Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great highlight of blues-rock music
Rory Gallagher made some of the most admirable albums in rock. He had no pretensions and no agenda of any kind other than a desire to make great music – which he did in spades. Tattoo is one of the best of a long list of great albums.
A key to the greatness of this album is that so much of it was reproduced for his following live album, including the wonderful...
Published on 17 Dec 2005 by Ed

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed
I was pleased with the service and items received. I was about to make another purchase a Canon G15 camera at £255 but when I was going to place an order the next morning, the item was then £289 I was very very disappointed.
Published 3 months ago by john Turner


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great highlight of blues-rock music, 17 Dec 2005
This review is from: Tattoo (Audio CD)
Rory Gallagher made some of the most admirable albums in rock. He had no pretensions and no agenda of any kind other than a desire to make great music – which he did in spades. Tattoo is one of the best of a long list of great albums.
A key to the greatness of this album is that so much of it was reproduced for his following live album, including the wonderful title track which, while not as good as the live version, still kicks off the album in a great way. Gallagher’s diversity as a musician can be seen in the first half of the album with the furious rocker ‘Cradle Rock’, jaunty acoustic blues ’20:20 Vision’ and jazz masterpiece ‘They Don’t Make Them Like You Anymore’ standing tall together despite being very different songs. The latter in particular showcases some wonderful piano work by Lou Martin, one of three virtuoso musicians Gallagher was fortunate enough to have in his band.
It is on the second half though that the album really takes off. ‘Livin’ Like A Trucker’ is decent if a bit forgettable, but ‘Sleep On A Clothes-line’ is a great fun boogie; ‘Admit It’ is a sharp, snappy rock song and ‘Who’s That Coming’ shows Gallagher’s astounding slide guitar. The best track though has to be the heartbreaking ‘A Million Miles Away’, one of Gallagher’s greatest masterpieces and one (rightly) held in great esteem by fans.
The only non-essential track is the country ‘Tuscon, Arizona’, which is a musical style that Gallagher was rarely at his best at; that, however, is a bonus track and not a reflection on the greatness of the album itself. In any case the other bonus track, ‘Just A Little Bit’, is a wonderful blues jam that my feet can’t stop tapping to – and neither will yours.
The consistent brilliance of this album never fails to dazzle me. I’ve heard a lot of Gallagher albums and this is my personal favourite; in fact it probably ranks in my top ten albums of all time. It is highly recommended to anyone who wants to listen to good music as much as Gallagher wanted to make it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best!, 9 Sep 2007
This review is from: Tattoo (Audio CD)
I have all Rory Gallagher's solo albums and with his former band Taste. They are all brilliant and in my opinion this one is the cream of the crop. It has absolutely everything you would expect from this superb performer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CLOSE TO RORY'S BEST, 26 May 2001
By 
DUNCAN SMITH (Perth, Western Australia.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tattoo (Audio CD)
FROM THE SUBTLE ACOUSTIC BLUES OF 20:20 VISION, TO BLISTERING , BOISTEROUS , QUINTISSENTIAL GALLAGHER TRADEMARK TRACKS LIKE " SLEEP ON A CLOTHES LINE " & "LIVIN' LIKE A TRUCKER " THIS RANKS ALONGSIDE THE IRISHMAN'S FINEST. HE HARKS BACK TO HIS JAZZ INFLECTED, TASTE DAYS WITH THE SUPERB " THEY DON'T MAKE THEM LIKE YOU ANYMORE" ,CERTAINLY FOR ME THE ALBUM'S HIGHLIGHT. HAVING BEEN PRIVELEGED TO THE SIGHT ,AND AURAL DELIGHT ,OF RORY IN CONCERT ON 2
OCCASIONS (ALBEIT MANY MOONS AGO ) THIS STILL STANDS AS ONE OF HIS FINEST RECORDED ACHIEVEMENTS. IF YOU ENJOY BLUES WITH GRIT,POWER AND A HINT OF UNFORMULAIC REFINEMENT THEN PURCHASE THIS POSTE HASTE. THE MAN IS A LEGEND , AND HIS MEMORY WILL LINGER LONGER THAN ANY OTHER GALLAGHER CURRENTLY ATTEMPTING TO CLIMB ANY SORT OF MUSICAL EVEREST. IN A LEAGUE OF HIS OWN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album from the Man, 20 Oct 2010
By 
Mike Davey (St Georges, Telford) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tattoo (Audio CD)
I bought this record when it was first released and it has always been one of my favourite Rory albums. There is such a variety of styles, all of which he was a master of. The lyrics and singing - and the band are all superb. I recently bought it on CD and it is still one of my favourites. Just can't stop playing it! Don't go for the compilations - get this and Deuce and soak up the sheer energy of the Man. Thank God he didn't go down the middle of the road (Eric!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars that's ok !!!, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tattoo (Audio CD)
rory is allway's good on guitar thank you for your record i'm happy to listen it it's a good album and a serious sent !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars mp3 download, 7 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tattoo (MP3 Download)
Ok. So it's an MP3 download and it's Rory Gallagher. If you like 1st class blues based rock then listen to Rory Gallagher. It's as simple as that. Only 4 stars because it's a pity the bit rate isn't higher. We don't all want to listen on our ipods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Strongly pushing 5 star's, 14 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tattoo (Audio CD)
I have only recently come across Rory Gallagher so must confess not to know as much about him as other reviewers, however having listened to the album 3 or 4 times I have been extremely impressed.

I am a big fan of guitar based music, especially when its foundations are clearly in the blues, and Rory really knows how to play. I can't point out stand out songs because the whole standard is so high. I'm not as keen on Tuscon, Arizona but that is more to style of song as opposed to quality of the playing.

If you too like blues based, quality guitar play then I would strongly recommend this album. I have already bought another of his albums and also an album by Taste who he used to play with and I will be adding more to my collection.

In truth 4 and a half stars but I think with more plays will end up a 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fine Man, Great Album, 10 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tattoo (Audio CD)
Another one of those seemingly lost albums from the 1970s which demonstrates the versatility and depth of Rory's talent. Why this man isn't rated more highly will remain a secret. From Tattoo'd Lady right through to the second bonus track, Just A Little Bit, there's a light which shines through the music. This must have been one of Rory's own favourite albums, judging by the number of tracks which he played live throughout the 1970s and 80s. If you have other albums by Rory this is one which you really should consider.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Irelands No 1!, 12 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tattoo (Audio CD)
As good as i expected from Rory
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars bring back this type of music, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tattoo (Audio CD)
perhaps britains best ever guitarist - way ahead eg of claspton - we have here a collection of varied songs by a master. Tatooed Lady and A Million Miles Away are the best, and to be honest there are some plodding blues tracks, and his singing is just adequate, but the guitar playing is never less the brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tattoo
Tattoo by Rory Gallagher
Buy MP3 Album£5.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews