Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top EP. Do not pass it by.
This EP makes a few points that Metallica should take note of. Their first few albums were all killer no filler, the songs were long but it never felt like it because they were enjoyable and interesting. Recently Metallica have been releasing albums with a bit too much filler, don't get me wrong there is always good stuff on them but they haven't been as consistent...
Published on 14 Sept. 2012 by Anoosh Falak Rafat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Death Magnetic B tracks
My title sums up my views on this album. I had become very bored with Metallica after their 'Metallica' album. Megadeth was the way forward for me. Always a shame though cos Metallica's first few albums were definitely something to behold. Still, I guess it's impossible to keep producing such world class material time and time again.

Although I very much enjoy...
Published on 23 May 2013 by Gripper


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top EP. Do not pass it by., 14 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Magnetic (Audio CD)
This EP makes a few points that Metallica should take note of. Their first few albums were all killer no filler, the songs were long but it never felt like it because they were enjoyable and interesting. Recently Metallica have been releasing albums with a bit too much filler, don't get me wrong there is always good stuff on them but they haven't been as consistent. Metallica went from being an album band to being a singles band. After getting into this EP what I really wish is that Metallica would decide to only release EP sized treats so that we can get back to solid albums, or in this case EPs.

Why is this so good then? I think in part because it feels so much like a consolidation of Metallica old and new; long songs which develop from start to finish mixed with their mid period groove combined with their latest sound. It is very impressive.

On a side note if these songs were rejected for inclusion on `Death Magnetic' I would be interested to know why. It could have gone in as liner notes to make the packaging more interesting. Not a big deal but it would have been nice.

Hate Train: The introduction sound a little bit like `All Nightmare Long' from Death Magnetic. This song has a very heavy groove to it. It has a chorus which recalls some of their previous work its got an air of Load era. The track powers to a close with some nice lead work.

Just a Bullet Away: Nice looping riff begins the build up of the song underpinned by a nice constant chug. Just over half way through the song drops out and we are introduced to a nice gentle section which shows off some fantastic slow burn lead playing. The drums build then explode and you realise how well Metallica can still develop a song.

Hell and Back: Groovy, chunky but mellow start which continues for most of the songs apart from a bit of a build and release for the chorus. Again it's a track that shows good development as we go past the halfway mark, keeping it interesting. The songs finale is very impressive as it all comes together in a slightly chaotic fashion.

Rebel of Babylon: This track rocks. Probably the best on the EP, its got a good pace and the song is constantly changing and evolving making it an interesting track which you won't get bored of in a hurry, impressive because it is eight minutes long.

The rough and ready feel (well rough and ready by Metallica standards anyway) make this EP so very exciting. It will truly be very interesting to see if Metallica can create a whole album which stands up to the standards set here. Try this for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metallica back to their best, 15 Dec. 2011
By 
M. Farley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beyond Magnetic (MP3 Download)
So after the horrors of "LuLu" Metallica are firmly back in business, this EP contains 4 tracks that for whatever reason didn't make the cut for Death Magnetic.
I think the easiest way of reviewing this is simply to say if you enjoyed DM then you will definitely enjoy this EP as the songs are very similar.

As you can see they are all reasonably long songs (do Metallica do short songs anymore?) and all the songs tend to veer off in different directions over the length of the song, personally I think these 4 tracks are better than several of the songs on DM.
They are fast, aggressive and epic, the songs bring to mind Master of Puppets era Metallica to me as the songs are more progressive than in recent years and contain quieter passages as well as more thrash like sections, in particular there is a passage in "Just a Bullet away" which brings to mind Orion.

All in all then 4 songs, (nearly 30 minutes) of Metallica kicking maximum ass for only £3.50, what are you waiting for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Look no further, 16 Nov. 2013
By 
Mr. J. Forsyth (Durham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Magnetic (Audio CD)
Was I the only one who didnt really enjoy Death Magnetic? I mean it was ok but it grew boring quickly in its out and out persistance to carry on with the same again and again and again 8 minute songs of pure monotiny. its boring.

Well this is different. Its a glimmer of hope. The sound is much the same as DM but the songs are more melodic in the simple sense they are built around riffs and hooks in harmony with the vocals, band etc. instead of just churning out bludgeoning chords.

I guess you could sum it up as easy as this:

This is a Metallica who aren't looking to find themselves. Its almost a 4 track Garage inc. except the songs are thiers. And 3 of the 4 songs are absolutely great.

And its fairly cheap too (at time of purchase).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Should have been on Death Magnetic, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Magnetic (Audio CD)
In my opinion these tracks are stronger than some of the DM tracks, they are very strong and tracks that any new band out there would be lauded for writing. Metallica will never live up to their standards set when they were writing their first 5 albums, a proper millstone if ever there was, but Death Magnetic and the Beyond EP show that when they look back to what influenced them in the beginning and you have to remember that all great Metal never ages, can still be regurgitated (almost all bands do this now)' with a new twist and sound brilliant. Hopefully the band will continue in this manner with the new album hopefully being released in 2015. Certainly these 4 tracks are stuffed full of riffs and composed together with sufficient skill from 30 years of experience, to keep many an metal head happy for half an hour at least. Would like to see these tracks live at Knebworth but have already noticed that the voters have gone for the obvious tracks from their normally predictable setlist. At least the people of Finland have had the good sense to vote in Frayed ends of Sanity, the one great track I've never heard live. Anyone fancy a night in Helsinki?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Death Magnetic B tracks, 23 May 2013
This review is from: Beyond Magnetic (Audio CD)
My title sums up my views on this album. I had become very bored with Metallica after their 'Metallica' album. Megadeth was the way forward for me. Always a shame though cos Metallica's first few albums were definitely something to behold. Still, I guess it's impossible to keep producing such world class material time and time again.

Although I very much enjoy listening to Beyond Magnetic, 'Hate Train' and 'Hell And Back' uses what I call 'stuttering guitar'/'stuttering drums'. This is especially evident every time Hetfield sings the line "Hell and back". I personally absolutely loath this technique to the point where I feel like I'm actually being taken to hell, tortured and then brought back only to be taken there again the next time the line "hell and back" is sung. This musical technique just seems so crass and completely destroys the flow of a song.

The best of these songs is worse than the worse song on Death Magnetic. Still, they're a lot better than previous albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great songs., 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Magnetic (MP3 Download)
This is a MUST buy for any fans of Metallica. Really well written and composed with fantastic lyrics and skill in the playing.
(- for more knowing Metallica fans:- Metallica's album 'Death Magnetic was recorded at very low quality, you do not have to worry about that for 'Beyond Magnetic as the recording quality is top notch)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Baffling..., 31 Jan. 2014
By 
This review is from: Beyond Magnetic (Audio CD)
...why this stuff didn't make it onto the album.

It took me a while to discover these four songs but now I can safely say that they are as good or better than the songs on Death Magnetic. Every song is fantastic and I look forward to their next album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More classic metallica in 4 tracks than load/reload/st anger combined, 25 Sept. 2012
By 
C. W. Howarth "Lalala" (manchester Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Magnetic (Audio CD)
I loved Death Magnetic in 2008 and it sits in quality ALMOST right up with the classic 4 in my opinion, let down by a couple of weak tracks. Beyond Magnetic to me blew me away as I cant believe these tracks were left off the album but I guess the 4 tracks work better together as they are a little different from the faster paced DM. The tracks on here run 29 mins and to be honest is way better than the whole of load/reload/st anger combined. There is more light and dark on BM than DM which makes me think that it may have worked if integrated into the main album in the same way as say leper messiah or harvester of sorrow did on master and justice. This ep should be considered as a main metallica release and not as Dm rejections as the riffs on this are huge and I think would work magnificiently live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why wasn't this on the main album?, 29 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Magnetic (MP3 Download)
Metallica are back! After the horrible disappointment that was Lulu this extra for the Death Magnetic album just reminds us why they are the biggest and best metal band in the world. Only four tracks on this, but they are all even longer than is typical for Metallica. The killer riffs and astonishingly fast and brilliant solos are back and the magnificent duo of Hetfield and Hammett are back and bad as ever. Every sond here could have been on any of their albums, especially the first two, which could easily have replaced a couple of tracks on Death Magnetic. My only gripe is that it doesn't seem to be available on CD. I guess everyone downloads these days, but I do like to collect CD's so my Metallica discography will be missing one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent performance, less compressed audio than Death Magnetic but songs not as good!, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Magnetic (Audio CD)
This is a good EP but not a classic, so doesn't lend itself to repeated listening like its parent album Death Magnetic (DM) does. The main reason for this being that despite the excellent performance and less 'brick-walled' sound of the tracks compared to that of DM, the songwriting just isn't as good. Main problem is that Hetfield's lyrics aren't as strong as the main album, being somewhat clumsy in places, and the arrangements of the songs lend themselves more to the longer/heavier tracks on Reload than DM itself. Good to hear, but I can see why they were left off DM in the first place. How about a Flemming Rasmussen remix of DM instead boys?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beyond Magnetic
Beyond Magnetic by Metallica (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews