Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great
This macro flash is adequate for a beginners foray into macro photography. The LED's are a little on the bright side even on the lowest setting, however ideal for my purpose (dental photography).
Published on 15 Mar 2012 by kunal

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish!
The build quality is cheap and nasty, even compared to ring lights HALF the price... I sent it back very disappointed.

For only 32 buy the SainSonic LOOPER SS-C60L LED Macro Flash Light, which has a metal shoe rather than plastic, the door to the battery compartment doesn't feel like it's going to snap, it has more LEDs and a better design to attach to the...
Published 8 months ago by Mr C I C Knibbs


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not great, 15 Mar 2012
This macro flash is adequate for a beginners foray into macro photography. The LED's are a little on the bright side even on the lowest setting, however ideal for my purpose (dental photography).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Polaroid Ring Flash, 4 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a useful bit of kit especially when used in conjunction with a light tent. I use it to photograph small objects such as jewellery etc for insurance purposes. Cheap enough for occasional use. I also use the light-ring (light only), without flash, to copy documents and referece papers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Polaroid Macro LED Ring Flash, 31 Mar 2012
By 
J. Davies (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polaroid Macro LED Ring Flash & Light For Canon SLR Cameras (Will Fit 52,55,58,62,67,72,77mm Lenses) (Electronics)
I purchased this through Amazon for use on my new Canon EOS 600D for macro photography. It arrived this morning very promptly and adequately packaged from Smart Shop UK. The kit includes a comprehensive number of adapter rings, and the LED flash ring unit was quickly and easily fitted to the camera lens with the control unit sliding into the hot shoe without difficulty. The flash has three switchable settings and can be set to full, left, or right - and the flash ring unit can easily be rotated in its mount to give downward (or upward) direction to suit the subject. On the 600D there are some idiosyncrasies: the flash will not, for some reason, fire while in Live View mode. However, it fires readily and synchronously when L/V is switched off. For static subjects with the camera on a tripod this will present no problem as the shot can be composed in L/V and then quickly switched over for the shot. The camera's menu screen seems to recognise that an external flash is connected, but maintains it is switched off when it is on! Just ignore this. It must be said that my first test shots using flash were somewhat overexposed, even when intensity was turned to the lowest setting - the light intensity can be adjusted through three settings up or down to + or - 1.5. I currently feel that the correct setup of lens, mode, distance and flash setting for macro subjects will soon be discovered with a little more experimentation. The unit can be switched so that ring light is constantly on. This works well and allows the camera's auto functions to set for the correct exposure, and gave good results in test. I have not used Canon's own ring flash and no doubt that would be much superior - but at around 390 against 31.99 + P&P one would expect it to be! As for the Polaroid product, it is well made for the price, represents very good value, and I believe it will prove a very useful addition to my kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great value!, 6 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great Macro LED Ring Flash for the money. It will never be as good as a true ringflash but it works well and I am pleased with the results.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking forward to the spring, 11 Jan 2013
By 
A. Corcoran "4Pak" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this with a view to better weather and some outdoor macro photography. This is a great tool, easy to fit to different lenses, good range of control options. Experiments so far (indoors) have produced some nice results. Roll on better weather!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars value for money, 11 Aug 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Polaroid Macro LED Ring Flash & Light For Canon SLR Cameras (Will Fit 52,55,58,62,67,72,77mm Lenses) (Electronics)
I purchased this to have a trial for my macro work with the intent to buy a better one if I used it , now I am going to keep on using it as it works great and was very reasonable
great value for its performance and price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful with continuous light output., 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wish it had selection of left and right output on continuos output not just on flash.
Otherwise very pleased with item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A BUDGET NON-FLASH RING LIGHT, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It does what it says on the box. Great for close-up portraits and shadow-free macro shots. Fits in the kit bag, easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars polaroid ring flash, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
superb piece of kit works brilliantly for macro work using either the led stay-on lights or the flash, the ability to change the output of the flash or led`s is a bonus, & the ability to use it it on all lenses because of the adapter rings.
not only have I tried it on macro photography but I have also found it to be superb for portraits once you get the settings right.
I would certainly recommend the product for cost & usability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish!, 17 Aug 2013
The build quality is cheap and nasty, even compared to ring lights HALF the price... I sent it back very disappointed.

For only 32 buy the SainSonic LOOPER SS-C60L LED Macro Flash Light, which has a metal shoe rather than plastic, the door to the battery compartment doesn't feel like it's going to snap, it has more LEDs and a better design to attach to the lens. The SainSonic is a far superior product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaaff9d5c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews