Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Time for the World to sit up and take notice of Gazpacho, 13 Mar 2012
By 
Ms. Andrea E. Winney "neal_brown" (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: March Of Ghosts (Audio CD)
Following the 2011 release Missa Atropos, there were some (not me) that felt Gazpacho's obsession of creating a peice of music that is on par with their masterpiece, Night, had gone too far. March of Ghosts will reward these people 100-fold.

Whilst I agree that Missa Atropos was a dark, multi-layed piece that required many listens to fully reveal the true brilliance created, March of Ghosts is nowhere near as dark, and not as intensly multi-layed. Don't be deceived into thinking it is any less stunning though!

The intrumentation used is new in some places, but played everything is played beautifully and to perfection. When I first put this album on my player I recognised this could only be Gazpacho, and when I arrived at Hell Freezes Over Part 2, I reached my first "WOW" moment.

But the big "WOW" moment arrived after a week of listening to this piece of work!

Gazpacho are masters at the multi-layered sound. Sound that is not obvious at first, but slowly releases itself to you. On first listen, Hell Freezes Over (Parts I, II and IV), and Black Lily, all deliver their charms quickly, but over time the tracks you felt had not initially grabbed you, start to deliver their "WOW" factor.

In March Of Ghosts there are more than one of these moments. What Do I Do?, Golem and THe Dumb suddenly unleash there hidden layers and will have a huge impact on you.

Gazpacho defy a genre and this is one of their charms. If you have the patience love of music enough to seek out music other than what you hear on the radio, there is no doubt Gazpacho provide a more than adequate return on this investment.

There are many musical styles in the World, and whilst it is not possible to be in touch with all, I do believe it is time the World experienced Gazpacho. If it did, March of Ghosts is a very good place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Stunning, 26 April 2012
This review is from: March Of Ghosts (Audio CD)
Having come across Gazpacho a few times on Amazon. I always said to myself I must have a listen to them at some point. But with so much high quality music round from the like of Riverside, Porcupine Tree, Sylvan, Anathema and Pineapple Thief to name but a few. I just never got round to it.

When I saw they had a new album coming I decided now was the time.

All I can say is I was stupid to wait for so long. This album is incredible. It is a delight to listen to. Thoughtful, melodic, full of different moods and shades. It reveals more and more with each play-through.

I cannot recommend this album highly enough to all who enjoy the music of the afore mentioned bands.

I will certainly be checking out their earlier work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars March of Ghosts, 19 Mar 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: March Of Ghosts (Audio CD)
An album based on the tales of a series of ghosts is exactly the type of concept most Gazpacho fans would have hoped for and I couldn't wait for March of Ghosts to arrive. It's another album bubbling with ideas. On initial listen the first two tracks may seem a bit obvious: an atmospheric instrumental leading into a steady, repetitive 4/4 beat. However, what follows opens the album out beautifully to all those deep, deep Gazpacho melodies that they are so adept at. If you found previous album "Missa Atropos" too dark, there is little danger of that here. The songs are sad in places yet often surprisingly uplifting in others. Tragedy just isn't allowed to take hold. It's the kind of music where you can feel tears of joy pushing behind your eyes and that's very rare and precious.

Kscope have done their usual excellent job of making you feel like you've bought something substantial, with a hard backed digibook of atmospheric photo art and lyrics. This should be the standard for all CD packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Program art rock delight, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: March Of Ghosts (Audio CD)
Gazpacho have been steadily building an exemplary catalogue of brilliant arty prog rock albums and this one is their best so far. Brooding and beautiful, powerful and delicate. This album needs a dark room and maximum volume. Then you are off on an otherworldly journey to the dark side!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars March of Ghosts, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: March Of Ghosts (Audio CD)
I've only listened to this a few times but it it already starting to grow on me in the way that Gazpacho albums always seem to.

One thing to bear in mind for collectors - the pictured CD on amazon looks a lot like a digipak but the CD that I received was just in a standard plastic case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MOODY AND HAUNTING, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: March Of Ghosts (Audio CD)
Picked up this throught spotify but just had to get it on cd to play in thecar. Great voice great sound in my top 5 list for this year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 13 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: March Of Ghosts (Audio CD)
I cannot imagine why I have only recently discovered these guys, they are phenomenal. For an old program rocker it takes me back to the golden age, whilst still being up in the current age. Given it a go you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars not to be missed, 14 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: March Of Ghosts (Audio CD)
This is excellent music. As with the other albums from this band one listen is not enough to experience the full complexities of the songs and how rewarding the album is as a whole. Talented musicians , a great theme (but not conceptual) and great songs which draw you and hold your attention to conclusion - what more can you ask for? If you are new to this band then this album is a great place to start. Gazpacho exudes sophistication in their own style - the band seems prepared to push the boundaries beyond the limits and formulas adopted by some of their contemporaries. For certain after listening to this you will want more and the Live in London double CD would be a good overall rectrospective to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Kscope gem, 15 April 2012
By 
A. J. Pearson "bomber" (Kettering, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: March Of Ghosts (Audio CD)
Having not that long ago discovered Porcupine Tree , I have more recently been checking out other bands on the Kscope label. Already been impressed with the likes of Anathema, Blackfield and No-Man, I can now add Gazpacho to the list.

Really like this latest release of theirs ( the first CD I have purchased of theirs ).

Lots of good stuff and enough variety of sounds and instruments to keep it an interesting listen.

Well worth checking out in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gazpacho it's something special, 8 Jun 2012
This review is from: March Of Ghosts (Audio CD)
Again a great album of the prog rockers from norway.was missa atropos dark,symphonic,march of ghosts is lighter even though the lyrics are sad the melodies are beautiful and strong sometimes it's going deeper but not for long the fantastic violin play by kromer give it a extra dimension.march of ghosts is a good,strong,little bit sad concept album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

March Of Ghosts
March Of Ghosts by Gazpacho (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews