Customer Reviews


428 Reviews
5 star:
 (324)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


129 of 140 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Danes Delivers a Dynamite
'Homeland' is a psychological drama-thriller television series, which concentrates on terrorism related themes and is created by some of the makers of the hit TV feature and my favorite, '24'. The series released in 2011 to critical acclaim and won 2 Golden Globe Awards for best drama and best actress (Claire Danes). The series also won 3 Emmy Awards for best drama, best...
Published on 15 May 2012 by Mitun

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor man's 24
Despite the acclaim from all quarters, I found the first series of this follow-up from the makers of the consistently superb 24, to be a hit and miss affair. Damian Lewis and Clare Danes make excellent leads don't get me wrong, however the pace is often infuriatingly erratic, and the relationships portrayed often seem more forced than is usual - even with TV drama...
Published 10 months ago by Scaroth, Last of the Jagaroth


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

129 of 140 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Danes Delivers a Dynamite, 15 May 2012
By 
Mitun (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Homeland - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
'Homeland' is a psychological drama-thriller television series, which concentrates on terrorism related themes and is created by some of the makers of the hit TV feature and my favorite, '24'. The series released in 2011 to critical acclaim and won 2 Golden Globe Awards for best drama and best actress (Claire Danes). The series also won 3 Emmy Awards for best drama, best actor for Damien Lewis and again best actress for Danes. It is loosely based on the Israeli series, 'Hatufim' (English title: Prisoners of War) created by Gideon Raff.

The series centers around Carrie Mathison (Claire Danes), a Central Intelligence Agency Officer and Nicholas Brody (Damian Lewis), a U.S. Marine. The story shows Brody returning to the United States after being held captive by the Al-Qaeda as a prisoner of war in Iraq for 8 years. On his return, Mathison begins to investigate him as she strongly believes that he has been turned into a terrorist.

The story to me was really intriguing and it really caught onto me straight away. What really struck me was the stunning performances of the lead actors, Claire Danes and Damian Lewis, for me they make the show. The drama quotient is high and the makers really concentrate on character development, which they succeed in doing. Also the cinematography, direction and the general screenplay is pure class.

Right, my critical points, the pace never accelerates even though there was plenty of scope. The makers for me played their trump card way too early and the climax does not do justice to the whole series. What it does do, and I think that was the intention all along is to set things up for the second season. I'm all for the next season, however I expected more from the finale.

Lewis is great as the disturbed American war hero bringing in a lot of pain and intensity. Mandy Patinkin who enacts the role of Mathison's mentor, Saul Berenson, performs in a likeable manner with his amusing deadpan facial expression. I've become his fan. Now the best for the last, Miss Danes truly shines as a competent CIA Officer struggling with Bipolar disorder. The mixture of emotions she goes through during the series is portrayed with sheer brilliance. I couldn't take my eyes off, from what may turn out to be a career defining performance.

To sum it up, the show never peaks even though all 12 episodes are of a quality watch and full of intrigue. I get a feeling Homeland and crew are here for the long haul.

'Homeland' is not racy but a classy affair.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly thrilling!, 22 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homeland - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
If you enjoy Thrillers, and this has passed you by, you've just got to see it. It is brilliant, gripping, and exciting! Great acting, writing and a great production. The story is utterly captivating and really makes you think. I bought it as I was recovering from surgery on my feet. I ordered it Thursday afternoon, and by Friday lunchtime it had arrived. The plans for the weekend? To sunbathe and read with my feet up. The reality? 3 episodes on Friday night. Three on Saturday morning with a (prolonged) breakfast. Couldn't resist another episode at lunchtime. Saturday night heaven with 4 more episodes. Final episode on Sunday morning with (a much shorter) breakfast. Then I couldn't resist telling everyone about it. Honestly, it is one of the best TV series you'll ever see. And the good news? Series 2 is currently being broadcast on Channel 4.
You'll find that Homeland lives in your mind long after you've finished watching it. A truly great story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 16 Jan 2013
By 
Miss C. L. Dixon (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having started watching homelands in series 2 I wanted to see what I had missed in series 1- it didn't dissapoint it is excellent best series' on tv for a long time ....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Homeland series one, 12 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homeland - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a briliiant piece of drama which is really well acted and superbly directed, following a story line which introduces startling surprises and new layers of tension throughout. It is one of the best video drama series I have seen in the last decade, and bears watching over and over again. Moral, ethical, political and religious issues are addressed within a tightly written script and it is easy to drift (if sometimes uncritically) into this world of international conflict (sometimes played out violently,at other times diplomatically) as well as personal and institutional dilemmas. The characters struggle with loyalties to family, ideology and country and every viewer will bring their own take on the issues to the unfolding series of events. The story line leaves you wanting to know what happens next and it compels you to empathise with the main characters and really care what happens next. It doesn't take sides (unless you do) and it doesn't take prisoners
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb; keeps you guessing and on the edge of your seat, 15 Oct 2012
This review is from: Homeland - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best intelligent and subtle programmes I have seen recently. Made me watch it far more quickly than I planned to as I was so keen to see the next episode.

This deals with the complexities of human experience, especially in the modern era of 'terrorism' - it debates what is terrorism; religion; what is justified; it admits US mistakes of accidental mass murder; it looks at the cult of political power and what people will do to gain it - what is one person's pain, is another person's triumph. What it means to be a traitor or a hero.

As well as complex ideological issues which some viewers may not get, or want to get as it sometimes challenges our US/euro-centric view of the world - reading some of the low-star reviews, there are complex and subtle characters. Both Brodie (Damien Lewis - whose performances are always phenomenally complex and three dimensional) and Carrie's characters were superb - both very complicated and dealing with intelligent brokenness in different ways. It is this superb acting that keep the movie in such suspense - not being able to tell what might happen next, as real people work in very complex and sometimes contradictory ways. No one can say that the characters are simplistic - and all the characters did bring empathy and interest - including the personal sadness of Saul and his costly support of Carrie.

The balance between current and past timelines was excellent - and produced just at the right time to keep the suspense going. It was great to genuinely have no idea which way the plot was going to turn - certainly until we are given more information through-out the series. A worthy follower of 24, without quite so much gore.

Now for series two...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 16 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homeland - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
A great buy. Has been watched and watched. Once the first disc goes on you can't stop till they are all finished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A refreshingly good "spy"series with a novel approach., 26 Aug 2014
This review is from: Homeland - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is truly a very good series.Especially by american standards.Script,cast,direction,plot, they are all way above par.However ,what makes it extraordinary for a "spy series" is that the focus is not on "action and violence" but on the "in depth" analysis of the "flawed"principal "heroes".All of them have their personal demons and ailments to cope with,their personal lives are "a mess",yet they perform admirably ,out of a sense of duty and dedication to the cause they serve.It is refreshing to see that individuals in "high places" place their personal careers above all else,their "contribution"to the "task on hand" is limited, and their "morality"ranges from insignificant to non existent.On the other hand the ones of "lower stance" are those who actually get the job done, paying little or no attention to their "personal interests", always focusing on the welfare of the "many",often at their own expense.This is a very important lesson,especially for all these people who have been "trained" to think highly of the much promoted by the media "high profile" public figures.
All in all an excellent series.I only hope that it's high standads are maintained in the seasons to come.
"Post scriptum" :
I am intentionally avoiding to judge the plot on a "probability and credibility"level,precicesely because there is a lot to be said about it.I will view season 2 first-at least-,before I come to that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Birthday Present, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homeland - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Hi, bought this for my dad as he had heard alot about it.

It was delivered in very quick time and he is really pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great TV, 26 Mar 2014
By 
David Robertson "The Wee Flea" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homeland - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Love this series - as addictive as 24 and more depth and intelligence. Well filmed, acted and plotted. Money well spent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will be glued to the screen!, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Homeland - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Don't buy this if you want to have a life away from the television! It really is compulsive viewing. Excellent in every way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Homeland - Season 1 [DVD]
Homeland - Season 1 [DVD] by Damian Lewis (DVD - 2012)
10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews