Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So many episodes! Beautiful box too
This comes in a beautiful box with what looks like original artwork thats just stunning.

Inside there are four boxes of varying size that store all four series.

Now a series back then could easily be 26 episodes so you have around 100ish episodes to watch, each about an hour in length, a crazy amount!!!

The first series in in Black and...
Published 24 months ago by SteveINtheUKok

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tedious
As a child I found this series to be exciting and must watch, but now, I start realising that with minor variations almost every episode is the same as the last. All that's changed is the highly colourful suit the alien wears.

I have watched all episodes except for the last series. I can't be bothered.
Published 15 months ago by JMK


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So many episodes! Beautiful box too, 4 July 2013
By 
SteveINtheUKok "SteveINtheUKok" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voyage To The Bottom Of The Sea The Complete Collection [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
This comes in a beautiful box with what looks like original artwork thats just stunning.

Inside there are four boxes of varying size that store all four series.

Now a series back then could easily be 26 episodes so you have around 100ish episodes to watch, each about an hour in length, a crazy amount!!!

The first series in in Black and White but then changes to Colour for the remaining three series, they also introduce one of my favourite craft, the flying sub in the Second series.

Inside there is also a small booklet 6-8 pages in full colour.

There are lots of extras too even an unaired pilot episode you won't likely have seen anywhere else.

I'm loving this, one of the best boxed sets I have bought in a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Voyage to the bottom of the sea complete box set, 2 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voyage To The Bottom Of The Sea The Complete Collection [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
I was a young boy during the 1960's, and when shows such as Voyage to the Bottom of the Sea, Lost in Space and Land of the Giants were the big thing on TV from American Studios.

At school we would recap the latest episodes in the playground.

When I saw this box set for a very reasonable price of £53.99, I just had to buy it......and I can tell you I have not been disappointed. So what that the special effects don't come upto the high demands that this generation of youngsters expect. The storylines can be humerous and inventive, but as with a lot of shows, reflected the political situation and views of the time.

Most importantly this box set is thoroughly enjoyable and nostalgic entertainment for that little boy who never quite grew up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Irwin Allen's best, 5 July 2012
By 
Colin Smith (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voyage To The Bottom Of The Sea The Complete Collection [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
This is a great release from Revelation!... Well-packaged, It's simply a case of the company taking the four individual season releases and placing them inside two halves of a strong cardboard outer case, which provides good protection from dust & looks very impressive (while under 5 inches deep). As well as including a 10-page leaflet featuring production notes, each individual series includes a number of special features (see below). The first 32 episodes are in black & white, with the final three seasons switching to colour (78 episodes). The disc menu's feature an episode synopsis. The prints used for this collection are very good, with English subtitles.

This show holds many great childhood memories for me. Originally broadcast from 1964/68, this US sci-fi/adventure/fantasy series follows the exploits of the crew aboard the "Seaview"....a hi-tech, state-of-the-art atomic submarine. Officially titled a research vessel, the sub is in fact a sophisticated weapon against threats of espionage and war. The first season is primarily concerned with the aforementioned threats to national and world security, with further episodes veering increasingly towards more fantasy themed stories, involving the likes of aliens, sea monsters, and even a rampaging gorilla!

The impressive cast put in good performances, the lead characters include Admiral Harriman Nelson (Richard Basehart) and Captain Lee Crane (David Hedison). Series creator and producer, Irwin Allen employed the sets and miniatures from his 1961 movie of the same title, and the special effects are fine (for the time), along with good production values. From the master of 60's family entertainment, the show displays many familiar Irwin Allen ingredients: action, adventure, fantasy & peril. For me, a series that still holds up very well to this day.

***SPECIAL FEATURES***
*Never Seen Before Pilot Episode - Eleven Days To Zero (Unaired Pilot).
*Home Movie Footage From Irwin Allen (No Audio).
*Promotional Reel.
*David Hedison Interview.
*Blooper Reel.
*Presentation Book.
*Original US Broadcast information.
*Stills Galleries.
*1966 Audio Interviews (Richard Basehart & David Hedison).
*Original Unaired Pilot.
*Eleven Days To Zero (Re-Cut Unaired Pilot).
*Broadcast Pilot With Original TV Commercials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star series, 5 star DVD set, 4 Jun. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voyage To The Bottom Of The Sea The Complete Collection [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
An absolutely wonderful series despite the monster-of-the-week 3rd and 4th seasons. And a beautiful set with incredible paintings on the box, a full-color booklet, all 110 episodes + 3 unaired pilots, a long David Hedison interview, and a whole slew of extras. This set is light-years ahead of the U.S. editions that come on funky accident-prone two sided discs and do not have "play-all". This U.K. edition has only one flaw: the episodes are displayed in production rather than airdate order, making the "play-all" feature about useless. I loved this set so much I bought an extra one for a Canadian friend! And it is available at a great price!

Be sure to check out the superb "SEAVIEW: A 50TH ANNIVERSARY TRIBUTE TO VOYAGE TO THE BOTTOM OF THE SEA 504 page book available from Amazon in July. It has full participation of the surviving VOYAGE cast and is partly written by David Hedison!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All four series collected together, 20 Nov. 2014
By 
Marcia "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Voyage To The Bottom Of The Sea The Complete Collection [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
At last we finally get the DVD release in the UK of this iconic series created and produced by Irwin Allen. This was the first of the Irwin Allen produced science fiction action series and it dates from 1964. After the success of the 1961 film of the same name, (also created and produced by Irwin Allen) this series made in black and white, brought a big budget film feel to a TV series.
This series is great fun. It`s full of escapist novelty. You cannot take it too seriously, its just meant to be fun.
Some film footage from the movie and even the model of the submarine were used in this TV version that had a slightly different cast. This first series gets off to a good start with some interesting plots, good scripts and good acting.
The production style gave an originality to the small screen and it was well received both in America and the UK. Here in the UK the first series was screened in its original year of release on TV unlike later series.
However every episode from the first series to the last series of Voyage to the bottom of the sea was screened on ITV during a slot around 4.40pm on Thursday afternoons during the early 1970s. Voyage to the bottom of the sea was later repeated on channel four on Sunday mornings during the 1990s.

The seaview is the worlds most advanced nuclear submarine, created by its commander, retired Admiral Haarriman Nelson, and housed in a pen at his Nelson Institute of Marine Research, Santa Barbara, California. It is six hundred feet long. It can dive to and travel faster than any of its rivals and is equipped with all the latest devices including atomic torpedoes. It carries a separate mini sub, a diving bell, a snowcat, and an innovative flying fish, a vessel capable of water and air travel.
The series is set 13 years into the future. Nelson and his crew are meant to be doing research but usually end up maintaining peace below the waves by fighting fiendish humans, fish and aliens. This first series tends to be more serious and generally more sensible. Later series see the story lines becoming more far fetched.
Assisting Nelson is Captain Crane, Chip Morton, Francis Sharkey and Curley Jones.

Irwin Allen went on to produce other great shows, Lost in Space, Time Tunnel and Land of the Giants. All were produced in the 1960s before he went onto produce many feature films such as Towering Inferno.

Series one is in black and white but series two, three and four are all in colour.
The star power of Richard Basehart and David Hedison, backed by an able supporting cast that are very experienced after three series do a great job in giving the final series a strong edge. Also there is the miniature sets and special effects that although not as impressive as modern CGI, are in fact very good even today.
To be honest there are also signs that the series four really should be the final season because the episodes re visit themes from previous series thus showing it was getting harder to be original in plot line.
On the flip side of that, it also means that the series has familiarity and it is good to re visit some characters again.

For example there is the episode Man Beast, where captain crane transforms into a beast man after an accident with an experiment in diving equipment.. This idea was the third time it had been used. Completely wacky stories but this one is actually the best of the beast man episodes and the acting and effects are very good.
Another episode called "Nightmare" features captain crane again who encounters aliens. And aliens appear again in "Attack".
A stand out episode has to be "The edge of doom" which explores deep emotions within the crew as their friendship is put to the test as they search for an enemy impersonator within Seaview's crew
.
Each series had been long at twenty six episodes each, so to get to the end of season four there had been a lot of stories and the whole thing comes to an end with two great episodes twenty five and twenty six.
These are also stand out episodes and they make a great final stab at telling the stories of Seaview and its many voyages to the bottom of the sea.

The final disc of the DVD set contains special features. There is an unaired pilot episode, and a re cut version of the unaired pilot episode. Then there is the actual broadcast version of the pilot episode with original commercials. Finally there is an interview with David Hedison, stills gallery and American broadcast information.
This series has some great music,. There are great contributions from the likes of Alexander Courage who wrote music for many TV shows from America and Nelson Riddle who was a successful composer of light music

All four series are collected here in this card box and the whole classic experience of Voyage to the bottom of the sea is great and original science fiction.
This is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 21 May 2012
By 
Mark Feuer (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voyage To The Bottom Of The Sea The Complete Collection [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
I really like this series a lot (all seasons). I had to order it from the UK because in North America presently they only sell each season individually and it would have cost a lot more. In the complete set that I got from Amazon.uk you get EVERYTHING and price wise it was not too bad either. Since they are in PAL format, I find they work best on my computer's DVD player. I am still getting through all the episodes and I have been throughly enjoying it. Back in the 60s special effects were not the biggie that they are in today's sci-fi and tended to rely more on the story to keep the viewer captivated. All in all I am quite pleased that I bought this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Takes me back to my childhood, 15 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voyage To The Bottom Of The Sea The Complete Collection [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Along with The Time Tunnel & Land Of The Giants this is the programme I grew up with.Ok so the special effects aren't up to much what do you expect for the sixties ?
It was great to see Admiral Nelson & Captain Crane after all these years a thouroughly enjoyable piece of nostalgia
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good old cold war scare mongering, 3 July 2013
By 
M. Brasse (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voyage To The Bottom Of The Sea The Complete Collection [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Being a total SCI-FI hardware fan I loved this series to death as a young boy. Just as with Jerry Andersons Thunderbirds crafts I kept drawing my own versions for years. But I do remember that even then I already found the series to be rather repetitive.
Buying the whole set after all these years bears that out. Season 1 and 2 are decent enough, Season 1 seems to be the best written, in spite of some major dated TV clichés. Seasosn 2 adds colour and the wonderful, though aerodinamicaly totally bonkers, flying sub.
Besides some very dodgy effects shots that contrast extremely to the best ones the production values are quite high. The only real letdown is the aforementioned repetitiveness that seems to slump into ever vaguer concepts towards the end (We dunno what is going on but since it threatens our free western way of living we will not take this mysterious shit anyway!”). It seems that all good writers where working on new Irwin Allen projects by that then.

Marc Brassé
As a far as the reissue itself goes there is little do complain about. Very good picture quality (somebody appearnetly stored that stuff well enough) and actually quite a few extra's for a series that is so old (which adds to the proffessional archiving theory). I know, I know, of course it is not an epifamy to see a bunch of effects shots in worse picture quality for 10 times in a row. For real buffs it is however great that the stuff still exists at all and the repetitions somehow fit into the whole picture anyway.
This complete set is recommended, especially when buying series 1 and 2 only is almost as expensive as buying the whole lot at once. Furthermore getting bored by the repetitions can be avoided by taking controlled doses. Why be hasty if you own it in such a durable format anyway?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do NOT order this from Amazon. UK, ESPECIALLY if you live in the USA, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voyage To The Bottom Of The Sea The Complete Collection [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
Don't get me wrong here. I am NOT slamming Amazon.UK, or this wonderful, wonderful DVD set. More on that later. My complaint is with Amazon.UK's Shipper. I ordered this boxed set TWICE from Amazon. UK in the past 2 months, and neither order was delivered. Of course, Amazon. UK issued me a refund, and I am happy with their service. However, I do have severe issues with one of their shippers. Seems like they tend to lose packages. A LOT. However, this only seems to happen with LARGE items such as this. Every small order ( one or 2 discs at a time) I have ever made with them has always arrived very quickly, and trouble free. You can draw your own conclusions from that.

I was finally able to get a hold of this Boxed Set Via EBAY, and it is nothing short of fantastic. Beautiful packaging, pristine prints, except for some of the special features, which are still very interesting from a historical point of view. However, one of the Special features is unnessicary and repetitive. I refer to the colour version of the pilot film, Eleven Days To Zero. This is repeated exactly in the Series 1 and Series 4 "Special Features" disc, and is a totally unnessicary waste of space. Other than that, I highly recommend this Boxed Set for any VTTBOTS fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning complete box set!, 9 Mar. 2012
By 
This review is from: Voyage To The Bottom Of The Sea The Complete Collection [DVD] [1964] (DVD)
The one star rating because the individual seasons are available is ridiculous. Ignoring that, this looks to be a magnificent complete collection, with all four seasons together for the first time. Beautifully remastered picture from original 35mm film, and if the packaging is to the same standards as Revelation's previous Irwin Allen complete collections (Time Tunnel and Land of the Giants) then this is an essential purchase for fans of the master of disaster. Fingers crossed for a blu-ray release soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Voyage To The Bottom Of The Sea The Complete Collection [DVD] [1964]
£44.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews