Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MGS: Rising
It's a fun game with really solid combat, though the story is a bit silly you can forgive the game because all it wants to do is cut anything it can into little pieces.

There is now a PC release but its textures are not up to scratch given the power of a modern-day computer as consoles use very old technology in computer terms. Nonetheless I would recommend...
Published 8 months ago by A. Gill

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Sword and Me
First off, this is a action game, more than that it's a highly un-realistic action game about a cyborg/ninja/samurai who can cut nearly anything in half with a sword because it can apparently vibrate so fast it's heat will near melt anything. If you're buying this game for anything outside of over the top, impossibly crazy sword combat then leave. This isn't the game you...
Published 6 months ago by Eamon


‹ Previous | 19 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not a MGS game, 26 July 2014
By 
L. W. Sandberg (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance (PS3) (Video Game)
Not a Metal gear solid game - but it tricked me into thinking it was one. Boring game with lots of "boss fights" like platform games. My son doesn't even like playing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 22 July 2014
This review is from: Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance (PS3) (Video Game)
Good game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The game was not what i expected from Metal Gear Solid(i want Snake back), 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance (PS3) (Video Game)
The delivery of the game was without delay.The price of the game was excellent.The game was disappointing because i was expecting something similar to the previous style of Metal Gear Solid.The game was not challenging enough,too short and just plain disappointing.I have played every game of Metal Gear Solid and by far this was the biggest let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Game, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance (PS3) (Video Game)
Awful game Metal gear solid is the only one I would buy This one does not do the series any justice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This is not a Metal Gear game, 25 Nov 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance (PS3) (Video Game)
Before you buy this game you should understand one important thing. This game has practically NOTHING to do with Metal Gear. I know it is set in the Metal Gear universe and it has Raiden as the main charachter. However, as a fan, I see this as more of a travesty than a positive. This game is NOT a Metal Gear game. Period! I played all Metal Gear games since the original MSX games back in the 90's, and this has nothing to do with any of those.

Now that we have this clear, let me move on to point out that this game is the definition of tedious. There is like 10 enemy types (many of which are shamelessly copied from MGS4) that you keep fighting over and over and over again. First one at a time, then two at a time, then three at a time. First in the street, then on a rooftop, then on an elevator. However, the way you fight them is always the same tedious way. There is truly nothing interesting in this gameplay. I have played almost through the entire game and will probably finish it. But I assure you that it has so far always bored me into switching off the console in disgust.

If there is one redeeming thing about this game it would be how Raiden deflects bullets with his sword while doing his "ninja run". It does look cool, I have to admit. His swordplay animation also looks impressive and you feel its power. But again, the poor way all this is related to the gameplay makes it somewhat irrelevant.

The dialogue is BAD. I almost always thought the dialogue ended but then it continue for another minute or two with some POINTLESS chatter. Whether trying to explain something technical in the game universe or motivate something emotional in the story, it often felt like the dialogue overstayed its welcome. It is probably a clumsy way of masking load times, but I would have really rather had a load screen.

The implementation of weapons (other than the swords) is so pathetic, none of the other reviewers here even bothered to mention it. It is just a joke. Again, nothing to do with Metal Gear.

If you are considering buying this game, just look at a minute of gameplay on youtube. That is pretty much all you will see the entire game repeated over and over again. If you like what you see then go ahead and buy this game. If you think that will get really old really fast then do yourself a favor and skip this game.

What a sad chapter in the history of Metal Gear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars s*** game, 23 Oct 2013
By 
alex (almere, netherlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance (PS3) (Video Game)
very beautiful game i would of loved it if it wasn't for the bs Perry system!! in other words u can't block with this game and with a hack 'n' slash game or a fighting game in general u have to have a block button!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An embaressment to the Metal Gear name, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance (PS3) (Video Game)
Coming from a big mgs fan, I was severly disappointed by this pathetic excuse for a videogame, the game is set after the events of mgs4 in which all wars were ended and Raiden clearly ceased to being a cyborg ninja, it therefore has no logical place being in the Metal Gear timeline despite apparently being canon

The gameplay is a straight rip off of ninja gaiden with a camera which appears to have adhd, constantly changing direction mid battle while off screen enemies tear you to pieces. The graphics are even worse than mgs4 despite coming out 4 years prior. You would think the battlefield would have evolved some what yet there are still plenty of recycled enemies gekkos and mg rays. Metal Gear is known for it's deeply emotional and memerable cutscenes, there's none of that here, only b movie voice acting with dialogue probably written by a 8 year old and generic cheesy action music.

The few throwbacks to mgs saga such as the scripted alert sequences and hearing Raiden's name screamed when you die only serves as a total slap in the face at the thought of this garbage title bearing any relation to the Metal Gear franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Metal gear crashes and burns, 30 Nov 2013
By 
Freedom Of Speech (London,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance (PS3) (Video Game)
Here we go again.I reviewed this game once already but due to the severe crying caused by gamers inability to deal with fact & reality it was removed , but that's not a problem I can write it again.and here I am,writing it again.this review may be deemed controversial by the die hard fanboys out there but I don't mind offending the audience.after all ,you can't make an omelette without breaking eggs,and you guessed it .it's omelette making time so here I go again with the egg breaking.metal gear is one of those games that only appeals to people with a very limited intelligence & a very distorted sense of reality which is good for the games producers as most of the country/world are severely retarded.but for cool people like me and maybe a couple of other people that's not so good because what am I supposed to do while everyone else is playing with cartoon characters running around that look like they've been drawn by a 5 year old lepper ? answer that for me game producers if you can.this game is a s I thought very poor graphically and gameplay wise.I say gameplay but that word is only used because I'm talking about a game ,there isn't actually any gameplay involved in this game .this game is tofu beefburger of the games world.and if you don't believe me try this game out for yourself if you dare.multiplayer is a big part of the gaming world for me and unfortunately this game doesn't seem to have heard of the word multiplayer.maybe it just doesn't exist in their part of the world ? I would give this game a higher svore if the game was made better but it hasn't been so my score isn't going to change any time soon.

Every game should have at least one 1 star review and this one has now,until next time .

Don't cry Hornet , its only a review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars massive con, 19 Mar 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance (PS3) (Video Game)
What a travesty this is, its a 'metal gear' game but we have no stealth or no snake? Disgraceful so 1 star is the only result of this criminal behaviour
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars why does he have heels :/, 16 Mar 2013
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance (PS3) (Video Game)
1st off, NO SNAKE so was very gutted and instead your a guy in heels .. why? .....but still tried it and it was terrable , everything about it is horrable , i love mgs but this is shocking and nothing like the others , spolied such a good game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance (PS3)
Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance (PS3) by Konami (PlayStation 3)
£10.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews