Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bare bones release, but much clearer picture.
As another reviewer pointed out lots of films in the late 70's/early 80's telling people "Don't" go here or there came out and thankfully for the audience nobody listened.

I remember watching this on a battered old VHS release many years ago and the picture was as grimy as the film itself. It's easy to see why this film made the "Video Nasties" list and was a...
Published on 29 Mar 2012 by I love New York

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flaming Nora!!!
PLEASE NOTE THAT THIS REVIEW REVEALS CERTAIN ELEMENTS OF THE STORY

In the 1970s and early 1980s horror fans were treated to a bunch of movies with the word "Don't" in their titles. In the early 70s we had the excellent "Don't Look Now", "Don't Torture A Duckling" and Aldo Lado's reworking of "The Last House On The Left" - "Don't Ride On Late Night Trains"...
Published on 4 April 2011 by Jeremy W. Newbould


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flaming Nora!!!, 4 April 2011
By 
PLEASE NOTE THAT THIS REVIEW REVEALS CERTAIN ELEMENTS OF THE STORY

In the 1970s and early 1980s horror fans were treated to a bunch of movies with the word "Don't" in their titles. In the early 70s we had the excellent "Don't Look Now", "Don't Torture A Duckling" and Aldo Lado's reworking of "The Last House On The Left" - "Don't Ride On Late Night Trains" (a.k.a. Night Train Murders). Then In the late 70s and early 80s we had "Don't Answer The Phone", "Don't Look In The Basement", "Don't Go In The Woods Alone", "Don't Go Near The Park" and this film (one of the best "Don't" movies of this period) - "Don't Go In The House".

Of course, none of the victims in these sort of movies heeded the warnings in the films' titles which was good news for horror fans who, because of this, were treated to some spectacular scenes of violence and gruesomesness.

"DGITH" is your everyday tale about a guy called Donny who lives with his domineering mum. When Donny was a kid his mum used to punish him when he had been naughty by holding out his arms over red hot flames. Didn't the silly old witch realise that this could have a lasting traumatic effect on the poor kid? Now he is older, Donny is still haunted by these terrible memories so what does he do? He takes a job at an incineration plant! What a great career choice!

One day one of Donny's colleagues is turned into a human fireball when an aerosol cannister in the incinerator explodes but Donny just stands there transfixed while his other co-workers frantically try to put out the flames. When Donny goes home he discovers that his old mum has kicked the bucket (now that's what I call having a bad day) but instead of taking the appropriate action and informing the relevant people he just leaves her corpse sitting in a chair. In addition to all of this Donny has started hearing strange voices inside his head!

Donny then decides to line one of the rooms of his house with sheets of steel and goes down to his local weapons store and buys a flamethrower and a protective fire-proof suit. Is it really that easy to buy such things in the USA?

It isn't long after this that Donny offers a lift to a pretty female florist but he makes up an excuse to take her to his house first. Didn't the dozy girl read the film's title? Once she is in the house, Donny does not waste much time knocking her unconscious, stripping her naked and chaining her up in the steel-lined room. When Donny reappears in his new suit with his flamethrower and a can of petrol it isn't hard to guess what happens next....

As Donny starts building up his collection of charred corpses he still finds time to head down to the local disco for a blind date which has been set up by one of his workmates. Let's just say that his date turns out to be a real fiery redhead! All these events lead up to a suspenseful, nerve-jangling climax where even the local priest is drawn into the action!

As you have probably realised by now, "DGITH" is a disturbing but entertaining slice of exploitation cinema which contains elements of Alfred Hitchcock's "Psycho", Jeff Gillen and Alan Ormsby's "Deranged", William Lustig's "Maniac" and even John Badham's "Saturday Night Fever"!

Much of the film's soundtrack consists of cheesy disco numbers but why did the film makers miss out on the opportunity to include the song "Disco Inferno (Burn, Baby, Burn)" by The Trammps?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bare bones release, but much clearer picture., 29 Mar 2012
By 
I love New York (Not in New York) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Go in the House [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
As another reviewer pointed out lots of films in the late 70's/early 80's telling people "Don't" go here or there came out and thankfully for the audience nobody listened.

I remember watching this on a battered old VHS release many years ago and the picture was as grimy as the film itself. It's easy to see why this film made the "Video Nasties" list and was a hit at the grind houses of the day.

The Arrow release has had a good clean up (picture wise, not the story itself) and is a lot brighter than what I had watched before. I personally found this took away some of the atmosphere that I remember when watching the VHS. This isn't a bad thing, but the film seemed a lot more tame, but maybe that is because I knew what was going to happen. Maniac sprang to mind throughout my viewing.

This is a bare bones DVD with no real extras apart from the booklet and a trailer. It is priced as such so no real complaints, I just love the extras Arrow includes normally, although these seem to be getting less and less throughout there releases as time goes by!

4 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STRUCK BY BOOGIE LIGHTNING, 16 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Go in the House [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
After witnessing a co-worker being seriously burned in an accident Danny Kohler lines a spare room in his large dilapidated house with sheets of metal and invests in a flamethrower.

Despite its fearsome reputation, Don't Go In The House is a surprisingly subdued and downbeat tale. Shot in the winter of 1979 on location in New York and New Jersey, Joseph Ellison's film is more concerned with abuse and psychotic breakdown than death and mayhem. There is only one on screen death. However, it is truly shocking. The basic set up of a boy and his mother is fairly obviously inspired by Hitchcock's Psycho, but the grittiness and use of hard disco 12 inch dance tracks to highlight Donny's dehumanised yearning for metaphorical and literal warmth owes a little to the bleakness at the heart of Saturday Night Fever. The visitations by the killer's charred victims have a quit eeriness that verges on the ghostly and whilst the ending is not dissimilar to the later Maniac the effect is very different.

Dan Grimaldi (the Sopranos) gives fairly nuanced performance as Donny, mostly avoiding histrionics. I like the scene where he picks up two less than impressionable girls and proceeds to make a complete fool of himself by bragging about his fighting skills and imaginary military background.

Interestingly for a film often dismissed as misogynistic, Don't Go In the House was co-written by Helen Hammill (the director's wife) and edited by Jane Kurson. And at least to me, the film's few female characters seem like normal people rather than fetishised slasher victims. Richard Einhorn (The Prowler, Eyes of a Stranger, Shock Waves)contributed to the creepy atmosphere with a decent electronic score and Tom Brumberger provided the realistic burned corpes effects. The use of L'Electriques' Struck By Boogie Lightning over the end credits is also very effective.

There are no extras on this region 2 disc, but the 1.85.1 aspect ratio presentation is fairly crisp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars low budget nastiness, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Go in the House [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Yet another of those Psycho inspired horrors, where a Mummy's boy is dominated by a strong matriarch and resorts to murdering young women when he can't relate to girls as others do.

This sees mis-fit Dan Grimaldi keeping his mothers corpse in a ramshackle, lonely old house and talking to her as though she was still alive.
She abused him as a child, holding his arms over a lighted gas cooker to punish him for having wicked thoughts when he was bad.
Now she is gone, it's time for revenge, and the girls he picks up end up locked in a steel room, where he dresses in a heat suit and torches them to death with an oxy acetalene blowtorch.

Quite nasty are these scenes, especially for the time, and this DVD is uncut, restoring some extra shots of writhing burning bodies that were missing from the earlier video release.

An ugly and sordid sort of film. It isn't badly made, with some nifty dream sequences, but overall is cheap and largely forgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT A MOVIE!!, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Go in the House [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
I rate this a top movie! I think its been made really well, the acting from the lead actor, Dan Grimaldi, is spot on, and the persistent dark tone of the film is engaging and relentless, a welcome and refreshing ingredient sadly lacking in todays horror films.
"Dont go in the house" was made in the early 80s, i think?, but, having just watched it this minute, can safely say it has lost none of its power and shock value - from the controvesial "burning" scene
through to the well placed and foreboding synth sound effects - the film leaves you feeling like you've just been in a really bad place. I cannot imagine a film like this being made today.......definitely not a " all goes well in the end and we're all happy" type of movie. Theres hardly any blood here, but that shouldnt put you off, just wallow in the dark atmosphere and subject matter of a man trying to come to terms with, and get over, his demons, but in the end falling into the abyss of mental disintegration.
Previous reviews have commented on the low budget of this film, perhaps putting off potential viewers who've had bad experiences with low budget movies. Not that this movie is a "good" experience, but this film is not badly made, in fact, its very well made. I think it outshines, what could be construde as, its budgetory limitations.
I dont need to go too much into the plot here, others have already done so, but
suffice it to say that DONT watch this film if you are looking for easy going, movie
experience. But DO watch it if you like unflinching, off the beaten track, 80s
horror movies that leave you with a bad
taste in the mouth.
The eighties horror genre has a multitude of gems on its list- and this is definitely one of them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quality Cult Horror, 18 Jun 2014
This review is from: Don't Go in the House [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Great old slasher flick. Fully uncut as I understand. Great quality picture and nice reversible sleeve too. Very cheap and a must for any old school horror fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grim but not dim, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Go in the House [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Eccentric mother's boy seeks flame-haired momma for revenge motif and 'good times', must have a perversely dark sense of humour & a photogenic body..you know, all over. Able to cook over gas stove without burning arms, absolute essential. Likes disco music, but doesn't need to show-off and move to any beat, nor react in any way to external stimuli.. such as co-workers on fire..what do they expect, i thought the flames were pretty. Must must must come to My house, it is MY house now.. so you can see what i offer the suitable candidate, which must be a young girl. Not too young, but enough to remind me what i am missing. I have not got a metal lined room with a hook in it to roast girls. I have not got a tendency to react like Anthony Perkins to my memories. I have no need to wear a bodywarmer but i like it, it makes me feel secure. Do not mock me. There may be issues with seedy, sordid sounds in MY house, but the suitable candidate will be prepared for my strange use of english american. Please like me until i show you my metal room.

Arrow have provided us with a lovely print, considering the grainy flavour of the original. The lead actor is actually very good, now we can see him clearer. Now that the eerie house is sufficiently lit and ominous, the whole film on the cusp of the eighties yet pre-empting the Henry Portrait of a Serial Killer, and numerous other items it is best compared in my deluded mind with the likes of Nightmare (scavolini) or Don't Answer the Phone without the laughs. Uncut at long last, with only one drawback for the strange folk who sit and enjoy such flicks, in that the cover of the dvd, either side of which is innocuous. Originally on vhs the selling point was how tacky and sordid, or shall we say, outrageous lie, the imagery was. The sheer lurid conveyance of nothing much to do with the film was frowned upon subsequently by the powers that be, so we now have a classic piece of well made, well shot, well acted piece of cinematic treasure getting in under the radar. Congratulations all round. And what is worse than being on fire during a disco...?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars required, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don't Go in the House [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Loners mum dies then he decides to pick up women and burn them to death,

I kinda got the idea of buying this from the fake grind house trailers, but these are the type of horror movies i use to watch when i was about 9 or 10, now that i'm older maby worth a watch if you really want to but - it was just crap
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit nasty, 13 Jun 2012
By 
A. Griffiths "Adrian" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don't Go in the House [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
"Don't Go In The House" is one of the cheaper than average offerings from that golden 1980's splatter movie era when every other horror film released was either about a notable diary date (Halloween, Friday the 13th , Mother's Day, April Fools Day etc), a summer camp or similar remote location full of teenagers (The Burning, Sleepaway Camp, Terror Train), or a warning (Don't Look In the Basement, Don't Answer The Phone, etc).

We're in the third category with this 1980 effort and its pretty low down in both quality and integrity. Dan Grimaldi plays Donny, a troubled loner whose outward social clumsiness masks a far more serious mental instability. After a painful childhood, spent being cruelly tortured by his mother, Donny suddenly finds himself rid of her when she expires due to old age and/or sickness in their lonely and remote home. His happiness at the new found freedom is shortlived however, because something is whispering in his head, and its telling him to kill...

Grimaldi handles the role of Donny fairly well, although there doesn't really seem to be a lot of depth to his performance, so you might be forgiven for expecting a pretty mundane movie as a result of watching his behaviour in the first 20 minutes of the film. Except for the first time that Donny manages to lure a young woman back to the isolated house, because what follows on from this initial set up one of the most repulsive murders I have ever seen in an 80's slasher movie. It involves a clearly terrified naked woman being hung from chains in a vertical position and then set alight with an industrial flame thrower...the effect is callous, shocking and hard to shake off for the rest of the film. Which is probably just as well because there isn't really a lot going on for the remaining hour. Donny remains among mainstream society and we have to follow him as he buys new outfits and goes to a happenin' disco with some work colleagues, which drags on a bit before Donny finally has another fire-related flip-out. After a bit more not very gripping amateur investigation, the climax of the film sees how Donny meets his final fate, and things end on a suitably grim note.

But as I said nothing really matches the deeply unpleasant first murder scene, so file this along with "The Toolbox Murders" as another low budget shocker that somehow managed to strike a nerve with one graphic murder but still remains forgettable for most of the rest of the time. It does however leave room for a (thankfully never-realised) sequel, plus it closes with a great disco number playing over the credits ("Boogie Lightning"!), and that's something you can't say about many 80's slashers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Get the shower running..., 7 Sep 2012
By 
M. Crossman (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don't Go in the House [DVD] [1980] (DVD)
Get the shower running...Because after watching this sick pup of a film you'll need one.
Misogynistic horror that practically coats your eyeballs.
Production values are better than you would expect but still...Entertaining? Not really unless you like to spend your Sunday afternoons putting kittens into burlap sacks weighed down with bricks and then heaving the whole thing into a river.
Not nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Don't Go in the House [DVD] [1980]
Don't Go in the House [DVD] [1980] by Joseph Ellison (DVD - 2012)
5.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews