Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you go down to the woods today......
Listening to Be Strong you know that a lot of fun was had making this album. Joe Goddard (Hot Chip) and Raf Rundell (Greco Roman Soundsystem) have produced a dance album, shot through with humour and melody. It reminds you of 90's dance tracks at times, Ian Dury at others and occasionally their day jobs. The lead single, Bear Hug, is a bit of a false signal of intent...
Published on 2 Feb 2012 by Syriat

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars two bears
maybe it was me but I bought this album on spec.disapointed to say the least.

it dident work to my musical taste. maybe a few more bears are needed ????
Published 11 months ago by G. M. Somers


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you go down to the woods today......, 2 Feb 2012
By 
Syriat - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Be Strong (Audio CD)
Listening to Be Strong you know that a lot of fun was had making this album. Joe Goddard (Hot Chip) and Raf Rundell (Greco Roman Soundsystem) have produced a dance album, shot through with humour and melody. It reminds you of 90's dance tracks at times, Ian Dury at others and occasionally their day jobs. The lead single, Bear Hug, is a bit of a false signal of intent. Whilst others play the comedic slant as well the true gems here are the straighter tracks like Be Strong (where a love of music is professed to dance beat that is almost LCD Soundsystem crossed with 90's dancefloor fillers which is works on more than one level. Work, with its electronic piano intro, female vocals and eventual breakdown into a funky workout is an absolute moment of genius for this listener. I can't quite get it out of my head. Time In Mind is like listening to Ian Dury brought back to do duties on a dancey bit of fun - its a little tongue in cheek and works well.

Some may be turned off by its jokey approach and some of the more fun tracks. However, its a very good project and will be loved by those who embrace it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great album that can..., 1 May 2012
By 
T. Wakefield (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Be Strong (Audio CD)
a) help you run long distances, b) assist your trudge to and from work and c) finally listen at home and sound beautiful. The only let down is a track that sounds like Blur and that you don't get a bear hug.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cannot believe the price!, 4 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. D. J. Tandy "DaveTandy" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Be Strong (MP3 Download)
Hot Chip meets house music and less than 4! Well worth the money I would recommend to all Hot Chip fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comfort Sounds, 17 Nov 2012
This review is from: Be Strong (Audio CD)
I was a bit sceptical at first i must admit. Having said that this is a huge grower. I was a regular clubber in the 90'e and i soon realised i found comfort in this album. It's all because of the Roland and Korg tribute which are sounds i heard week in week out back then. Maybe an album thats needs a little of time for some but the addiction is accumulative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best..., 29 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Be Strong (Audio CD)
album i've heard so far in 2012. I can listen to it all the way through, and i keep coming back to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars two bears, 5 Sep 2013
By 
G. M. Somers (cavan,ireland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Be Strong (Audio CD)
maybe it was me but I bought this album on spec.disapointed to say the least.

it dident work to my musical taste. maybe a few more bears are needed ????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Strong indeed!, 19 Mar 2012
This review is from: Be Strong (Audio CD)
Fantastic album - love these tracks....Bear Hug, Take a look around, Ghosts & zombies, Time in mind, Get Together & Be Strong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The most fun album ever made by two bears, 19 Mar 2012
By 
. Hjartnes (Bergen, NO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Be Strong [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I bought the vinyl version of this. The sound is very good, and the songs themselves are incredibly good.
Some songs are very kitchy but that's also why they are so much fun.
This album will probably be enjoyable to anyone as long as they give it a chance, even if you don't listen to electronica :).
Favorites: Be Strong, Bear Hug, Work, Ghosts & Zombies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Splendid album - highly recommended, 7 Mar 2012
By 
This review is from: Be Strong (MP3 Download)
Album is a blend of post-garage and 90s house, along with some well crafted laid back summer vibes. Genuine mix of classic and contemporary electronica
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A house music revival!, 25 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Be Strong (Audio CD)
This album is brilliant. A fusion of old school piano house and original and witty entertaining lyrics. Love it. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Be Strong
Be Strong by The 2 Bears
Buy MP3 Album4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews