Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bear's Sonic Journals Number 1 - can't wait for more!!!!!!!!
There is so much that could be said about this album - without any doubt 5 stars for anyone who loves or loved the West Coast music or lovers of Janis. However perhaps I'll let Bear describe the performance in his own words:

"I believe this album will be hailed as the definitive Big Brother live album of all time. If perhaps on some other night they gave a...
Published on 14 Mar 2012 by Cornish Deadhead

versus
16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice to have but, not the best of the live 1968 releases
As always it is nice to have another Janis Joplin/Big Brother live recording (or in this case, it is really a Big Brother with Janis show).

The previous release "Live at Winterland, 1968" has much more going for it than this recording:

- more interesting selection of songs (including an early version of "Piece of my heart")
- easier to listen to...
Published on 24 Mar 2012 by GtheK


Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bear's Sonic Journals Number 1 - can't wait for more!!!!!!!!, 14 Mar 2012
By 
Cornish Deadhead "Happy Harv" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Carousel Ballroom 1968 (Audio CD)
There is so much that could be said about this album - without any doubt 5 stars for anyone who loves or loved the West Coast music or lovers of Janis. However perhaps I'll let Bear describe the performance in his own words:

"I believe this album will be hailed as the definitive Big Brother live album of all time. If perhaps on some other night they gave a better and more energetic performance, I don't know - I wasn't lucky enough to be present at it. I was at this one, and I thought at the time it was exceptional. The important thing is these tapes survived. This is Janis at her absolute peak, and the band was rarely so "on" as they were at these shows. They were kicking ass and having a hell of a time".

The above is an extract from Bear's short essay in an excellent 28 page booklet that also includes a page comment by Sheilah Stanley and an essay by Bear's son Starfinder Stanley. There's even instructions on positioning your speakers to reproduce as close as possible the sound of the band as you would have experienced them at the Carousel - needless to say it tells you to play it loud!!

For anyone who has not in the past considered Big Brother a fully paid-up member of the SF psychedelic scene, then they should listen to this. Many of the BB favorites are featured with full-on performances!!

I note that Amazon only shows 13 tracks listed (which are from the Sunday June 23 performance), but my copy has a bonus of "Call On Me" taken from the Saturday night.

Well done to Sony for a 100% cardboard and paper packaging, it's a fold-out slip case with the CD one side and booklet the other.

As a final comment, Bear's son states that this is the first posthumous release made at the Carousel - if there's more to come, then I say bring it on!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks Bear, 21 Mar 2012
By 
Glenn "Omaha" (Devon England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Live At The Carousel Ballroom 1968 (Audio CD)
Of course, you know what you're going to get before you listen - the spine-tingling thrill that transfers like lightning from Joplin's vocals - but you are still amazed and awed by the energy and joyous commotion of this performance by Janis and her Big Brothers.

This is sublimely raw too at times. Guitars are slightly out of tune here and there; the solos occasionally naive but fuzzed to nirvana by that energy and electrification. The opening four tracks are blisteringly brash, then you come to fifth 'Summertime' where the guitars and Janis' beautifully strained voice simply soar with soul and grace. This is a tight and controlled slice of early excellence. Sixth 'Catch Me Daddy' returns us to a delightfully rougher ride.

So many of her great songs are here, and Sam Andrews provides powerful supporting and accompanying vocals, especially during 'Call On Me' [both offerings] and 'Piece of My Heart'. The whole band gets a sustained SF psychedelic work-out on eleventh track 'Coo Coo'.

'Ball and Chain' is, well, spellbinding. Just imagine having been there in '68 and hearing this [or in the unrecorded `67 Saturday afternoon Monterey set]. Mind altering - no drugs needed. When the James Curley guitar break comes in its empathetic pain is palpable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice to have but, not the best of the live 1968 releases, 24 Mar 2012
By 
GtheK (Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Live At The Carousel Ballroom 1968 (Audio CD)
As always it is nice to have another Janis Joplin/Big Brother live recording (or in this case, it is really a Big Brother with Janis show).

The previous release "Live at Winterland, 1968" has much more going for it than this recording:

- more interesting selection of songs (including an early version of "Piece of my heart")
- easier to listen to mix (rather than the awkward mono/left/right mix of this album
- better booklet that includes a copy of handwritten material by Janis
- a great cover (the new one does not really look like Janis, as good as the art is)

If you are interested in earlier live material (1966/1967) try, the previous release,"Ball and Chain" by Big Brother & The Holding Company. This is a great listen, even if parts of it are not quite as well recorded. It includes "Amazing grace", where Janis and the band deconstruct the song and give us a mix of gospel/punk/psychedelia/rock and roll. There is nothing quite like it on this new release.

I would urge you to consider buying the "Live at Winterland" or "Ball and Chain" first (called "Lost Tapes" in North America)and then PERHAPS the "Carousel" show. The "Carousel" release is certainly not the place to start if you want prime early live Joplin.

A side note, the European release of "Ball and Chain" includes two cd rom videos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Janis a true genius, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Carousel Ballroom 1968 (Audio CD)
A really excellent piece of Kit ! the summertime version is one of the best she ever did . Worthwhile implementing the sleeve notes to fully appreciate the recording
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Janis Joplin album, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Carousel Ballroom 1968 (Audio CD)
Janis's voice is one of my favourite of all in recorded history. She rocks and this album is a good example of her at her energetic and soulful best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Janis Joplin and Big Brother and The Holding Co in fine form., 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live At The Carousel Ballroom 1968 (Audio CD)
Janis Joplin and Big Brother and The Holding Co at their raw best. The sound quality could be better, but they're still electric!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live At The Carousel Ballroom 1968
Live At The Carousel Ballroom 1968 by Big Brother & The Holding Company feat. Janis Joplin (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews