Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It works!
This book is brilliant. Short, concise but best of all, the guidance in it actually works. I read the book, went off to the supermarket and bought some of the magazines that were mentioned in it, sent off a few fillers, and a few weeks later got an email to say one of them was being published. The payment I'll receive will cover the cost of the book and the magazines many...
Published on 15 May 2012 by Cathy White

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Short and sweet
These are good ideas to set you off in the right direction or help you find your feet and would recommend to those just starting out.
Published 3 months ago by LOUISA BLACK


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It works!, 15 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Make 10 In Ten Minutes! (The Professional Writers Series) (Kindle Edition)
This book is brilliant. Short, concise but best of all, the guidance in it actually works. I read the book, went off to the supermarket and bought some of the magazines that were mentioned in it, sent off a few fillers, and a few weeks later got an email to say one of them was being published. The payment I'll receive will cover the cost of the book and the magazines many times over.

UPDATE:

Received another cheque for a filler sent at the same time as the one mentioned above.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A useful gem for a writer of any stage, 2 April 2012
By 
Mrs. R. L. Dove (wakefield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Make 10 In Ten Minutes! (The Professional Writers Series) (Kindle Edition)
Being a writer myself and having made some great money from fillers, I was dubious that I would learn much, but my little pencil and notepad were smoking by the time I finished this guide. Linda Lewis is a pro and her ideas are straightforward and brilliant!

This book is ideal for a writer of any stage, this guide will no doubt come in useful. Linda is writing a whole series of these little books, I have already just bought her second one, Why Short Stories Get Rejected! I can't wait to read it either. These ebook guides are less than 99p - absolute bargain, you will make your money back ten fold.

I have to dash now, I have fillers and readers letters to write!

Rachel Dove
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Make 10 In Ten Minutes! (The Professional Writers Series) (Kindle Edition)
Was a bit unsure when I first read this but thought I would give it a go. Am so glad I did as sent an email to a magazine yesterday, it was only a couple of sentences, and I received a phone call from the magazine today saying they wanted to use my letter and asked a few more details. They are sending me a cheque out today!! Am really pleased and it was so easy i would recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sensible and profitable advice, 4 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Make 10 In Ten Minutes! (The Professional Writers Series) (Kindle Edition)
Linda Lewis has a proven track record when it comes to writing - her name appears in print as both a fiction and non-fiction writer.

Readers of magazines for writers will definitely know Linda and her words of good advice. This booklet contains more of those words. Earning 10 in ten minutes might sound impossible, but Linda is certain it can be done.

Research - reading the right magazines - is the key. Of course there's much more to it than that - but if I quote some of Linda's tips, you wouldn't need to buy the booklet.

Most, if not all, of her tips are obvious - but like all these things it sometimes needs a third party to point them out. There are no shocking revelations, just the nudges to get us all writing and possibly earning that tenner.

If you're new to writing, this booklet will certainly help you on your way - easing you into getting letters and fillers published - and maybe even earning you that first 10.

More experienced writers might possibly find it useful as a reminder of what opportunities are out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little gem, 15 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Make 10 In Ten Minutes! (The Professional Writers Series) (Kindle Edition)
Having already been paid for nearly 100 letters and other fillers published in magazines, I doubted this book could teach me anything I didn't already know. I was wrong - and now I'm raring to go on those ideas for fillers that hadn't occurred to me before. Money well spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short and to the point, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Make 10 In Ten Minutes! (The Professional Writers Series) (Kindle Edition)
This is a great wee book which does what it tells you on the cover. Aimed mainly at writers, it offers advice on fillers, letters, tips and hints - all the small pieces used by so many magazines to fill its pages. Now I've read this I'm looking forward to putting Ms. Lewis's advice into practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Short and sweet, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Make 10 In Ten Minutes! (The Professional Writers Series) (Kindle Edition)
These are good ideas to set you off in the right direction or help you find your feet and would recommend to those just starting out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More letters than fillers, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Make 10 In Ten Minutes! (The Professional Writers Series) (Kindle Edition)
It took me 15 minutes to read this through. I'm not complaining about the length. It only cost the price of an ice cream and that would take me a lot less time to finish.

The book is well written and if you want to learn the art of pretending to be an avid reader of any given publication and how to get paid for sending in written snippets of your real, or made-up life with accompanying photos then this is the book for you.

I, however, wanted information on how to write fillers, ie: small pieces of text that a magazine will use to fill a gap in a page with other, larger articles, and I felt that this book didn't cover that and concentrated instead on letters and other items sent in by "readers".

Yes, you'll get 25 for writing the star letter in a mag, but that's the letters page. What I wanted to learn about was suggested lengths, topics and submission procedures for tiny articles that pay a few quid...and I didn't get this.

I've given four stars because, although it wasn't suitable for my needs, the contents seem clear and informative and I'm sure if you follow the author's guidance, you will definitely make back more than the cost of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blimey - it works!, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Make 10 In Ten Minutes! (The Professional Writers Series) (Kindle Edition)
I was rather sceptical of whether you could actually make any money with this book, but I did! Using the suggestions in the book, I submitted a photograph to a magazine and was paid 25 for it - which more than covered the price of the book. Definitely worth a look!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I made 50, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How To Make 10 In Ten Minutes! (The Professional Writers Series) (Kindle Edition)
I made 50 after reading this book. I sent tips to magazines and two of them accepted as as nd paid 25 each
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews