Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent pick, 11 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britains Lost Routes with Griff Rhys Jones [DVD] (DVD)
I can watch twice as much. Griff, make more series!

Seriously, in America we are flooded with stupid, banal television. To escape to something as wonderful as this makes my day any time it is available.

Beautifully shot, informative and jovial. Another great series that my only regret is not picking it up sooner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Travels round Britain with a very personable presenter, 15 Jun 2012
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Britains Lost Routes with Griff Rhys Jones [DVD] (DVD)
Griff Rhys Jones is an old hand this sort of thing. The BBC are old hands at this sort of thing. There is therefore absolutely no reason not to enjoy this series. However the "old-handedness" of the participants is both a strength and a weakness as very often we retreat into aerial shot cliche and we still amazingly find experts on various subjects as if by magic en route. So far so ho hum, but what makes this series worth watching is that as the title suggests it does veer off the beaten track and presents us with some tasty nuggets of information with which I for one was unfamiliar, such as the saucy dance that was one of Queen Elizabeth I's favourite and the fact that highland cattle drovers who were "moved" to America after the clearances made up the bulk of the early cowboys of Western legend. Even the "setups" are well done and very informative making no pretence that they are coincidental. Griff's Plum Duff is particulalrly well received. The general conceit of recreating historical journeys as close as possible to the manner in which they were conducted (eg horseback, walking, thames barge and sedan chair) works well and of course the scenery is spectacular so I recommend this series to anyone wishing to get a peek of historic Britain by taking new journeys on ancient routes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most enjoyable viewing, 17 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britains Lost Routes with Griff Rhys Jones [DVD] (DVD)
We thoroughly enjoyed Griff's informative yet light-hearted journey. Most entertaining and our friends are queuing to watch the DVD themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britains Lost Routes with Griff Rhys Jones [DVD] (DVD)
A fascinating look into some of the old routes travelled by our early ancestors. Griff presents the detail in a light hearted and interesting way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britains Lost Routes with Griff Rhys Jones [DVD] (DVD)
Funny, informative, relaxing, really well researched and produced, will be buying other dvds presented by Griff. Would highly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Britains Lost Routes, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britains Lost Routes with Griff Rhys Jones [DVD] (DVD)
Griff follows 4 routes, each lost in history, some based on trade, one a Royal Progress. We learn about the difficulties of
travelling in the past and we learn something about the lives of our ancestors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love history, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britains Lost Routes with Griff Rhys Jones [DVD] (DVD)
Griff brings history to life with his indulgent style of showing it to the viewer.
A fascinating insight into some of Britain's lost routes by land and sea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Britains Lost Trails, 12 Jan 2013
This review is from: Britains Lost Routes with Griff Rhys Jones [DVD] (DVD)
I ordered this amazing DVD for my husband for Xmas and he was delighted to be viewing it even before it reached Australian TV
Griff continues to inspire us with new tales and trails.

Many thanks for prompt delivery Jan Fairclough
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Britains lost routes, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britains Lost Routes with Griff Rhys Jones [DVD] (DVD)
I hope this will be as good as others I have seen on TV.But I have not watched this yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Britains Lost Routes with Griff Rhys Jones [DVD]
Britains Lost Routes with Griff Rhys Jones [DVD] by Griff Rhys Jones (DVD - 2012)
8.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews