Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good performance and features on a budget
This is a very compact traditional shape camcorder. People with very large hands may find the controls a bit difficult to operate. The controls are very simple: at the front a manual lens cover lever; on top a zoom lever and shutter button for still pictures (no flash); on the back a record button and a record/replay slider. On the side is an auto/manual button, an image...
Published on 16 Aug. 2012 by A Moreton

versus
54 of 60 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I purchased this from Amazon full of hope that a brand new onto the market camcorder from Panasonic would meet all my requirements. Initially, I was very pleased with the product. It is very light and easy to handle. The four way controls took only a few minutes to get used to and because it is not a top of the range product it only has basic functions for everyday simple...
Published on 18 Jun. 2012 by Lemon


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

49 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good performance and features on a budget, 16 Aug. 2012
By 
A Moreton (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Panasonic V100 Full HD 1920 x 1080 Camcorder - Black (42x Intelligent Zoom, SD Card Recording, Power OIS, Face Recognition) 2.7 inch LCD (Electronics)
This is a very compact traditional shape camcorder. People with very large hands may find the controls a bit difficult to operate. The controls are very simple: at the front a manual lens cover lever; on top a zoom lever and shutter button for still pictures (no flash); on the back a record button and a record/replay slider. On the side is an auto/manual button, an image stabiliser button and a power button. On the left side of the flip-out display is a menu button, four-way controller buttons and an enter button. There is a standard tripod socket on the bottom which should work with almost any video or still camera tripod.

In iA (intelligent auto) mode the camera will set everything for you. Alternatively you can use the preset scene modes (portrait, snow, blue sky, fireworks, night time, low light, scenery, sunset, spotlight and fast action). You can also use the camera in manual mode which allows manual selection of iris, shutter, backlight compensation, intelligent contrast, white balance (presets and manual) and other settings. It has many other features such as smooth skin, tele macro, colour night view and face detection.

The zoom range is very impressive, and the lens goes wider than many other camcorders which is useful for indoor use and also gives impact to landscapes. The zoom works smoothly and the optical image stabilisation is very effective.

The stereo microphones can pick up some wind noise, but this happens on most camcorders. You can stick a strip of man-made fur (not supplied) over the microphones to reduce the wind noise.

The video is captured at 50i from a 1.3 megapixel sensor. The colour balance is slightly cool, but not excessively so. While there is not as much detail as you would find on a more expensive camcorder the results are good considering the low price of this model and the fact that it has a good lens and very good image stabilisation.

I enjoy using this camcorder, it is easy to use and produces good results, I don't think you will find anything much better for this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad., 1 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic V100 Full HD 1920 x 1080 Camcorder - Black (42x Intelligent Zoom, SD Card Recording, Power OIS, Face Recognition) 2.7 inch LCD (Electronics)
I purchased this camcorder with great anticipation. The quality is absolutely flawless. The detail that you can go into with the 42x intel zoom is incredible. Some other camcorders when they zoom tend to lose some quality however with this camcorder its absolutely perfect quality as if you were stood next to it looking at it even though your a good 60/70 metres away. Now your probably thinking that it sounds amazing why have you put a 4 star review? I put 4 stars because of the audio quality of the camera. If you are looking to record things whilst you are stood behind talking or withing a 1/2 metre radius of the camcorder then this is perfect for you.. However if you are looking to get good audio quality within a 3/5 metre radius then you are barely heard. This camcorder picks up a LOT of background noise and needs a upgraded audio microphone. I don't believe you can add another microphone onto the camcorder as an extension? However.. the visual quality 5* but the audio quality is well below par.. 3* and battery life when fully charged is of around 2/3 hours recording :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tiny wonder., 15 Jun. 2012
By 
Shopper Bob (East Grinstead, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic V100 Full HD 1920 x 1080 Camcorder - Black (42x Intelligent Zoom, SD Card Recording, Power OIS, Face Recognition) 2.7 inch LCD (Electronics)
After MUCH research,it was a toss up between this one and a Sony . I decided on this Camcorder partly because it was to replace my older Panasonic Camcorder, which had given magnificent service. This one is light, yet solid feeling, and operates extremely easily.The instructions are clear and concise, which is so important, when "playing with a new toy"!Having used it for a family BBQ, I can say that it was able to handle indoor and outdoor scenes perfectly. producing great, sharp footage. I did edit out a few dodgy clips on the camera itself, which took a while to grasp exactly what was needed, but the Menu functions used for all processes are pretty well self explanatory. I also installed the Software on my PC, and used the BBQ footage to edit out a few shots of the Decking! This was great fun to use, although once again it took me a bit of trial and error to master. The end results "burned" to a DVD, and then watched on my HD TV were outstanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 60 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 18 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic V100 Full HD 1920 x 1080 Camcorder - Black (42x Intelligent Zoom, SD Card Recording, Power OIS, Face Recognition) 2.7 inch LCD (Electronics)
I purchased this from Amazon full of hope that a brand new onto the market camcorder from Panasonic would meet all my requirements. Initially, I was very pleased with the product. It is very light and easy to handle. The four way controls took only a few minutes to get used to and because it is not a top of the range product it only has basic functions for everyday simple use. Just what I wanted.
The major issue I had was on playback. Viewing through the camcorder screen the images from one transition to the other were not smooth at all. In fact there was a consistent pronounced jump from one frame to another. This was further spoilt by the picture regularly freezing for 2-3 seconds between shots. Viewing the video back through the TV (using a mini HDMI cable) did not improve matters and made the watching experience into a farce. I also tried to transfer video onto HD Pinnacle Studio 14. This was also very poor quality with the sequencing issues carried onto the programme. If Pinnacle were asked to render the product in "make movie" mode I suspect the whole thing would have crashed.
I am now looking for a replacement.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little camera, 15 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic V100 Full HD 1920 x 1080 Camcorder - Black (42x Intelligent Zoom, SD Card Recording, Power OIS, Face Recognition) 2.7 inch LCD (Electronics)
Light, easyliy controlled and great quality imaging, what more do you want! Note needs a card before use and no cover provided - you need to order these separate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brought for a Christmas present, 11 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic V100 Full HD 1920 x 1080 Camcorder - Black (42x Intelligent Zoom, SD Card Recording, Power OIS, Face Recognition) 2.7 inch LCD (Electronics)
I brought this camcorder for a Christmas present for my daughter and her partner as they are soon to have there first child, they said so far so good, it is easy to use easy to hold, sound quality seems good from what they have already recorded ( only been in a small room though) with the case that i brought with it it is nice and small enough to carry around with them and my daughter can pop it into her handbag, they are looking forwards to many happy memories with it x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent CamCorder = Query editing, 18 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic V100 Full HD 1920 x 1080 Camcorder - Black (42x Intelligent Zoom, SD Card Recording, Power OIS, Face Recognition) 2.7 inch LCD (Electronics)
I chose this CamCorder after checking out various reviews and price comparisons. After a few days usage I found the CamCorder very easy to use..with plenty of Videoing options available. However...prospective buyers, who like me, may be considering their first HD CamCorder will have very little trouble using the Cam itself....but they should be aware that once your video is uploaded to your PC..the editing can be difficult....This CamCorder records in AVCHD format...which is very good in itself...but can be difficult to edit. The editing programme that comes with the CamCorder (HD Writer LE) is quite basic...and the uneven playback of the Video in the AVCHD format makes any involved editing (both Video and Audio) not a pleasant experience. My advice would be to convert the AVCHD format to MPEG2 format (can be done within the editing programme)..and once saved....do your involved editing in a different editing programme....Many are available that will edit MPEG2 video's. Summary...I liked the CamCorder even more..once I found out how best to edit Video's filmed on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent video quality, wind noise is a problem outdoors, included software for editing requires a high spec computer., 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic V100 Full HD 1920 x 1080 Camcorder - Black (42x Intelligent Zoom, SD Card Recording, Power OIS, Face Recognition) 2.7 inch LCD (Electronics)
I have had this camera for a couple of weeks. I am very pleased with the quality of the video indoors and out. I haven't tried out extremes such as low light or fast moving subjects. I read through the reviews before buying, and noted that some reviews described the controls are small and fiddly. Well, it is a small camera. I didn't find them particularly difficult to use. There are a bewildering number of options, but you get good results when using the auto setting. Another reviewer mentioned that it wasn't clear what class of SD card is required - The answer is class 4 or higher for SD and SDHC. Panasonic have a web page to explain some features of SDXC memory as it is relatively new, and not everything is fully compatible.

I found that wind noise was a problem when the camera is used outdoors. I have a much older JVC camcorder which I used at the same time and it didn't seem to suffer from wind noise as much.

One big problem I have - I found the enclosed editing software terrible to use, but I later found that I need a much more powerful computer - the minimum spec is an Intel Core 2 Quad 2.6GHz CPU. It is written in small print on the box, but that's no help when buying mail order. There aren't many alternative programs which can edit the AVCHD format, either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value cam., 21 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic V100 Full HD 1920 x 1080 Camcorder - Black (42x Intelligent Zoom, SD Card Recording, Power OIS, Face Recognition) 2.7 inch LCD (Electronics)
Good cam for people like me who only want videos to keep as memories and not for high quality productions. The camera suffers a bit in lower, indoor light. Other than that, it does the business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice little camcorder with a good zoom lens., 17 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic V100 Full HD 1920 x 1080 Camcorder - Black (42x Intelligent Zoom, SD Card Recording, Power OIS, Face Recognition) 2.7 inch LCD (Electronics)
I particularly wanted an HD camcorder with a good zoom lens and this is it. However, it uses a strange format for recording video and the only way I can find to edit it is to change the format into something recognisable my players and this loses picture quality making it less HD than I would have liked. This is a pity because this is otherwise a very cood camcorder. It is tiny and very light. The screen is good and unlike some other reviewers I have no problem with the sound. I haven't had much chance to experiment with it yet but I have found that the steady-cam facility is very good and the zoom is incredible. If you are thinking of buying this look into the video format issue as picture quality could be your prime reason for buying an HD camera and if you like to edit your films this camera might present you with a problem. Otherwise a great camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews