Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such Simple Depths, 17 Mar 2012
By 
Glenn "Omaha" (Devon England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Deeper in The Well (Audio CD)
This is a bucketfull of music pulled expertly from a blues and folk well. And there's no unnecessary splash as its contents are tipped out for our listening thirst - it is rather a steady and even pouring of gentle sips to sooth and satisfy.

There is an admirable simplicity in the performance and production of this latest album. Bibb's voice and guitar playing are, to keep the analogy flowing, the bucket that has dipped, filled and quenched so often before, but the familiar contents this time around are enhanced by the fluid musicianship of Jerry Douglas on dobro, the fiddle of Cedric Watson, Dirk Powell's multi-instrumental offerings, and the great harmonica playing of Grant Dermondy, which includes a sparkling Southern-song solo as a hidden track ending. Just listen to the fiddle and harmonica licks on an emotive rendition of 'Sinner Man'. Brilliant.

There is a faithful and yet fresh version of Dylan's 'The Times They Are A Changin'' which exemplifies the whole with its uncluttered arrangement of simply strummed banjo, Bibb's heartfelt vocal, and minimalist drumming. As you listen you are struck with the powerful relevance of those lyrics in today's economic and social climate, but at the same time the sad recognition that this very power did not affect the change it so hopefully asserted in its time.

Perhaps the well will always retain its dark depths no matter how often we pull such richness from that place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eric in Louisiana..., 12 Mar 2012
By 
G. E. Harrison (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Deeper in The Well (Audio CD)
Blimey, Eric seems to have a new record out every other week recently! I'm happy to report that this new one on Stony Plain Records recorded in Louisiana is really good with its mixture of old and new blues, folk and gospel. Half the songs are Bibb originals, the rest are a mixture of old traditional songs like 'Sinner man' and more modern songs by Taj Mahal ('Every wind in the River'), Harrison Kennedy ('Could Be You, Could Be Me') and even a version of Dylan's 'The Times They Are a-Changin'' Eric is joined by his old buddy harmonica player Grant Dermody and also multi-instrumentalist Dirk Powell, fiddler Cedric Watson, Jerry Douglas on Dobro and also Michael Jerome Browne and Christine Balfa.

I must admit to liking the augmented musical settings on this record rather than the mainly solo songs on his previous record and there is a nice variety here, both in the material and the backing - although for me the main attraction is always Eric's beautiful voice. My favourite track is probably the strangely affecting 'Sittin' In A Hotel Room', closely followed by 'Every wind in the River' where Eric countrifies Taj's more 'techno' version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uplifting and inspiring (as always), 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deeper in The Well (Audio CD)
Deeper in The Well Eric Bibb again gives the listener quality blues - folksy with that deep south influence. His voice is amazing and his guitar skills incredible. Every track is great but for me Sinner Man is superb. The surprise is The Times They Are A Changin sung with Eric's normal conviction and I am sure would be commended by Bob Dylan. The musicians with him are excellent especially Grant Dermody on harmonica who plays a bonus at the end. If you buy it you will love it - believe me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deeper in the Well, 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deeper In The Well (MP3 Download)
Eric Bibb at his best! Terrific range of different songs, from simple melodies to rootsy blues numbers which have a very appealing rawness to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent album, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deeper in The Well (Audio CD)
Excellent album. This album gets better each time I play it. Eric is obviously a man of deep faith which comes through in his songs but not in an intrusive way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real treat, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deeper in The Well (Audio CD)
I first heard Eric Bibb on 'The Transatlantic Sesssions' programme on BB4. I thought he was good but didn't register his name. Recently I came across him again when a live artist locally sang one of his songs and gave him a mention so I bought this album on an impulse. I love the title track so much I play it back to back in my car. It's a wonderful album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Astonishing blues singer, 8 Aug 2013
By 
Adam Saunders (Newcastle upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deeper in the Well (Audio CD)
I first heard Eric Bibb as a support act for the Transatlantic Sessions at The Sage, Gateshead. Remarkable voice and I really wanted to hear him again.

I got tickets to see him perform at The Sage in November 2013 so thought I'd download this as his most recent album.

Wow.

Seriously, wow. If you like the blues then this man is up there with the best. The song, 'Dig a little deeper in the well' is certainly one of my all-time favourite songs of all time by any artist - I must have frightened off several people on the Metro on the way to work singing along to this one. He has an uncanny knack of managing to make the blues sound upbeat and positive without losing the deep intensity of the genre.

Buy this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deeper in The Well (Audio CD)
Each time Eric Bibb releases a new collection of songs you know you're in for perfection! Same again with this one. Perfection, a real treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deeper in the well, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deeper in the Well (Audio CD)
bought as a present for my wife who likes it although no yet actually heard it myself but then sh is more of an Eric Bibb fan than I am
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deeper in The Well
Deeper in The Well by Eric Bibb (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews