Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy, Vibrant, Witty, Action Packed: A Show Demanding Notice
The fifth season already? It seems like only yesterday that the first season of this show grabbed my attention. Quite how, I don't rightly recall as, here in England, it's usually hidden away, at a ridiculous time, on one of those obscure Freeview channels.

Whatever, in the depths of winter, this series, as well as serving up some fine acting, writing,...
Published 16 months ago by R. J. Knight

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Season 5Review
This is a review of Season 5 rather than the DVD. I am a big fan of Burn Notice but unfortunately S5 is quite weak in my opinion. The introduction of the character Jesse is an unwelcome distraction and offers little to the series. I think if Michael W wanted to repair the damage, he should have planted fake evidence to take the blame away from Jesse and be done with...
Published 1 month ago by Carl Vinson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy, Vibrant, Witty, Action Packed: A Show Demanding Notice, 26 Nov 2012
By 
R. J. Knight (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Burn Notice - Season 5 [DVD] [NTSC] (DVD)
The fifth season already? It seems like only yesterday that the first season of this show grabbed my attention. Quite how, I don't rightly recall as, here in England, it's usually hidden away, at a ridiculous time, on one of those obscure Freeview channels.

Whatever, in the depths of winter, this series, as well as serving up some fine acting, writing, directing and production of stories surrounding the exploits of 'burnt' spy Michael Westen-played with naturalistic aplomb by Jeffrey Donovan alongside equally fine supporting acts by Gabrielle Anwar, Bruce Campbell, Sharon Gless and Paul Tei-delivers some welcome Miami warmth and sunshine to one's living room.

That is one thing that stands out about this show-the excellent use of real Miami locations in which the drama is set. It adds to the authenticity.

As for the drama, well, the main characters are warm,likeable, well intentioned people-which helps draw you in and feel real concern for the various predicaments they encounter...Predicaments that, it has to be said, bear more than a passing resemblance to those encountered by Jim Rockford.

Indeed, think 'The Rockford Files', crossed with 'Mission Impossible', shaken and stirred with a dash of 'James Bond', all set in modern day Miami, and you will be some way to getting what this show is about. Above all, though it delves in to a variety of, shall we say, less pleasant aspects of human behaviour, it is ultimately a positive, uplifting show where one is left in no doubt that, ultimately, right and good will prevail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No more Burn Notice on Five Star TV - DVD the only option!, 17 Aug 2013
By 
Alan J. Hardy "AlanJH" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burn Notice - Season 5 [DVD] [NTSC] (DVD)
If you've been waiting for the Five Star TV channel to show Season 5 of the great Burn Notice, apparently they won't be! Customer Services tell me they don't have the rights to Season 5 - which is a bit of a 'let down' for fans following the series on the channel since the beginning. So unless you're a subscriber to the Fox channel it seems like the only way to see Seasons 5, 6 and the last ever 7 is to buy the DVDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Season 5Review, 16 Mar 2014
This review is from: Burn Notice - Season 5 [DVD] [NTSC] (DVD)
This is a review of Season 5 rather than the DVD. I am a big fan of Burn Notice but unfortunately S5 is quite weak in my opinion. The introduction of the character Jesse is an unwelcome distraction and offers little to the series. I think if Michael W wanted to repair the damage, he should have planted fake evidence to take the blame away from Jesse and be done with it. S1 to S4 are better and worth getting. Anyways S7 is the series finale and I think it's right to end it there. Remains to be seen if they do a spin-off series about Fiona or Sam

BTW Jeffrey Donovan appears as an obnoxious city trader in the movie "Hitch". You almost expect him to do a Michael W in the restaurant scene when he tangles with Will Smith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars topstuff, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burn Notice - Season 5 [DVD] [NTSC] (DVD)
if you have watched the series this far then you will love this. The ending is a real cliff hanger so have series 6 ready or you will go mad waiting to see what happens!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Burn Notice, 2 Jan 2014
By 
Jacob Steven Huigen "Jaap" (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burn Notice - Season 5 [DVD] [NTSC] (DVD)
Burn notice became my favourite show to watch. I chanced on season 7 as a subscriber to on demand movies broadcasted by MIO TV of Singtel. I loved it so I had 6 seasons to catch so I went to Amazon (who else) and I could find all I needed there.
Delivery was a breeze. Highly recommend both the series as well as the Vendor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant as usual, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burn Notice - Season 5 [DVD] [NTSC] (DVD)
Can't get enough of this program and Jeffrey Donovan and now Coby Bell!!! Hate that I know it will all come to an end some season soon, but until then, I'm all over this action packed- spy series. Makes James Bond look like a knob!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We love Burn Notice, 8 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burn Notice - Season 5 [DVD] [NTSC] (DVD)
I couldn't decide at first if the programme was brilliant or complete rubbish. I have decided that it is brilliant! Pure escapism ... and funny too! Wonderful relationships between the characters. Can't wait for the next series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a good product, 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burn Notice - Season 5 [DVD] [NTSC] (DVD)
another item brought as a birthday present, it must be good as we have had no complaints as of yet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Starts poorly, 27 May 2013
This review is from: Burn Notice - Season 5 [DVD] [NTSC] (DVD)
Am a fan of the series, but must say that I was disappointed by the very poor episodes at the beginning of this 5th series. For the first 4 episodes, there was little humour,the plots were retreads of ones we had seen before,and the actors looked like they were just going through the motions.
But about the 5th or 6th episode,things started to get back to the level of previous series, and the last 4 episodes, were very good.
The emergence of a great villain had a terrific boost , such that a real cliffhanger ends the series 5.
Roll on 6!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best of its kind, 17 May 2013
By 
Master L. Ryan (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Burn Notice - Season 5 [DVD] [NTSC] (DVD)
Burn notice is, in general, the best show of its kind on TV. The fifth season is no exception! Going through the changing relationships between the characters, the show's format changes slightly to accomodate. And it makes it more exciting. The interweaving of the over-arching storyline and the 'client' of each individual episode makes this season one of the best yet! And, of course, we get closer to the answer of why Michael was burned. We even find out who did it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9295354)

This product

Burn Notice - Season 5 [DVD] [NTSC]
Burn Notice - Season 5 [DVD] [NTSC] by Jeffrey Donovan (DVD - 2012)
11.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews