Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping biography for young readers
I didn’t expect Roald Dahl’s account of life as a fighter pilot to interest me at all, but to my astonishment I found it gripping. It’s a real page-turner; I couldn’t wait to read the next chapter!
As always, his style of writing is a pleasure to read, and although most younger readers prefer his macabre tales of fantasy, this is well worth...
Published on 15 April 2004 by Chrestomanci

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
Interesting, as is Boy, but feels a little too self-congratulatory. Offers lots of enlightening info for Year 6 and Year 7 students studying the wars.
Published 13 days ago by Loopy Lili


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping biography for young readers, 15 April 2004
By 
Chrestomanci (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Going Solo (Paperback)
I didn’t expect Roald Dahl’s account of life as a fighter pilot to interest me at all, but to my astonishment I found it gripping. It’s a real page-turner; I couldn’t wait to read the next chapter!
As always, his style of writing is a pleasure to read, and although most younger readers prefer his macabre tales of fantasy, this is well worth adding to their Dahl Library.
Both ‘Boy’ and ‘Going Solo’ are the perfect way to introduce the developing younger reader to biographical/true-life stories, rather than remaining forever stuck in the magical realms of fantasy fiction. This book can be equally enjoyed by young and old alike … the sort of book a grandfather and grandson can read together!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Going Solo, 13 Jan 2008
This review is from: Going Solo (Paperback)
"Going Solo" is a the book which picks up where "Boy" left off with Roald on his way to East Africa to take up a job with the Shell Oil Company in Dar es Salaam. Roald Dahl is in Africa when World War II breaks out and he leaves Shell to join up with the RAF. This book details Dahl's wartime exploits, which include having a luger (a pistol) pointed at his head by the leader of a German convoy, crash-landing in no-man's land (and sustaining injuries that entailed having his nose pulled out and shaped!) and even surviving a direct hit during the Battle of Athens, when he was sufficiently recovered to fly again - this time in Hurricanes. The book features black-and-white photos, as well as maps, telegrams and other memorabilia. It is a fabulous book which is also one of my favourites. I would rate it 100000000000000/ 10. Anyone would love this stunning success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars you wanna know about roald dahls life? buy this book., 22 Jun 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Going Solo (Paperback)
This is a brilliant book. not as good as boy. but still, roald dahl has made an exellent job of writing it. it is all about roald dahls life, when he is in his 20s world war two starts, and he joins the R.A.F, learn about his ftal crash. and many other things.
this book is a BRILLIANT read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Going solo, 17 July 2008
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Going Solo (Paperback)
I read it at school and struggled to put it down. I found it extremely interesting; the best bit was when he returned home.

Jessie,age 9
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 9 July 2014
By 
C. R. Mandall (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Going Solo (Paperback)
ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Solo (Kindle Edition)
Interesting, as is Boy, but feels a little too self-congratulatory. Offers lots of enlightening info for Year 6 and Year 7 students studying the wars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Going Solo by Roald Dahl, 16 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Solo (Paperback)
This is a perfectly well written account of Roald Dahl's life in the late 1930s and 1940s.

It tells of his life as an employee in Africa, his experiences with deadly snakes and suchlike but it's his near death trauma when piloting a fighter plane in the early days of WW2. How he survived a massive crash landing in the middle of a desert and later his exploits as a Spitfire pilot battling against all the odds is quite amazing.

Buy this book! It's such a wonderful and true account of this chap's life before becoming one of the world's best authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should read this book, 22 April 2014
By 
Cat (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Solo (Kindle Edition)
If you know Roald Dahl only as an author of children's books, you should definitely read Boy, Tales of Childhood and this, Going Solo. Going Solo follows Dahl as he sets out as a 22 year old to live and work in Tanzania (then Tanganyika) for Shell. Whilst there, war is declared and Roald signs up for the RAF and begins flight training in Nairobi. His description of flying over the Serengeti in the early morning takes you back to a different time. One where Shell would pay your wages throughout the war to show their support, one where you had a 'boy' to do your ironing and washing. Once Dahl moves up to Libya and later, Greece, to join his new squadron, he captured the futility of war perfectly. Decisions made by people putting on a show put lives at risk and the sadness of losing a generation to war is captured beautifully but not by preaching or tugging at the heart strings. I told everyone I love that they must read this book as soon as I finished. You can be absorbed for a few hours and live another life, somewhere long ago and far away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Roald Dahl, Going Solo., 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Solo (Kindle Edition)
An excellent read, I enjoyed every word. My only regret is that he didn't follow up with his life's story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable adventure, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Going Solo (Kindle Edition)
Dahl's story of sailing off to Africa in the late 30s and the then serving as a fighter pilot in the Mediterranean is remarkable, though thousands of others must have had similar tales to tell. It's Roald Dahl's sparce brilliance a story-teller that makes it such a reminder of the opportunities available to the ground of 75 years ago, their bravery and the sacrifices they made. When Dahl is able to make his first dogfight and an attack by a lion in the bush sound so everyday, mundane almost, you can understand how it was just a warm-up for his fantastical fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Going Solo
Going Solo by Roald Dahl
4.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews