Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No agony, just ecstasy
In an age where so much music is given away free (intentionally by the artist or not) for every one tune you find that is a keeper, you have at least ten stinkers or instantly forgettable tunes to clog up your iPod never to be heard again. This album shows in "high contrast" the difference between DnB/Dubstep wannabes and the real deal. This is top notch stuff, beautiful...
Published on 23 April 2012 by SonofSob

versus
6 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars RIP High Contrast
This is turgid, overwrought pap.

My heart sinks a little when I see "most personal album ever" in PR material, as it generally means something insipid and self-indulgent; horrifyingly true in this case. This album is stuffed with whiney, insubstantial wastes of bits. I suppose I wouldn't mind if he didn't have a track record of tight, focussed, polished liquid...
Published on 14 July 2012 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No agony, just ecstasy, 23 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Agony and The Ecstasy (Audio CD)
In an age where so much music is given away free (intentionally by the artist or not) for every one tune you find that is a keeper, you have at least ten stinkers or instantly forgettable tunes to clog up your iPod never to be heard again. This album shows in "high contrast" the difference between DnB/Dubstep wannabes and the real deal. This is top notch stuff, beautiful vocals, intricate and layered production which you can tell real time and effort has gone in to. Its worth the price for 'The Only Way There' alone - best tune of any genre that I have heard in ages. Support homegrown EDM talent and buy this album now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spine Tingling Ecstasy, 13 Jun. 2012
This review is from: The Agony and The Ecstasy (Audio CD)
Honestly i almost hated this album when i first heard it, thought someone had stolen high contrast and replaced him with a moron like david guetta. couple of months later, my opinion has done a total 180. not only is this as good as high contrasts older stuff, it is far, far superior.

The next 5 tracks are quite simply some of the best music ive ever heard anywhere, ever and this is not an overstatement by any stretch. high contrast has always had relied on a talent for knowing what 'sounds' and chords will produce incredible, emotional music. Combined with new ideas and better production this talent is now shining more than ever.

"The Road Goes On Forever" i think is one of the best synths ever produced, spine tingling.
"Wish You Were Here" vocal is also one of the most spine tingling things ive ever heard.
"The First Note Is Silent" incredible synth again, and that drop!
"All There Is" sounds like the perfect soundtrack to a parachute jump, epic.
"The Stand" and "Agony and Ecstasy" are both brilliant, very uplifting.
"The Only Way There" "Father Cant You See" & "238 Days" are hypnotic and spellbinding, and very catchy tracks

It truly is a monumental album.
Hated it after it was released, now i think its probably in the top 3 dnb albums ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have, 24 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't see how you couldn't love this album. One of my top albums of any genre, never gets old
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars High Quality, 4 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have loved High Contrast since I heard Racing Green but only recently bought this album. I never expect every song to be my cup of tea, and I'm not that keen on "The Only Way There" in this case. Every other track I absolutely love. The Road Goes on Forever and Emotional Vampire deserve extra praise. They simply transport me to another world and the synth on The Road Goes on Forever is superb. A must buy for any fan of HC, and to be honest, any fan of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars High Contrast, 19 July 2013
By 
T. Smith "telsmi53" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very pleased with this current offering from Linc.Keep up the good work! lLooking forward to the next album not had a bad one yet in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Drum n bass for the soul, 3 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Agony and The Ecstasy (Audio CD)
sadly I do not think it is as good as his previous album but it is still nice to drive to especially when you are in a hurry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a good decision!, 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I discovered this because The Road Goes On Forever is on the Hospital Records Radio station on Forza Horizon 2. I just had to get that song! So I took a punt and bought the whole album. What a good decision!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love It!, 18 Sept. 2012
By 
K. Allen (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Agony and The Ecstasy (Audio CD)
This album is brilliant!
I have listened to it repeadedly for a month or two now.
Bring on more high Contrast!
Well worth buying!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful album., 12 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Agony and The Ecstasy (Audio CD)
I'm pretty sure this album would be classed as drum and base but it's much more than that.

Brilliant music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the wait!, 7 Mar. 2012
This review is from: The Agony and The Ecstasy (Audio CD)
I will keep this short and sweet but I am never disappointed with High Contrast and this is another one to add to your collection if you are a fan. Only listened to it a few times so far but only had it a day, lovely stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Agony and The Ecstasy
The Agony and The Ecstasy by High Contrast (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews