Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 January 2012
I'm not too often concerned by tales of a convicted criminal, white-collar fraudester or not. Yet this book makes for extremely compelling (and worrying) reading. Mulgrew is disarmingly self-aware and gives real insight into the fears and heart-wrenching trauma of the consequences of being caught up in a prosecution that doesn't seem to match his conduct. I dread to think how many similar tales exist but remain untold. The book's funny and a tear jerker - sometimes at the same time. If you read it, bet you can't put it down (mine was stolen mid-read from me by family desperate to see for themselves what is gripping me so). I only hope we don't have to wait long for the sequel - with the happiest of endings in his finding his precious daughter. I wish him the greatest of luck in that search.
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2012
an unputdownable page turner from start to finish which is a must read for MPs considering whether to amend our extradition laws to the US. as a father of young children this heartbreaking story had me in bits from start to finish. far to close to the bone and makes you think twice about doing business in the US
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2012
I couldn't put Gang of One book down, it was utterley gripping. As the story unfolded and the tension and dread of what was ahead began to mount, I really felt like I was going through those emotions too, walking into Big Spring was terrifying. Gary writes openly about his experiences exposing his own thoughts and emotions throughout his extradition and imprisonment and gives a fascinating insight into this world. He brings to life the characters he meets along the way and manages to find humour in the most despairing of situations.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2012
I read this very quickly because it held my attention from the very beginning. A good page turner. It is quite incredible that not much has changed since the Shawshank Redemption days. That was fiction but Gary`s story is all the more incredible because it is true. A very good read.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2012
It says it in the title.

This book is not about the Natwest Three as such. It's the story of a Scottish ex-bannker who is chucked into a notorious US 'low security' prison. By 'low security' read 'highly dangerous'. Low level policing allows the gang culture of America's cities to rule. If an inmate doesn't belong to a gang, he is a nobody. A nobody has no protection and no respect - two vital ingredients for basic survival in this environment.

This man believes deeply in his own innocence, and is psychologically in pieces due to his enforced separation from his kids, whilst having to endure the terrifying experience of a US prison.

This book is a window onto the US legal and penal system. Whatever you do in your life, if you can possibly help it, don't get involved with either of them.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2012
The book is is excellent and is not meant to be about the crime he commited, rather it is about being a one man gang and surviving a harsh prison environment. This is clear by the title which the other reviewer seems to have missed. Im sure most people will gather that.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2015
I love this book and have read it three times now. It really is well written and I could not put it down. The incident where Gary gives the stamps to another prisoner left me in tears and the character sketches of his fellow inmates are well done. It's sad to think that guys like 'The Chief' are still wasting away inside the prison. If you are have a thing about 'prison books' this a must read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2012
Having spent 30 years in the prison service I was very keen on reading this book. It is a real heart wrending story of someone who was let badly down by the British Government. I enjoyed every page and just hope that Gary writes a sequel telling of his experiences prior to leaving America and on returning to Britain. It would be good to learn how his family had dealt with his absence and if (hopefully) he has been re-united with his daughter. I admire him for the stance he adopted during his sentence and of the fact that despite all he had gone through he still had feelings for others serving time. A real story of grit and determination and good old Glasgow "bottle".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2012
As a parent of two young children I found this book a particularly compelling and emotional read - extremely well written and a real page turner. I hope for his daughter's sake he finds her soon. I strongly recommend it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2012
Why did our British Government sign an extradition treaty with the US, when the US refused to sign their part?
How can we allow the US to extradite a British subject when the British legal system, the Serious Fraud Office, the Financial Services Authority and the supposed 'victim' (a British company) couldn't find any charges to press?

Whatever your thoughts regarding bankers, these are the facts that every British subject should still concern themselves with even to this day.

How would you deal with being extradited to the US under such circumstances? Not only removed from the protection of your country but also taken thousands of miles from your loved ones, to potentially serve time in one of America's reknowned prisons. And who knows how long for? If the US managed to take you from your country when your country says you did nothing wrong, how do you attempt to face their system with any confidence?

I met Gary in 2004 just after the US began their proceedings and have ensured I've had a full appreciation of all the facts ever since. Just as the US prosecutors did in their case against the NatWest Three then, many people have since sought to use aspects of the case, taken out of context, for use with their own agendas. This is still as evident today as it was then. All the facts are out there. If your are rational, open minded and have any concern for your own liberty, then I urge you to do your own, thorough research.

This book should only be part of that research, but it's a part that will fascinate you and move you to tears and laughter in equal measure. How did a boy born into the poorest part of 1960's Glasgow, who ended up in an orphanage with his two brothers, eventually push himself to the top of corporate NatWest? What exactly was the deal that began the catastrophic reversal of good fortune? How do you cope with the process of extradition, the loss of contact with your loved ones (and complete loss of your young daugher?)

What makes you accept a deal with the US legal system which requires you to admit guilt for a charge you weren't extradited for, and isn't a criminal offence in the UK anyway? And how do you prepare yourself for the US prison system when, as a hangover from the years spent in the orphanage, you still can't even deal with the dark? How do you refuse the 'protection' of the notorious prison gangs by refusing to become a member?

What can you do to try and find your missing daughter?

This is a fascinating book.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)