Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent collection of mystery novels
I loved every single volume of Colin Dexter's series of inspector Morse mysteries. This is definitely not your average leisure time reading. You have to follow the individual stories quite closely otherwise you will not be able to work out "who did it". There are plenty of twists and turns in these novels but if you follow it all rather closely you should have no problems...
Published on 16 Oct 2009 by Thomas Koetzsch

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The genuine article?
I am not convinced that this is the genuine article. The contents contain numerous typographical errors, Morse would be most unimpressed. The pages are falling out as the binding glue seems not fit for purpose. The concept of the complete collection was exactly what I was looking for, unfortunately the product means that reality is a long way from my expectations.
Published 14 months ago by Rabbit


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent collection of mystery novels, 16 Oct 2009
By 
I loved every single volume of Colin Dexter's series of inspector Morse mysteries. This is definitely not your average leisure time reading. You have to follow the individual stories quite closely otherwise you will not be able to work out "who did it". There are plenty of twists and turns in these novels but if you follow it all rather closely you should have no problems working out who the culprit was.
Having said that I'll make an exception for "The Jewel that was ours" because I think there were simply too many plots for anyone to work out what really happened. Colin Dexter probably thought so too because he reveals everything in a great reckoning at the end of that particular novel.

Inspector Morse is a real character. Granted the chap is a serious alcoholic, womaniser and ill-tempered most of the time and perhaps these characteristics don't fit in well with today's values. However, Morse displays a rather fine mind and to be honest without him and his antics these novels would be boring. Besides, he is a stickler when it comes to wording matters correctly which adds a quality to these books which unfortunately so often is missing in today's average detective novel.

A lot of the reviewers of individual novels in the collection have compared these novels with the Inspector Morse television series. I personally don't think this comparison is valid. A television series would be aimed at a far larger audience and could presumably never be as "complicated" as the books otherwise the audience might lose it. I have watched some episodes of the TV series and I suppose they were entertaining.

But to tell you the truth I think you are better off reading the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great collection of books, will keep you busy for hours!, 21 Sep 2011
This box set contains all the full length Inspector Morse stories published between 1975 and 1999 written by Colin Dexter. In these books Inspector Morse solves a series of murders in the Oxford area helped by his partner Sergeant Lewis.

This is a great way of collecting the Inspector Morse stories and they come in a nice box to keep them in. As a fan of the television series I have also enjoyed reading all the books.

There is one Inspector Morse book missing from this box set and that is a collection of short stories called Morse's Greatest Mystery. Those wishing to have all the Inspector Morse books will have to purchase this separately.

This box set was given to me as a present because I like reading and collecting books. All the stories are great and include some interesting quotations, some you will be familiar with, others you won't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morse boxed set, 4 Nov 2011
By 
N. Irwin (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Brilliant. We had a couple of the books previously and saw this set advertised, it's nice to have the whole collection in one place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The genuine article?, 15 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Inspector Morse Collection (Paperback)
I am not convinced that this is the genuine article. The contents contain numerous typographical errors, Morse would be most unimpressed. The pages are falling out as the binding glue seems not fit for purpose. The concept of the complete collection was exactly what I was looking for, unfortunately the product means that reality is a long way from my expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Inspector Morse Collection (Paperback)
Was a gift for my Mum and she loves it. Excellent value too for so many books, very good :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Morse, 9 Feb 2012
By 
Mrs. Km Edwards (eastbourne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It will keep me out of trouble for a while reading this box set. I alway find that the books can differ from the tv series and can give a different account of the plot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection - great service, 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Inspector Morse Collection (Paperback)
Having watched most of the programmes, and being a fan of Inspector Lewis, this was a set of books I want to read and now have them.

Sue and Paul e-mailed me in advance about the product. The product arrived in great condition and well packaged. I have written to Sue and Paul to thank them for the prompt and courteous service, and I am in no doubt that should there have been a problem they would have sorted it out to my satisfaction. They even included a little had-written to confirm the latter. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of the Morse Collection, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Inspector Morse Collection (Paperback)
I was really delighted with the collection. I haven't watched the TV series so this has been all new to me. Really nicely written, and a joy to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars arived earlier than expected, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Inspector Morse Collection (Paperback)
Very pleased with this set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Inspector Morse Collection (Paperback)
Arrived quickly and great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Inspector Morse Collection
The Complete Inspector Morse Collection by Colin Dexter (Paperback - 2012)
Used & New from: £15.32
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews