Customer Reviews


142 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just perfect
I have just finished reading Jenny's War and as usual it came up to my expectation. Despite the story being able to stand alone and be read without any prior knowledge of the characters, those of us who follow this authors books know that it carries on the lives of Jenny and the Thortons along with other characters from her 2010 book, sons and daughters.

Such...
Published on 25 Feb 2012 by Linda Sykes, Louth

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lightweight
Something for the unsophisticated reader. Totally predictable plot and lacking in character development or subtlety. Simple vocabulary and easy constructs. No excitement or intrigue here ! My first by this author and my last.
Published 17 months ago by Carole Allen


‹ Previous | 112 13 14 15 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Jennys war, 21 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jenny's War (Paperback)
jennys war is a brilliant book that gives you the other side of sons and daughters, by this author. cant wait for more books to read by her .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jenny's War, 9 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jenny's War (Kindle Edition)
This book is a development of Margaret Dickinson's novel "Sons and Daughters", which I originally selected because I know the area in which the story is set. Her character, Jenny, in that book so fascinated me, I was so pleased Margaret had developed Jenny's character - which produced another excellent novel. This book also continues her storyline from Sons and Daughters and I was so happy with the way in which the story ended - in just the way I hoped it would - but you never know, do you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK, 17 May 2012
By 
Susan Pugh "Sue Pugh" (Cardiff South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jenny's War (Kindle Edition)
I had read this was a sequel to Sons & Daughters a book which I just enjoyed reading so much and again Jenny's War was a great read too. I thoroughly enjoyed the book and would recommend it to anyone who likes to read Margaret Dickinson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another book for Mum, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jenny's War (Paperback)
Mum very pleased with book for Easter, good present. She reads a lot, good author,good story, excellent to have this latest book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well, I enjoyed the read!, 14 April 2012
By 
Susan Sant (West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jenny's War (Kindle Edition)
I loved this story, no matter what other reviewers say. Worth reading. It also portrays how young people are often manipulated wrongly by their elders, and dare I say it, this includes family members. Still happens now. To me it's a must read book. Won't give the ending away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars must have, 9 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jenny's War (Paperback)
This is amust have for any margaret Dickinson fan. If your from lincolnshire you will find most of her books are set in lincolnshire from gibraltar point to Lincoln to gainsborough. Great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very good easy-read novel, 7 April 2012
By 
adele (stamford, uk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jenny's War (Paperback)
Book Review - Jenny's War by Margaret Dickinson
Published by Panmacmillan
ISBN 978-0-330-54430-6

This is a very good easy-read novel, the sort of book you like to curl up on the sofa with, coffee in hand, to escape from your own world for a little while.
The plot is well-crafted, following the life of Jenny Mercer with all its ups and downs. It takes you from when Jenny is just 10 years old right through until she is a full-grown, beautiful young woman with the future at her finger-tips. Jenny's life does not get off to a good start, living in the East End of London with her mother, who never wanted her, and her mother's succession of boyfriends, all occurring during the thick of world war II.
Jenny is evacuated to Lincolnshire and life improves but is this the end of the tale? I will leave it to you to find out.
The characters are beautifully drawn picture images in your mind and I challenge you not to fall in love with the young Jenny.
I enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anybody who fancies a little escapism, there are no deep controversial issues to face and no hard-work to do as you read.
It is a heart-warming story which brings the realities of living Britain during World War II to life. It will give insight to any younger readers who never experienced this time and nostalgic moments for those who are old enough to remember living through it themselves.
Personal read 4/5
Group read 2/5 as there wouldn't be an awful lot to discuss unless your reading group is made up of older members who remember the war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jenny's War (Kindle Edition)
The book was very enjoyable and it bought to life something of what it must have been like living through the war years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jenny's war, 18 July 2014
By 
Mrs. M. Strange (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jenny's War (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book I would recommend it to everyone it's so well written looking forward to read the next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jenny's War (Kindle Edition)
As with all Margaret Dickinson books I just couldn't put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 112 13 14 15 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jenny's War
Jenny's War by Margaret Dickinson
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews