Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amy hasn't got it easy ...
She sure hasn't. She freaked out at the office (because of a jobtransfer after she slept with her boss), lost her job, went for treatment, got her job back, well, she forced her employer to give her her job back, she's divorced, she miscarried, lives with her mother, is in debt (because of the treatment she got); but she's not giving up. The treatment she got turned her...
Published on 25 Feb. 2013 by boysetsfire

versus
12 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars enlightened but not delightful.
in the end i was glad the series finished- i stayed the course but it was not easy i must admit. the tv adverts leading up to the pilot episode piqued my interest , however a few episodes into the series that curiosity waned as did the storylines. a women and a man and the fall-out of a family tradegy. at times hard to watch , funny, and touching . good acting cannot...
Published on 17 Jun. 2012 by Darren Pritchard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amy hasn't got it easy ..., 25 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enlightened - Complete HBO Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
She sure hasn't. She freaked out at the office (because of a jobtransfer after she slept with her boss), lost her job, went for treatment, got her job back, well, she forced her employer to give her her job back, she's divorced, she miscarried, lives with her mother, is in debt (because of the treatment she got); but she's not giving up. The treatment she got turned her into some kind of flower sniffin' hippy who loves everybody, or at least tries to, positive thinking naive silly 40 year old.
Now this kinda thing can only succeed, be funny etc when it's played convincingly, by somebody that gets you to like her, even if she's not all that likeable/together, even neurotic. Laura Dern does all that. The rest of the neurotic cast incl. her druggy ex Luke Wilson and creepy colleague Mike White help her aceiving that.
I enjoyed this so much more than the overhyped "girls".
Looking forward to the second series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A heroine to drive you insane, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enlightened - Complete HBO Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Laura Dern is brilliant as the heroine of this series. You can understand why she infuriates everyone around her and if I were her mother (played incidentally by Laura Dern's real-life mother with astonishing equanimity) I'd have switched off from her neediness too long ago. The genius of the script is that it kept me just empathetic enough not to give up on the heroine and the series. A real balancing act carried off brilliantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greats, 26 Dec. 2013
By 
Air fan (Chesire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Enlightened - Complete HBO Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Enlightened is the best tv show i've seen in the past few years. it feels like i have post-holiday blues from seeing it. it's such an experience, a physical reaction, it has an energy, it was post-explanation, post-sense, inexplicicable, more like a touch, a feel, an emotion, post-articulation. a Season 3 would have capped this show as one of the greats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting comedy, 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enlightened - Complete HBO Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
If you like Laura Dern I would certainly recommend Enlightened. At the start of the series her character is difficult to pinpoint, and not altogether likeable, but as the series develops it does not matter so much anymore. I thought Episode 9 "Consider Helen" was a small masterpiece, dealing with her mother (Diane Ladd) rather than with Dern. Enlightened is satirical and exposes work environment and relationship hypocrisies - with Mike White (writer of "The Good Girl") at the helm you'll find awkward and weird moments, not bombastic mainstream American humour. I would have rated it 4 and a half stars if I could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-See, 26 Aug. 2013
By 
Mrs. Virginia Clement (Exeter, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enlightened - Complete HBO Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
A well-developed character study going on here, with loads of twists and turns and surprises. Love Laura Dern's acting. Can't wait for series two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved this!, 6 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Enlightened - Complete HBO Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
This series is so current and intelligent. Laura Dern is a great actor and all the actors are really good and well cast. Reccomended for intelligent 30 or 40 somethings (women especially) who feel there is more to life and like something a bit different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful hidden gem!, 19 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enlightened - Complete HBO Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I bought this box set as I remember seeing a trailer for the series before it transmitted but never managed to watch it. I didn't really know what to expect but I like Laura Dern so thought I would give it a try. I'm 3 episodes in and I had to come on to here and write this review. This series is beautiful, a hidden gem. Well written and acted, I've welled up at least once every episode so far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really enjoyed it., 26 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enlightened - Complete HBO Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Laura dern is a fantastic actress and is a pleasure to watch - i really enjoyed this series. i think anyone who has enjoyed 'the big c' or 'nurse jackie' would really love this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightened but never light, 26 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Enlightened - Complete HBO Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Laura Dern turns in a career defining performance in one of the most underrated series hbo currently produces. Funny in an at times unbearably awkward way, the series charts the very real (and at times very slow) enlightenment of a woman who is trying to make sense of the world after a huge fall from grace and subsequent breakdown much to the bafflement of everyone around her: It's key theme evolves around how one person tries to inspire change in a meaninglessly cruel world where everyone is surrounded by bodies but ultimately feels alone. It's comedy that is centred on the tragic and the obscure and is well worth baring with despite the slow and open narrative as in life no one has all the answers but enlightened more than lives up to its name. And most importantly it has the most entertaining opening of any pilot this decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 8 Jun. 2014
By 
This review is from: Enlightened - Complete HBO Season 1 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I am a big fan of this series!
I didn't know what to expect when I started watching it and ended up so enjoying it.
This brave woman - I wish there would be more of her kind. Annoying but oh so necessary. Can't wait to watch season two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Enlightened - Complete HBO Season 1 [DVD] [2013]
£7.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews