Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Portable genius. A must-have.
The first Rayman, on the PSone, charmed gamers with its delicious visuals, addictive side-scrolling gameplay and its innocent, smile-inducing humour. Rayman Origins, the franchise's latest outing, can be described in exactly the same-way but with one additional trait: its fascinating ability to continuously encapsulate your interest until you're hour-or-so, one-or-two...
Published on 6 Mar 2012 by Chris Richardson

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good game
Arrived quickly. I bought this for my husband and he says it is a good quality game with good bright graphics.
Published 15 months ago by yvonne smith


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Portable genius. A must-have., 6 Mar 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rayman Origins (PS Vita) (Video Game)
The first Rayman, on the PSone, charmed gamers with its delicious visuals, addictive side-scrolling gameplay and its innocent, smile-inducing humour. Rayman Origins, the franchise's latest outing, can be described in exactly the same-way but with one additional trait: its fascinating ability to continuously encapsulate your interest until you're hour-or-so, one-or-two level intended play session has turned into a multi-hour sitting of pure, side-scrolling brilliance. To be so well-immersed in a modern game of this genre is truly an amazing thing.

The game's transition from console to Vita is also a completely imperceptible one. The graphics look, without exaggeration, no different from the gorgeous HD visuals your Xboxes and PS3s presented you with. If anything, the visuals look even better on the handheld because the screen is closer. Granted, the Vita's OLED display is also slightly smaller than your HDTVs (hopefully) and so sometimes the wider landscape shots can induce a very slight squint now and then. But the simple, touchscreen-based zoom-in/zoom-out controls will doubtlessly fix any complications you may have in this area. There are even a couple of extra elements for the Vita-version; such as the ability to pop bubbles containing Lums and Hearts or inflated enemies with a simple tap, which avoids the frustrations of the console-versions, where you couldn't get that last Lum just because you couldn't reach it before it was out of range of your fist. There's also Ghost mode which pitches your level-speedrun times against other Vita-players. I suppose this is a welcome feature but probably not one you'll invest much time in.

Gameplay, as stated, is loyal to the classic side-scrolling, jump, swing, avoid spiked plant and skinny green guy wearing safari-outfit play-style, which is simple but definitely not repetitive or boring. The variety in the environments and level-structures as well as the pacing in unlocking abilities and characters, and even the progression in enemy-types is as impressive as that of any other game of any other genre. Additionally, I'm not even a fan of arcade-style side-scrolling games. I enjoyed LIMBO but found it a rather forgettable production and I've only ever played the first Rayman, and even in that I hardly got anywhere as I just found the game frustratingly difficult most of the time. But Rayman Origins is consitently fun and has a great difficulty progression which doesn't present you with seemingly impossible level-structures where you had to avoid three different kinds of attack simultaneously while trying to time your jumps to land on platforms before they disappear again, and then making you start all over again if you fail (Rayman 1). Origins has similar scenarios but seems to give you more time to plan your moves so its more a case of your skill with the timing rather than being a master of reflexes and button-control. The faster, more intense scenes are actually made more accessible as well as you seem to be able to plot your route through the level much easier and so you can be jumping, swinging and avoiding obstacles at fast pace, on your first playthrough while still feeling extremely cool, especially in the more epic, almost set-piece-like levels where debris is falling down on you or parts of the level are collapsing while you chase after a captured fairy.

I hope I'm not upsetting anyone when I say Rayman Origins is actually my favourite Vita game so far. Yes, Fifa, Everybody's Golf and Virtua Tennis will more than satisfy your sporting fancies. Yes, Uncharted will once again draw you into another great story-driven, intense platforming shooter. Marvel vs Capcom and Wipeout might even eat up a few dozen of those empty hours in your lives. But, in my opinion, Rayman is the only game which provides the illusion that you're holding your very own portable next-gen console in your hands. Yes, that is because the game is a port but look at the rest, every release can be described as a port in their own way. Origins supports the greatest visuals on the console, and offers simple gameplay that may not equal Dynasty Warriors' stratagem or Uncharted's set-piece driven intensity, but is perhaps still the more reliable of games to deliver exactly what gamers want from the Vita: accessible, engaging and immersive next-gen fun, on-the-go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rayman is back., 22 Feb 2012
By 
Colin House "October Kindler" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rayman Origins (PS Vita) (Video Game)
Since the Playstation Vita was announced as the Next Generation Portable in January of 2011, I had been clamoring to get one. I am a huge Uncharted fan and seeing videos of it being played on the system sold me on it. Fast forward to February of 2012 and I haven't bought Uncharted: Golden Abyss for the Playstation Vita because I'm having too much fun with Rayman Origins.

I haven't touched the Rayman series since the original for the Playstation. I remember enjoying the game, but I just lost touch with it. I was worried going into this that I had made a mistake, but my worries were quickly put to rest after the first half an hour or so. I haven't played the console version, so I can't compare it to those. However, Rayman Origins made my jaw drop. It's gorgeous. Vibrant and colourful, the colours pop off the OLED Vita screen. Luckily, the gameplay is just as immersive as the aesthetics. A throwback to old school platforming games, that offers enough fun and challenges to keep anyone occupied. The touch screen is implemented nicely, but it never feels like a gimmick.

I've been playing the game since 11am this morning (It's now coming up on 5pm) and seem to have barely made a dent in it. If you're looking for a game to show you what your shiny new system can do. This is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 11 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rayman Origins (PS Vita) (Video Game)
Fun game, gives you some nostalgia and very well done graphics i would definatley reccomend getting this game and the vita is the perfect platform for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful game., 5 July 2012
By 
Tom Robinson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rayman Origins (PS Vita) (Video Game)
This was the first game I bought for the PS Vita and it was a toss up as to whether I bought this or Virtua Tennis 4 (PS Vita). I am so glad that I chose this! After initially finding my way around the console, I booted up the game and was greeted by a crisp Ubisoft title that really shows that the PS Vita is a step up from any other mobile gaming platform in terms of graphical sophistication.

The game itself combines humour, fast-paced side scrolling and a lot of replay potential. The levels are long enough that they feel substantial without being too long and the varying demands of the game maintain your interest. The different ways that the game asks you to play the same levels adds another dimension to the game which I think makes it all the better. One time through you may want to collect as many points as possible and then the next day you might go back to complete the time trial or find those hidden areas! Rayman Origins really is a masterclass in how this sort of game should be.

The most striking aspect of the game however is its sheer beauty. Don't be misled by the video trailer and online gameplay reviews - you cannot appreciate the depth of detail in the landscape until you play it for yourself on the Vita. The cartoon drawing style is combined with stunning back drops and perfect amounts of relief to certain features of the level and landscape. Not many games will take your breathe away because of the graphics but this game will. It is bespoke, incredibly detailed and just downright beautiful.

Perhaps its only problem is that the controls are not that refined. I've found on a few occasions that I've struggled to get over a certain ledge or perform a quick combination of moves to speed through a certain area because there is a lack of diversity to the buttons that means you feel there should be one extra button to do a more specific job. Sometimes I've managed to go through a certain area rapidly without doing much at all - though it looks impressive it can feel a bit like all you did was 'button-bash' instead of pull of a refined set of key strokes. Nevertheless, there is a nice learning curve to the game (perhaps a little too gentle) and the control issues are more a matter of getting used to the way Rayman is controlled than anything else.

All in all this is a must-buy for the Vita. It accommodates for those who want fast-paced action, those who want to take their time and explore the levels, and those who just want a short sharp burst of gaming too. The slight ambiguity of the controls is rectified by just playing the game more and it is an absolute pleasure to do just that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant game, 17 Mar 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rayman Origins (PS Vita) (Video Game)
This is one of the bet games for Vita, looks stunning and plays the same as the PS3 version. Its great for both young and old as well. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cute, charming fun!, 10 Mar 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rayman Origins (PS Vita) (Video Game)
For many "Rayman Origins" was perceived as an overpriced game that should have been downloadable only. Initially you can see why this common thought existed. It's a 2D side scroller after all, a genre which hasn't been seen much (if at all) this generation at retail. They're very common on the psn (shank for example) and Rayman would be right at home here. However there is no doubt in my mind that Rayman Origins for VITA is worth its 35 price tag regardless of what form you buy it in.

The first thing you will notice about this game is how beautiful it is. The cartoony/hand drawn art style is incredible, colourful and charming. The number of times I died because I was too busy having a look at the environment is a credit to the games beauty.

"....Origins" is a pretty standard sidescroller in terms of how it plays, though if your like me and haven't played a game of this genre in a while then you wont find this game to feel outdated at all. There are plenty of levels contained within six different worlds, all of which have a particular theme. The levels within these worlds are split into quick fire sections meaning dying does not require replaying huge chunks of the game.

That's not to say this game is easy. By old school standards it certainly is but the game still provides a great deal of challenge especially towards the end when a number of cheap, unavoidable deaths will come your way. Players are required not just to beat every level but find hidden cages and collect enough lums (the games version of coins/rings) to progress to the final stages. Throw in so interesting chase levels and boss fights and you have a lot to deal with here!

The only real difference between this and the console counterpart is the lack of multiplayer, something which has plagued too many of VITAs launch games. It's by no means a deal breaker.

Final comments

There really isn't anything bad I can say about Rayman Origins. It's a bold move releasing a game like this in our Call of Duty and Gears of War world but a move that has paid off nonetheless. Rayman is addicting, immersive and simply the best platformer of the generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome games 5 stars, 9 Mar 2012
By 
Christopher J. Davis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rayman Origins (PS Vita) (Video Game)
This game is by far the best game I've played in years.

It progressively gives new abilities as you work through the game which makes them natural and intuitive.

Patience is needed though, some of the adventures take dozens of attempts and some start at the beginning each time, like the treasure chest chases. The upside to this is the feeling of achievement when you finally crack the level with zero mistakes.

This game is fun and can be played by anyone at any age.

I completed the game and thoroughly enjoyed every moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 5 Mar 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rayman Origins (PS Vita) (Video Game)
absolutely amazing. Best game on ps vita. This is a must buy. The best 2D game on a portable device. Plus the graphics are amazing specially with the OLED really makes the colours stand out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rayman Origins Vita., 4 Mar 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rayman Origins (PS Vita) (Video Game)
The most fun ive had on a 2D platform adventure for far too long.
Excellent visuals and controls coupled with brilliant gameplay.

Lots of replay value with hidden items in each level, time trials and a ghost mode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ace game, 22 Feb 2012
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rayman Origins (PS Vita) (Video Game)
Its rare that you come across a game that is just fun to play, and this is 1 of them. Gorgeous stylish graphics and great music. The game is essentially a platformer that doesn't take itself seriously, and the worlds you explore are all unique and highly inventive. Well worth playing if you want a game that will mak you smile :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb42314a4)

This product

Rayman Origins (PS Vita)
Rayman Origins (PS Vita) by Ubisoft (PlayStation Vita)
14.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews