Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks Raul, For A Brilliant "Live" Album
My Partner bought me Raul's Around The World as a Valentine's Day gift. We've been to see Raul in concert quite a few times and this album totally brings back great memories of seeing Raul sing/play live. I absolutely love the album and can't stop playing it at the moment. Anyone who is a fan would really appreciate this album, he does some great tracks, ballads and...
Published on 16 Feb 2012 by E. E. Stone

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe you Had to Be There .......
I was really looking forward to this! Raul Malo recorded live with an orchestra - what a treat! Sadly there's something lacking. Though Raul sounds as good as ever, there's an interesting mix of songs (including some great old classics), and the orchestra adds a lush background, I feel it suffers badly from being a live recording. What a shame this album wasn't...
Published on 7 Feb 2012 by Kevan James


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks Raul, For A Brilliant "Live" Album, 16 Feb 2012
By 
E. E. Stone "esgirl42" (Hornchurch, Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Around the World (Audio CD)
My Partner bought me Raul's Around The World as a Valentine's Day gift. We've been to see Raul in concert quite a few times and this album totally brings back great memories of seeing Raul sing/play live. I absolutely love the album and can't stop playing it at the moment. Anyone who is a fan would really appreciate this album, he does some great tracks, ballads and uptempo stuff and having the orchestra with him for a change is a real added bonus. Also, having the audience reaction is great because it sort of transports you there and makes you feel somehow that you are part of it, anyone who had been there was very lucky indeed because his song choices were superb for the occasion. It is really atmospheric and I have to say I don't find the audience reaction a nuisance at all, in a way it adds to what is an excellent concert, brilliantly recorded and sounds ace through my hi-fi system. Go buy it, you will not be sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful showcase for a mesmerising voice., 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around The World (MP3 Download)
I was lucky to be at the live show when this was recorded. As far as I'm concerned, he could sing the phone book and it would still be fantastic. It was a brilliant show and the recording is as close as it gets to the real thing. He has to have one of the best, if not the best, voices of any of today's singers. It's a very different mix of songs to the Maverick recordings, but no less enjoyable. Shut your eyes and play it loud!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe you Had to Be There ......., 7 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around the World (Audio CD)
I was really looking forward to this! Raul Malo recorded live with an orchestra - what a treat! Sadly there's something lacking. Though Raul sounds as good as ever, there's an interesting mix of songs (including some great old classics), and the orchestra adds a lush background, I feel it suffers badly from being a live recording. What a shame this album wasn't recorded in a studio rather than in a concert setting.

There are a number of very nice versions of classics songs which sparkle with the presence of the orchestra ("Let It Be Me", "Make the World Go Away", "A Man Without Love", and "Around The World") but the uptempo songs just don't seem to work so well. I love both "Lucky One" and "Dance the Night Away" but having to listen to them with an audience clapping and singing along does nothing for me!

So, though this albums sounds nice in places I feel on the whole it's a great missed opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Raul Malo, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around the World (Audio CD)
Not as good as most of his music ds but there are about four that I love but I will keep buying his music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Raul Malo's Voice..., 12 Mar 2013
By 
P. Witmer "eggmother" (Lancaster, PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around the World (Audio CD)
Raul Malo has the voice of an angel...but with a good bit of the devil thrown in. Wonderful to hear him sing with an orchestra. This is a beautiful album...each song a treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Singer, 30 Dec 2012
By 
Alan P. Thatcher "Alan T." (Chelmsford, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around The World (MP3 Download)
Have seen Raul Malo performing solo as well as with The Mavericks. A marvellous singer and interesting material when solo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around the World (Audio CD)
I heard one of the pieces of music on the radio and ordered it straight away. It is better than I imagined. I highly recommend it, very peaceful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Raul Malo - Around the World, 19 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around the World (Audio CD)
This is an excellant cd and it would be even better if available on DVD as it was filmed I believe at The Sage in Gateshead.

Great selection of songs and lovely to hear the orchestra.

This cd is certainly recommended and finds Raul's voice in fine form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Different Style, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Around the World (Audio CD)
Slightly different with an orchestral backing, but however it's backed, you've still got that wonderful voice. Looking forward to hearing the new songs from The Mavericks next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars raul malo- around the world cd, 18 Mar 2012
This review is from: Around the World (Audio CD)
the recording is live and the quality excellant. songs vary in style and raul's voice is a joy to the ear from low notes to high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Around the World
Around the World by Raul Malo (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews