Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good camera , but need to know a bit about computers
The camera I got was branded EasyN, but the box art shown on the product info page matches the box I got. Some people claim they have Foscam, Apexis, Hootoo, etc. brand, but I think it's the same camera branded in different brands to accommodate different markets. I admit, it would HELP if you are tech savvy or at least have some knowledge in network configuration to...
Published 4 months ago by sie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good budget camera
This is a good camera with a reasonably simple setup, although I haven't been able to get the "alerts" working to send you an email for motion or upload to an ftp site. The picture quality is medicore. For my purposes, simply to check in every now and again, it's absolutely fine. Good for the price.
Published 6 months ago by Dom


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good camera , but need to know a bit about computers, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genuine Wansview wireless IP camera network with Pan & Tilt,Night Vision,2 Way Audio,Black, Built-in Microphone With Phone remote monitoring (Wireless Phone Accessory)
The camera I got was branded EasyN, but the box art shown on the product info page matches the box I got. Some people claim they have Foscam, Apexis, Hootoo, etc. brand, but I think it's the same camera branded in different brands to accommodate different markets. I admit, it would HELP if you are tech savvy or at least have some knowledge in network configuration to expedite the set up and get the camera running, but that's not required. This camera isn't exactly the most fool-proof camera in the market, but its feature make up for it.

The instructions are readable, albeit choppy due to the poor Chinese-to-English translation. OK here's the deal. I'm going to write a lengthy semi-review, semi-how-to for this awesome IP camera seeing the need for an instruction for Mac users. First of all, I am a Mac user running on OS X 10.7.2 Lion and I got this bad boy up and running within an hour. For all you Mac users out there, you'll need to have temporary access to a Windows machine.

If you don't have a Windows machine, see UPDATE 4 at the end of this review - then follow steps 3 and forward. I'm writing this review under the presumption that the typical user has no knowledge of MAC access control list or WiFi DHCP client table from your router to set-up the camera it via WiFi. You need it to run the application that allows you to detect and configure the camera's IP. Unfortunately, this application is written for Windows only. But that's all you need a Windows machine for. Once you configure the camera's IP address to work with your LAN, then you can use the web interface and configure a whole sleuth of other options, including the alarm feature, FTP, Mail and other. So without adieu, let's do this!

I've taken screenshots to help accommodate the mini guide below. So check out the user-submitted images for 7+ images I've added for directions on how to proceed. The instruction is for connecting the camera to a LAN - I chose this route because my WiFi network is secured over several layers of security (Sonic Wall fire wall, MAC control, etc.) and it's just easier to get the cam up and running through the LAN.

0.) Connect your IP camera to your LAN via ethernet and plug in the power supply.

1.) Get access to a Windows machine. I dual-booted to Windows Vista via Boot Camp. Make sure this Windows machine has access to your LAN.

2.) Run the application with the file name, DevFind.exe - you can find it in the directory, /EasyN F2 series IP camera installation CD/software. My included install disc was a blank CD-R disc!!! so I had to download the CD content ZIP from the manufacturer's web site: "easyntech . com / ShowDownload . asp ? id = 34" you can download the manuals in PDF format from the site too).

3.) Run the DevFind.exe to locate your camera, then modify the camera's IP address so that it matches your LAN's IP range structure, subnet mask and gateway. The default IP address assigned to the camera should be indicated in a silver sticker located underneath the camera. The same sticker can also be found on the exterior of the box. Basically, the default IP should be something along the line of 192 . 168 . 1 . 126 and access port 81 (it could be different). Since my LAN's IP range structure is 192.168.0.x, I have assigned the camera an IP address of 192 . 168 . 0 . 155. I changed out the default port of 81 to 310. Understand me so far? Once you got that down, click on the "APPLY" button to make the changes.

4.) Click on the "OTHERS" tab under the Equipment Information field. Take note of the information located in the "MAC" field, it should be a 12 letter/number string of characters.

5.) If you have access controlled enabled in your router, then follow this step. If not, you can skip. What access control means is you only allow certain network devices permission to connect to your LAN. Even if the connecting client knows your WEP/WPA/WPA2 password, they still will not be able to connect to your Wi-Fi unless their device is registered to the access control list. The unique identifier of the network device is its MAC address. If you have this enabled, then add the camera's MAC address you've just jotted down in the previous step to your router's access control list. The convention should be XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX where X is a number or a character from the alphabet. So if your camera's MAC address is 00A8F700F341, enter it as 00:A8:F7:00:F3:41 Update and restart your router after entering. If you have the means to reserve IP address designation on your router, I would do so. Since I assigned the camera an IP address of 192 . 168 . 0 . 155, I would reserve this address on the router to the camera's MAC address so that this IP doesn't get reassigned by the DHCP to another network device by accident.

6.) You'll definitely need to port-forward your camera if you plan to remote view from outside. In your router setup, go to the "Port Forwarding" page - it's usually under "Advanced setup" or something similar. Since I assigned the camera a custom port of 310, I would enter the port range starting and ending at 310 to be forwarded to the camera's IP address of 192 . 168 . 0 . 155 .

7.) Next, you should be able to punch in the IP address and port number you've assigned to the camera as noted on step #3 onto your web browser and launch the web-based utility app e.g. 192 . 168 . 0 . 155 : 310. When you first try to access the camera through a web browser, it will ask you for a username and a password. This information is located underneath the camera and also on the box. It's usually "admin" for the username and a blank password, but double check your equipment.

8.) Select the viewing method; if you are using IE select the first link, if you're using Firefox, select the second link, etc.

9.) View your camera, control it, etc

10.) Click on the OPTIONS icon to access the web-based configuration app, or punch in 192 . 168 . 0 . 155 : 310 /admin2.htm to access it directly

11.) Configure all sorts of other goodies, such as FTP access, Email, alarm, DDNS, Alias, etc.

12.) If you want to view your camera from remote (i.e. outside of your home network), assuming you have a static IP, then you need to punch in your ISP assigned IP address, followed by your port. You can find out your ISP assigned address by going into your router and looking at the information located in the "basic setting" area. Thanks to daniel for pointing this out. If you have a dynamic IP address, then I recommend signing up for a dynamic DNS server, such as dyndns.org. Be sure to update the DDNS area of the web utility with the appropriate login credential to your dynamic DNS provider.

I'm working on the wireless LAN setup, so I'll edit this review once I have a sure fire way to set it up so I can append a simple how-to to help folks get started. Any question, just comment. Again, this is from a Mac OS X Lion 10.7.2 user (at the time of this writing). *** Wireless instruction added, see Update 5 below ***

Since I am a Mac user, the IP Camera utility is USELESS (unless you're using Parallel or Fusion to run Windows). I rely solely on the web-based interface to view the camera. It works like a charm so far. The camera's pan and tilt feature is SUPER fast. Of course, that's because I set it at the fastest level; you can set it according to your taste. You can set up the Alarm feature so that its motion detector can pick up motion contingent on how sensitive you set the camera to behave. Once the alarm mode is triggered, you can further instruct the camera to upload screenshots at set intervals to an FTP server and/or email you the screenshots to an email address (see pictures). You certainly don't need to be Cisco or A+ certified to get this camera to work.

EDIT: As for scheduling the motion-detector, it works if you set it correctly. From the web-configuration utility, click on "Alarm Service Setting." Set the sensitivity level, etc., then check if you want to have the camera email you and/or take screenshots of events triggering the alarm and upload to a designated FTP server. I checked both. For the scheduler, check "Scheduler" to bring up a week calendar with hour. Click on the hours you'd like the camera to trigger its motion-detector, then press "Set". Note that the alarm mode won't go into affect after about 30 seconds after rebooting. I didn't know this at first and thought this feature was defunct from factory. I'm guessing the camera is giving you time to evacuate the premise before arming itself. The scheduling calendar is very cumbersome, so it's probably easier to just turn on or turn off the motion detector.

Also since you need Internet Explorer to use the ActiveX enabled web interface, Mac users will luck out. The IE version of the web interface allows you to record video (AVI format), take a snapshot, listen and talk through your camera, along with the ability to command multiple cameras. It also appears that the remote on/off switch works with the ActiveX IE control interface, but doens't for the other interfaces. I haven't had time to fully test them.

UPDATE 2: I live in an apartment complex where I gave permission to the leasing staff to deliver packages into my apartment when I am not home to sign for it. I set up the camera for motion detection and it picked up the delivery, snap a few shots and emailed to me in addition to continuously snapping shots in 5 seconds interval and uploading it to the FTP server. Simply awesome for $5x.00.

I'm so impressed with this camera I'll be purchasing two more units, possibly in white so they can blend with the white walls.

UPDATE 3: For WiFi, make sure your router is 802.11 a/b/g compatible and set at 2.4ghz frequency. The IP camera will not pick up your router if it's set at 5 ghz at N-mode only.

UPDATE 4: Thanks to Jean-Pierre Ciudad, you can download a program called "IP Scanner for Mac" from cnet.com. It will detect the IP address of the IP camera seamlessly. Once the IP address is noted, simply punch it in your web browser to make the subsequent changes. First thing first is to change the IP address for the camera to match your network. You can find this under "Basic Network Setting" of the web interface - no need for a Windows machine.

UPDATE 5 - How to configure your camera for wireless access: After playing around with the wireless set up, I think I've found a sure-fire way to set up your IP Cam for wireless connection. The first thing you need to do is connect it to the LAN via Ethernet and configure your camera for LAN access, basically if you've got your IP Cam up and running by following my instructions above or through your own mean, you're ready to go wireless. Now the trick here is to keep in mind that when you go wireless, your wireless router will assign the IP Cam a new IP address via DHCP, meaning most likely you will not be able to access the camera at the LAN-assigned IP address. I think this is the main reason if not THE reason why a lot of folks are having a hard time getting the IP Cam to connect wirelessly. Also keep in mind that the IP Cam is only compatible at 802.11 a/b/g at 2.4ghz only. Not a problem with dual-band Time Capsule but you may need to configure your router accordingly.

So back to the setup procedure, once you get your IP Cam up and running on the LAN, go to your IP Cam's web UI and click on "Wireless Lan Settings" on the left navigation menu to configure the IP Cam for wireless access.

* Make sure the "Using Wireless Lan" box is checked.
* Under "SSID", enter your full wireless network name. You may click "Scan" multiple times until your wireless network shows up on the list (you may need to scan up to 4 times before it appears) or you can just type in the name of the SSID of your network. If you have Access Control List enabled, be sure to add the IP Cam's MAC address to the ACL.
* For "Network Type", select "Infra"
* Under "Encryption", select your security type. It's usually WPA2 (AES), but again, you need to do the research on your own network.
* For "Share Key", type in your wireless network access password.

Click SET and let the IP Cam reboot (30 secs). Next disconnect the Ethernet cable from the IP Cam and power down the camera, wait 30 seconds. Reconnect the power supply but leave the Ethernet cable unplugged and wait another 30 seconds for the IP Cam to boot up. Now your IP Cam should be connected to your wireless network. Run IP Scanner 2.5 or above to discover the newly assigned WAN IP address on the network (you can find this in your router's DHCP list via your router's admin page as well); this should be the new wireless IP address for your IP Camera. If the WAN IP for the IP Cam is 192 . 168 . 0 . 4, then you'll need to punch in 192 . 168 . 0 . 4 : 80 (or 192 . 168 . 0 . 4 : 81) to regain access to the web UI - again, your LAN assigned IP for the camera will usually no longer work. If you've changed the default access port for the IP Camera to something else other than 81, be sure to use the custom port instead when accessing the new wireless IP address. If you plan on a 100% wireless connection you'll need to reconfigure your port forwarding settings, reserved IP setting (if you did this for LAN), access port, etc. Proceed with your WiFi configuration as if you're configuring the IP Cam for the first time on LAN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great camera but the built-in mic is unusable, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genuine Wansview wireless IP camera network with Pan & Tilt,Night Vision,2 Way Audio,Black, Built-in Microphone With Phone remote monitoring (Wireless Phone Accessory)
A few years ago, anything with this level of functionality would have cost several hundred pounds.
I bought this to use as a baby monitor, so we could keep an eye on our newborn twins while having dinner or watching a film in another room. Of course, unlike a baby monitor though, this will be useful long after the babies are running around spying on us.

Pros:
Great image quality in both daylight and pitch dark, although the daylight colours are just a little off due to the IR lens.
The pan-tilt function is fast and easy to control.
Can view and control it easily from any PC browser* (but see con below) as well as a number of free iPhone & iPAD apps.
In spite of the poor documentation, setting it up on my WIFI for control from the LAN was pretty quick & simple.

Cons:
*Nowhere in the docs does it tell you that you can only get sound when using Internet Explorer as your browser, and then only on a 34-bit machine. With Firefox, Chrome and Safari the audio controls simply do not appear.
Even if you do figure out how to use the sound option, it is plagued with interference which makes it all but unusable (sounds like a helicopter is hovering over it continuously). When I contacted the seller about this, they told me it was normal and offered a full or partial refund. - I took a partial since I like the cam function so much and it's extremely good value for the money.

All in all, I recommend this for anyone who doesn't need to hear what they are looking at. - Not ideal as a baby monitor in this respect, but still a great little cam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good overall product, slightly tricky to set up at first, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genuine Wansview wireless IP camera network with Pan & Tilt,Night Vision,2 Way Audio,Black, Built-in Microphone With Phone remote monitoring (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Hi, having just written a more comprehensive review and the site crashing I will write a more concise second. If anybody is struggling feel free to email majowett1982@gmail.com and I will try to help if I can.
Overall - good product and initial set up with the wire is straightforward and setting an IP address for the camera. However, even after I have set the WIFI up and connected the camera via WIFI, it will not show on the PC software as connected when the ethernet cable is not connected. The camera flashes but nothing is coming through on PC or APP. There are a number of forums for this suggesting take the cable out once rebooting or update firmware etc but for now I am running a long cable into it.
Port forwarding is straightforward through the router settings and using either default 80 or chosen port.
It has taken me a few days to set up and get the motion detection working and emailing my gmail when it detects such motion.
(be warned you will get hundreds of emails if you set up for a time when people are there!)
On the Alarm settings page - tick all boxes and set the scheduler if needed. Unless you actually connect to the external house alarm it wont work with that section but I ticked the boxes anyway. In the email settings page (seems easiest with gmail) you obviously need your email and gmail server settings which are smtp.gmail.com, port is 465 and TLS. You need to tick the authentication box and put your own gmail details in. After one day of having this set up, it suddenly started working and emailing lots of stills of people in my house, actually myself! Picture quality isnt too bad, you can alter settings in the software.

Overall, for the money great value, be warned about the wireless not working on it, I haven't given up on this but this is the only bit I cannot get to work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredile for the money, 9 Dec 2013
By 
C. G. Young "Craig" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genuine Wansview wireless IP camera network with Pan & Tilt,Night Vision,2 Way Audio,Black, Built-in Microphone With Phone remote monitoring (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Ok, so the instructions are woeful and hard to interpret. Once you get past this, the hardware is amazing. It does everything that you would want a camera to do. My mum loves watching my pet hedgehog remotely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good budget camera, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genuine Wansview wireless IP camera network with Pan & Tilt,Night Vision,2 Way Audio,Black, Built-in Microphone With Phone remote monitoring (Wireless Phone Accessory)
This is a good camera with a reasonably simple setup, although I haven't been able to get the "alerts" working to send you an email for motion or upload to an ftp site. The picture quality is medicore. For my purposes, simply to check in every now and again, it's absolutely fine. Good for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Promptly returned, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genuine Wansview wireless IP camera network with Pan & Tilt,Night Vision,2 Way Audio,Black, Built-in Microphone With Phone remote monitoring (Wireless Phone Accessory)
After fiddling for quite a while with this camera I had to send it back. There was no way to make the wireless work.
There was only one MAC address supplied with the camera. My experience with other models suggests that two MAC addresses are required, one for LAN (cable) connection and another one for the wireless (WAN). This could explain why the camera worked fine when wired, but was unreacheable on the wireless.
I would have contacted the customer service to enquire, but... there was no such service!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Camera for the price, 13 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genuine Wansview wireless IP camera network with Pan & Tilt,Night Vision,2 Way Audio,Black, Built-in Microphone With Phone remote monitoring (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Much Much better than a expensive camera, worked straight from the box. Installation in 30 minutes. I don;t have any tech or networking knowledge. So I rate this camera very good.

Picture quality is better than what you expect from a cheap camera.Pictures/Colors are not vivid , but for a camera for this price is perfectly OK. It works !!! that's the main thing :), This is my 4rth camera after spending money on costly cameras. I'm satisfied with this camera for now. Hope the performance stays the same for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars camera, 15 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genuine Wansview wireless IP camera network with Pan & Tilt,Night Vision,2 Way Audio,Black, Built-in Microphone With Phone remote monitoring (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I'm not exactly the most tech savvy person in the world and I had never used a camera like this before. Usually, I'd get someone like my brother or my husband to put together this kind of stuff for me but I thought I'd give it a try myself. Surprisingly, setting up the camera was very straight forward and I definitely got it working right because I can monitor my home on my phone while I'm out working in the day. I can see everything very clearly. I'm just extremely impressed because it looks as if I've got a very high-tech product working in my home which you would think costs an arm and a leg, when in reality, it's very affordable and it's incredible what you get for the price you pay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great at that price, 9 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genuine Wansview wireless IP camera network with Pan & Tilt,Night Vision,2 Way Audio,Black, Built-in Microphone With Phone remote monitoring (Wireless Phone Accessory)
so good I've just ordered another one, and four friends at work have now bought them too.
I found it easy to set up, but you need to Port Forward on you home router.

only downside is the colours off it, because it can do night vision, all the blacks come out as purple
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Greaqt product for the money!, 29 Mar 2014
By 
D Hammond "David H" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Genuine Wansview wireless IP camera network with Pan & Tilt,Night Vision,2 Way Audio,Black, Built-in Microphone With Phone remote monitoring (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Took me 30 mins to understand and get going. If you know a bit about computers and are brave, then you'll be able to get it working. The guides by previous reviewers and the instructions were all I needed.

So, not for old people....

As mentioned by previous reviewers, it is a bit tricky to set up at first and the documentation isn't the best (I'm English), but persevere - it's worth it! Once I got a picture, I was really impressed with the frame-rate and the night vision.

The night vision bulbs are visible to the naked eye (dim red glow makes it look a bit sinister at night!) and do stay on, so perhaps it's not the best baby monitor.

The GUI of the software is functional but not pretty - having said that it does everything you need it to and there is an iDevice app. The microphone is OK but as mentioned below it does make a slight helicopter noise in low sound environments! Also the 2-way audio claim is true but a bit of a con, it doesn't come with a speaker - just an audio out jack..!

The DDNS service is working for me. I can view my camera from outside my home network without too much faff (I did set up port forwarding on my router).

All in all, I was pleasantly surprised that this gadget delivered on all it's promises!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb77ba54c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews