Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continuation of a great series
Not for classical music purists (though even they might use it to convince sceptics that their pre-conceived stereotypical assumptions about classical music are wrong), this is one of a series of compilations offering sample tracks from some of the best contemporary classical crossover artists. Like others in the series, this one was released for the Christmas market in...
Published on 1 April 2009 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Classical Album 2009
We were very disappointed with this disc. There was not enough detail given about the content most of which was not true classical at all.
Published on 4 Jan 2010 by Mrs. Janice M. Hill


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Continuation of a great series, 1 April 2009
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Not for classical music purists (though even they might use it to convince sceptics that their pre-conceived stereotypical assumptions about classical music are wrong), this is one of a series of compilations offering sample tracks from some of the best contemporary classical crossover artists. Like others in the series, this one was released for the Christmas market in the year before the date in the title (so it came out in November or December 2008). I suspect that 2008 was not such a great year for the release of new classical crossover albums, since many of the tracks are older, with only 17 of the 40 tracks having a 2008 copyright date. While earlier compilations in the series also contained older material, they didn't rely as heavily on it. Still, there's a lot of great music here.

Many of the songs will be familiar to people who don't necessarily follow classical music. Here you'll find covers of All by myself (popularized by Eric Carmen, who wrote the lyrics for an old classical tune by Rachmaninov), Abide with me (here performed by the Royal Scots Dragoon Guards), Amazing grace (here performed by Lesley Garrett), Ave Maria (here performed by Aled Jones), Somewhere (here performed by David Garrett), Danny boy (here performed by Bryn Terfel and Ronan Keating), the theme from Inspector Morse (here performed by Emma Johnson), Imagine (the John Lennon song here performed by the Fron male voice choir), The Lord is my shepherd (here performed by Katherine Jenkins) and Tears in heaven (the Eric Clapton song here performed by the Choirboys). Pie Jesu (here performed by Katherine Jenkins) and Time to say goodbye (here performed by Blake) were both huge UK pop hits for Sarah Brightman duetting with other artists.

Apart from those tracks, you may also recognize other famous artists including Luciano Pavarotti (singing Curuso) and Mike Oldfield (performing Aurora), Julian Lloyd Webber (performing The swan), Bond (singing Allegretto), Russell Watson (singing You raise me up) and Hayley Westenra (singing Pokarekare Ana) and the Salvation Army (performing Largo), whether or not you recognise the actual tracks.

Typical of other releases in the series, this is an easy-listening collection that is ideal for those who want to dabble in the fringes of classical music but who don't necessarily want to get in too deep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Classical Album 2009, 4 Jan 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We were very disappointed with this disc. There was not enough detail given about the content most of which was not true classical at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning compilation of all the year's greatest hits!, 25 Nov 2008
By 
McStick (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Yet another great double CD box set in the classical album series! Containing all the best new versions of classical tracks, including Only Men Aloud, Bryn Terfel and Russel Watson to name but a few. I certainly don't feel anyone could go wrong buying this compilation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good choice, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I BOUGHT THIS AS A GIFT FOR SOMEONE BUT THEY WERE VERY PLEASED WITH IT I ALSO LIKED IT WHEN I HEARD IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant as expected, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anyone into popular classical music should enjoy this production. I now have several of the series on my shelves. Keep them coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely collection of great music and songs, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
2 Cd's of music and songs well worth listening to. They are only excerpts so you don't get the full works but if you want to sit down and relax after a hard day's work, this is perfect. There is a set released every year and although some of the music is repeated, they are really cheap to get and a great buy I feel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money!, 21 April 2010
By 
P. Kolkowski (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Uninspired selection of cover versions and re-releases. This album falls far short of the standard set by previous compilations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'must have' 2009 classical compilation, 9 Dec 2008
By 
Mart (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Another winning `The Classical Album' which offers such a good range of quality artists, from the recent Only Men Aloud to the experienced voice of Lesley Garrett.

As usual there's something for everyone, Katherine Jenkins, Russell Watson, Jonathan Ansell, Hayley Westenra, Alfie Boe, All Angels, Einaudi, Nicola Benedetti, Aled Jones, Blake... the star list goes on...

I love great compilations like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic service and product,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Nov 2014
Excellent just what I wanted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Classical Album 2009
The Classical Album 2009 by Various artists
Buy MP3 Album£11.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews