Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh Mr. Porter!
After his extraordinary debut album Water you might think it would be difficult to follow that - with all the acclaim it got. But no; if anything this is even better. Although it is more of the same - but anybody who liked that debut album (which was JazzWise magazine album of the year) cannot fail to be impressed with this.

Every track sounds like an "instant...
Published on 28 Feb 2012 by Bruce

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars MUSIC FOR THE MAINSTREAM MASSES
THIS MAN IS NOT A JAZZ SINGER AND STATEING THIS IS AN INSULT TO REAL MALE JAZZ SINGERS NOTABLY MARK MURPHY.DAVE LAMBERT AND JIMMY SCOTT .LIKE MOST MUSIC MADE 2DAY IT IS RUBBISH
Published 20 days ago by CENTRAL LONDON MAN


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh Mr. Porter!, 28 Feb 2012
By 
Bruce "from Brighton" (UK - England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Be Good (Audio CD)
After his extraordinary debut album Water you might think it would be difficult to follow that - with all the acclaim it got. But no; if anything this is even better. Although it is more of the same - but anybody who liked that debut album (which was JazzWise magazine album of the year) cannot fail to be impressed with this.

Every track sounds like an "instant classic" and like it was written by somebody who has been in the music business for decades and not somebody who just appeared out of nowhere last year. So the sound palette is all-acoustic instruments again, with the Jazz influence dominating; although there are subtle elements of old school R&B, funk and soul. In fact, it is almost like Gregory Porter has taken all the best from "Black" music of the last 50 years and distilled it into a working Jazz band. 11 new tunes from Porter and a cover of a Jazz classic.

I love the sound - crystal clear and everything perfectly audible - just like a classic Blue Note album - but updated for the 21st Century. The piano dominates throughout and has an intimate conversation on the quieter tunes, then provides the impetus for the "blowing" on up-beat tunes. Some great horn solos, with Flugel sounding gorgeous on the stand-out track "On my Way to Harlem". Bass and drums are of the highest quality and provide support without ever intruding.

Of course it really is all about that voice - which just defies description. Dynamics, sustains, subtelty - no words can describe that wonderful sound. But Porter rocks out with the band and on up-tempo tunes like Nat Adderley's "Work Song" - he becomes another horn player and you can imagine this kind of tune is tremendous in a live setting!

What else can I say - you just run out of superlatives for this - you just have to hear it and I can't recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The New Voice of Jazz, 20 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Be Good (Audio CD)
After the success of his last album: Water and in particular the track 1960 What, I doubted if this follow up CD would be in the same class, however the minute I heard the track On My Way to Harlem I new that we have something special with Gregory Porter. Top notch vocals from this newly up and coming jazz legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gregory Porter's Be Good is an instant Jazz classic, 12 July 2012
By 
Amillionmiles (Hove, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Be Good (Audio CD)
I first heard Gregory Porter performing live on Jools Hollands' New Year's Eve Hootenanny and really enjoyed listening to his clear and soulful pitch-perfect vocals. I decided to purchase both of his CD's and was instantly impressed not only by the beautiful vocals and arrangements, but also by the quality of the songwriting and the lyrical content on both of them. "Be Good", his second and most recent offering, is a very classy recording with some very beautiful compositions.

The opener "Painted On Canvass" is beautifully reflective and soulful whilst retaining a strong Jazz influence. "Be Good" is a very melodic mid-tempo Jazz song with lovely thoughtful lyrics. The tempo speeds up on "On My Way To Harlem" which is a very energetic jazzy number. The suave "Real Good Hands" possesses lovely phrasing and lyrics. "The Way You Want To Live" and "When Did You Learn" are further examples of the classy and sultry mid-tempo songs which the very talented Mr Porter composes so well. The melancholic "Imitation Of Life", originally sung by Earl Grant, is interpreted splendidly. "Mother's Song" is another energetic and inspirational creation whilst "Our Love" is another lovely ballad. "Bling Bling" is much more experimental than the other tunes as it uses more improvisation, both musically and vocally. The album closes with two covers, the funky and soulful "Work Song" and the Billie Holiday classic "God Bless The Child", the latter being interpreted in a very interesting manner.

The quality of the songs on "Be Good" is truly commendable as they are so well written and interpreted. This style of laid back Jazz has been done many times before, but Gregory Porter manages to make it sound original and contemporary whilst keeping the listener thoroughly entertained and alert. This is the Jazz album I have been waiting for and I am very grateful that I discovered Mr Porter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a Great Voice, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Be Good (Audio CD)
I had seen Gregory Porter on Jools Holland and the Carole King session on the BBC and he stole the show. Thoroughly recommended !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stressless, 18 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Be Good (Audio CD)
1st saw him on Jules Holland and found his style to easy and relaxing to listen to. The album is great for stress relief and just to chill to. Recommend it to anyone who enjoys good songs and a great voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He can be bad too, 13 Feb 2012
By 
Glenn "Omaha" (Devon England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Be Good (Audio CD)
Porter's second release after the excellent debut 'Water' arcs again across the soulful to explosive jazz in a collection swelled with beautifully sung ballads to the scat blitz of his wilder moments.

Opener 'Painted On Canvas' is as tender as touch, the vocal caressing around gentle piano chords and playing lyrically with the colours of what makes us who we are. Title track 'Be Good' is playful too in its simple tune and the lyric 'she says lions are made for cages just to look at if you like/you dare not let them walk around cause they might just bite/she knows what she does as when she dances around my cage and says her name/be good, be good' - the metaphor of the lion teased and tamed in this relationship bolstered by a seductive alto sax solo by Yosuke Sato.

Third track 'On My Way To Harlem' is an upbeat homage to the influence and inspiration of Duke Ellington, Langston Hughes, and Marvin Gaye: 'I so could use some of those blues from Langston Hughes'. His supporting band plays an energetic set for this spirited track. Fourth song 'Real Good Hands' has a wonderful spoken opening that evokes soul numbers of the sixties, and the sung assurances to the parents that he will look after their daughter seem equally anachronistic but totally believable in their polite promises, including 'I wanna make your daughter my wife'.

Seventh, the Webster/Fain 'Imitation of Life', is a classic piano-led jazz ballad that presents Porter's vocal in all its simple and gentle eminence. This is followed by another sweet offering, 'Mother's Song', which is a warm and heartfelt tribute invoking traditional sensibilities of honour, trust and blessing. Ninth 'Our Love' keeps the mood mellow and romantic.

It's tenth 'Bling Bling' that launches Porter's scat attack, and as with similar vocables in 'Water' it reminds me of that other expert of vocalese, Kurt Elling. The band again empathises with some raunchy playing, Tivon Pennicott's tenor saxophone screaming its part in the conversation.

The album ends on two classics. Penultimate track Ned Adderly's 'Work Song' gets a lively workout, Pennicott and Sato again laying down some scorching sax strides. Closer is a gorgeous a cappella version of 'God Bless The Child'. This is pure and perfect. No acrobatics here, but it is truly moving with its emotive delivery.

Porter is apparently most popular in Europe but particularly here in the UK. He appeared in the 2011/12 Jools Holland 'Hootenanny' and was, for me, the most distinguished performer in a show that is getting a little tired, though Holland's 'Later' is still brilliant at introducing acts on television, as with Porter when he released 'Water'. Porter did receive a Grammy nomination for that album. Whatever the wider acknowledgements and accolades, he is without doubt a great performer and this latest release is a superb addition to his art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Guaranteed to chill and restore your soul., 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Be Good (Audio CD)
Fabulous album that arrived during a stressful time and soon had me relaxed, chilled and delighted by the sounds. Such a stunning voice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Brilliant, 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Be Good (Audio CD)
I am so hooked on this album, its on repeat in the car. Fabulous mix of Jazzy Bluesy Soul. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Album, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Be Good (Audio CD)
Without doubt a top album!!!!!
A rather talented chap who's singing & song writing are superb. Buy it, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a voice! - Gregory Porter, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Be Good (Audio CD)
I ordered the CD's 'Be Good' and 'Water' from Amazon and I have NOT been disappointed at all. I would recommend both CD's to everyone -as they are both CD's of true talent, in terms of lyrics and music compilation - they are a MUST BUY.

'Be Good' - is excellent and probably my favourite of the two CD's. The two tracks I most adore are 'Be Good' (Lion's Song) and 'Real Good Hands'. The lyrics and harmonies of the two tracks are really touching and transport me into a world of 'real singing and music,' 'extreme talent' and 'human emotion.'

You 'feel' every inch of the emotion Mr Porter is conveying. This reminds me of the time when people 'valued' each other and 'connected' to each other as 'human beings' - something Mr Porter has succeeded in doing well.

Thank you Mr Porter - I look forward to hearing and buying much more of your music and to seeing you perform in person.

Pauline W - Woodford Green
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Be Good
Be Good by Gregory Porter (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews