Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

  • LOGAN
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle EditionChange
Price:£1.16
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 July 2012
Introduced to the author via Billys Run - so had high expectations. Forewarned that the format here is different ie written from the main character perspective, but it is still unexpected for him to have frequent asides to the reader about facets of his personality / behaviour. After reading numerous detective novels: it was not offputting to have the stereotyped 'hero' down
on his luck with a history of broken relationships. The change here is that -albeit reluctantly- he's doing summit to rectify
the situation. However herein lies my problem - as despite dismissing reviews of other FICTION which call for the content to
be accurate to the nth degree - there are several holes in this plot. The two main ones are:-
a) artistic licence is used to maintain suspense until nearer the end of this short novel by the need to accept an experienced
/ thoughtful detective would not ask obvious questions much sooner:
b) his fuzzy thinking/behaviour could have been explained by more appreciation of just how difficult it is in 'reality' for someone to withdraw from addiction to a cocktail of alcohol and prescribed painkillers.
The other observation is that the proof-reading was slapdash on occasion - & repeated use of the murderers surname to mean best(hope this is not a Glas.gow idiom!!) is a spoiler. Conversely the plot is well paced with believable characters - and if you like your novels to have a happy-ever-after ending then this is a definite for you. pl.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
I love George Donald books, he is an amazing author. The stories are very well written with likeable, and not so likeable characters. They would make a great tv series.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2015
As with all of the other George Donald books that I have read, I found this to be enjoyable. Unusually for this author, it is written in the first person. There have been some criticisms of Mr Donald's books for obviously not having been proof read, & there are some grammatical errors. For that reason, I would not five this book five stars, but it is nevertheless a good read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2013
Although written a wee bit differently from previous George Donald books I enjoyed it just as much. He always keeps me wanting to read a bit more. In this book he mentions Smooth Radio and his favourite presenters John and Sharon. I let them know about it and they bought the book and read a bit out on the radio. So hopefully they might enjoy it too. Keep up the good work.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
This was a very easy book to read and an enjoyable trip down memory lane as George Donald unravelled his plot in an exciting and
catching way. His characters were believable and the light hearted moments tended to give us an insight into the souls of our
players as events unfolded. A very good novel and I recommend this and other reads by this author.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
a great book , the star of the book , Logan is so real and likeable that you really want him to succeed but your always feel that he really wont
the book is gritty and keeps you turning the pages. a real old fashioned gritty gumshoe private eye book

it left me hoping that the author writes more with the same character
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
Good plot - good characters - highly recommended. Unlike many books of this type, Logan has kept me engaged from start to finish. Must look out for more from George Donald
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
The book was an enjoyable read without having any extra features which would make it a classic or a memorable book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
top writer he always keeps me engrossed in his books and i always give him top marks keep up the good work
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
good story....well written.
this author has had a bit of experience in life
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.