Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metallica back to their best
So after the horrors of "LuLu" Metallica are firmly back in business, this EP contains 4 tracks that for whatever reason didn't make the cut for Death Magnetic.
I think the easiest way of reviewing this is simply to say if you enjoyed DM then you will definitely enjoy this EP as the songs are very similar.

As you can see they are all reasonably long songs...
Published on 15 Dec 2011 by M. Farley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent performance, less compressed audio than Death Magnetic but songs not as good!
This is a good EP but not a classic, so doesn't lend itself to repeated listening like its parent album Death Magnetic (DM) does. The main reason for this being that despite the excellent performance and less 'brick-walled' sound of the tracks compared to that of DM, the songwriting just isn't as good. Main problem is that Hetfield's lyrics aren't as strong as the main...
Published 4 months ago by Basskenstein


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metallica back to their best, 15 Dec 2011
By 
M. Farley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beyond Magnetic (MP3 Download)
So after the horrors of "LuLu" Metallica are firmly back in business, this EP contains 4 tracks that for whatever reason didn't make the cut for Death Magnetic.
I think the easiest way of reviewing this is simply to say if you enjoyed DM then you will definitely enjoy this EP as the songs are very similar.

As you can see they are all reasonably long songs (do Metallica do short songs anymore?) and all the songs tend to veer off in different directions over the length of the song, personally I think these 4 tracks are better than several of the songs on DM.
They are fast, aggressive and epic, the songs bring to mind Master of Puppets era Metallica to me as the songs are more progressive than in recent years and contain quieter passages as well as more thrash like sections, in particular there is a passage in "Just a Bullet away" which brings to mind Orion.

All in all then 4 songs, (nearly 30 minutes) of Metallica kicking maximum ass for only £3.50, what are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top EP. Do not pass it by., 14 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Magnetic (Audio CD)
This EP makes a few points that Metallica should take note of. Their first few albums were all killer no filler, the songs were long but it never felt like it because they were enjoyable and interesting. Recently Metallica have been releasing albums with a bit too much filler, don't get me wrong there is always good stuff on them but they haven't been as consistent. Metallica went from being an album band to being a singles band. After getting into this EP what I really wish is that Metallica would decide to only release EP sized treats so that we can get back to solid albums, or in this case EPs.

Why is this so good then? I think in part because it feels so much like a consolidation of Metallica old and new; long songs which develop from start to finish mixed with their mid period groove combined with their latest sound. It is very impressive.

On a side note if these songs were rejected for inclusion on `Death Magnetic' I would be interested to know why. It could have gone in as liner notes to make the packaging more interesting. Not a big deal but it would have been nice.

Hate Train: The introduction sound a little bit like `All Nightmare Long' from Death Magnetic. This song has a very heavy groove to it. It has a chorus which recalls some of their previous work its got an air of Load era. The track powers to a close with some nice lead work.

Just a Bullet Away: Nice looping riff begins the build up of the song underpinned by a nice constant chug. Just over half way through the song drops out and we are introduced to a nice gentle section which shows off some fantastic slow burn lead playing. The drums build then explode and you realise how well Metallica can still develop a song.

Hell and Back: Groovy, chunky but mellow start which continues for most of the songs apart from a bit of a build and release for the chorus. Again it's a track that shows good development as we go past the halfway mark, keeping it interesting. The songs finale is very impressive as it all comes together in a slightly chaotic fashion.

Rebel of Babylon: This track rocks. Probably the best on the EP, its got a good pace and the song is constantly changing and evolving making it an interesting track which you won't get bored of in a hurry, impressive because it is eight minutes long.

The rough and ready feel (well rough and ready by Metallica standards anyway) make this EP so very exciting. It will truly be very interesting to see if Metallica can create a whole album which stands up to the standards set here. Try this for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great songs., 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Magnetic (MP3 Download)
This is a MUST buy for any fans of Metallica. Really well written and composed with fantastic lyrics and skill in the playing.
(- for more knowing Metallica fans:- Metallica's album 'Death Magnetic was recorded at very low quality, you do not have to worry about that for 'Beyond Magnetic as the recording quality is top notch)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Baffling..., 31 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: Beyond Magnetic (Audio CD)
...why this stuff didn't make it onto the album.

It took me a while to discover these four songs but now I can safely say that they are as good or better than the songs on Death Magnetic. Every song is fantastic and I look forward to their next album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Magnetic (Audio CD)
Love this! Purchased it for hubby for xmas as we both loved Death Magnetic so much. A couple of the songs should have made the album, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pressy, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Magnetic (Audio CD)
an xmas present for my grandson he was highly delighted as a young up and coming musician who is into heavy metal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why wasn't this on the main album?, 29 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Magnetic (MP3 Download)
Metallica are back! After the horrible disappointment that was Lulu this extra for the Death Magnetic album just reminds us why they are the biggest and best metal band in the world. Only four tracks on this, but they are all even longer than is typical for Metallica. The killer riffs and astonishingly fast and brilliant solos are back and the magnificent duo of Hetfield and Hammett are back and bad as ever. Every sond here could have been on any of their albums, especially the first two, which could easily have replaced a couple of tracks on Death Magnetic. My only gripe is that it doesn't seem to be available on CD. I guess everyone downloads these days, but I do like to collect CD's so my Metallica discography will be missing one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back to nearly their best?, 25 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Magnetic (Audio CD)
I really like Death Magnetic, but I think the ever so slightly rawer sound of this is a bonus. The four songs are excellent, and I'm glad to say this is a metal band firing on all cylinders. I would personally like it even more stripped back and harsher in terms of the production and particularly the guitar tone, but that's just me.
Four cracking songs, with the trademark playing from Lars, James and Kirk, this IS Metallica back to somewhere close to their best.

Steven A. McKay, author of The Wolf and the Raven: 2 (The Forest Lord) and Wolf's Head: 1 (The Forest Lord)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Time for a half one., 30 Jan 2012
This review is from: Beyond Magnetic (Audio CD)
Nothing fancy here, no frills; just a nice, pleasant and welcome treat for fans to tide over the (probably) long wait until the band get round to recording their next full length release in... whenever that may be. Anyway, the four vault songs that is presented here is basically the order of the day for what could be described as the "left over scraps" from Death Magnetic. Well, if that's what they are then they are at least very enjoyable, at least to this reviewer.- Whilst I could easily give a straight nod to "Hell and back" (as being my outright favorite song of this EP!) overall these compositions are surprisingly decent and all rounded. Personally, i'd also have to take my hat off to "Hate train" as well as again- to "Hell and back" as these numbers both boast some top quality Metallica riffage. "Hate train" is the first track; which is definitely a decent stab at traditional Metallica metal, whilst the last song "Rebel of babylon" is what I could identify as the weakest of the bunch here but even then it still has an element of potential and respectability about it.

Fans who may still have the underlying issues with Death Magnetic's sound & production quality will no doubt return to this with the same irate concerns to what had been unleashed in scorn over that album. So since this EP has essentially come from the same rough mix and mould, this thing should stir up a great deal of interest in Metallica world, (especially after the bombage affair of Lulu a few months back.) So this does in a way kinda send out the message that Metallica IS still a top Metal band and will one day return to follow this up with hopefully something very decent. Modern Metallica is one that I enjoy in similar ways to that of older Metallica, even if the eighties Metallica is and always will be pure metal class!. This is however, on it's own individual merits a pretty good EP as it is and does actually contain some quality "rough and ready" tracks on it that doesn't simply follow the premise that if you stick a few live numbers on an EP that everyone already has, they're not still gonna rush out the door to buy it just because it's their favorite icons.

Overall good little EP; infinitely superior to the cash-in scam that was "Six feet down under" and one that's definitely worth the time to look at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Play it loud..., 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Magnetic (Audio CD)
This is an awesome EP and has to be played loud, it is brilliant and a follow on from Magnetic, only 4 tracks but they are worth it and that is a fact, buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beyond Magnetic
Beyond Magnetic by Metallica (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews