot of Fun, 18 Mar 2013
By 
DR Burden "Horatio" (northumberland, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series: The Rings of Time (Kindle Edition)
I whisked through this one in a few hours, one session and done.

Unlike so many of the original series novels, this one genuinely feels like a lost episode, it's free of the bigger ideas some of the other books try and put across, but succeeds in being a true to the show, rip roaring adventure.
As another reviewer said, the characterisation is light but also, I think, why go too deep with these people? We as readers and viewers know them, know who they are and how they react.

The plot is quite light which allows the action and excitement to crash on at quite a pace. Each chapter jumps between the centuries and yet the 2020 sections are just as interesting as those set in 2272 with the Enterprise crew.

My only complaint is the ending, it's far too rushed and needed more explaining, and we are never really told what is responsible for the probes or the strange effect to the ringed planets. And the little twist with one character is quite apparent, if not a good bit of fan service.

Overall, a lot of fun to be had with this one, it feels accurate, but the rushed ending left me a bit annoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good enough read, 16 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series: The Rings of Time (Kindle Edition)
End of the day stuff, undemanding but with enough interest to see off the witching hour without waking up cold with theimprint of the keyboard on my forehead .(Kindle for PC)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews