Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No kitchen complete without one
I love a good tagine, but this thing will do so much more than that. Stews, curries - anything that benefits from long slow cooking it will do to perfection. Marvellous for busy people too because a meal can be put together when it is convenient, maybe in the early morning, and eaten much later at a time that can be pretty variable. This is actually the third that I have...
Published 19 months ago by Gwilym ap Gwilym

versus
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Instructions useless, product disappointing
Beware: the Instruction Booklet that comes with this product is useless and the Recipe Book caused me to ruin the tagine.

The Instruction Booklet has 23+ statements of the self-obvious (e.g. assemble before use and put on a stable surface), but gives no help about the heating control. There is a minimum and a maximum, but there is no guidance as to what is...
Published 17 months ago by Old Forge


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Instructions useless, product disappointing, 21 Jan 2013
By 
Old Forge (Newtownards NI) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swan Come Dine With Me Tagine (Kitchen & Home)
Beware: the Instruction Booklet that comes with this product is useless and the Recipe Book caused me to ruin the tagine.

The Instruction Booklet has 23+ statements of the self-obvious (e.g. assemble before use and put on a stable surface), but gives no help about the heating control. There is a minimum and a maximum, but there is no guidance as to what is appropriate for different recipes or cooking styles.

This might not matter so much if the Recipe Book were better.
The recipe for Moroccan Lamb and Apricot Tagine with couscous states 'Preheat the Tagine'. As there is no guide I had to guess where to set the dial. I settled for half way. As I was browning my meat (separately, as instructed) there was a terrible cracking sound. Tagine wrecked with major split pretty well across the middle.

I have tried to call Swan's helpline three times but had to give up after some minutes still deep in an 'n' calls before you queue. I decided to try an e-mail, but there is no viable Contact Us facility.

So I have resorted to leaving this dire warning to any others contemplating purchase. It is a shame because the couple of dishes I have cooked with this Christmas present were quite successful. Clearly on those occasions I was luckier at the 'guess a temperature' game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No kitchen complete without one, 30 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swan Come Dine With Me Tagine (Kitchen & Home)
I love a good tagine, but this thing will do so much more than that. Stews, curries - anything that benefits from long slow cooking it will do to perfection. Marvellous for busy people too because a meal can be put together when it is convenient, maybe in the early morning, and eaten much later at a time that can be pretty variable. This is actually the third that I have bought. The first was for me and the others as gifts to friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Didn't work -- at first, 1 Mar 2013
This review is from: Swan Come Dine With Me Tagine (Kitchen & Home)
I had high hopes as my favourite Slow Cooker is a Swan model
that I've used for about 25 years with excellent results.
After preparing the food I plugged in the new Tagine, there
was a very unpleasant burning smell, it heated up. After about an
hour the indicator lights went out, the Tagine got cold and that was that.
After checking the plug fuse (which was hard to do, the screws are not
normal), me being me I had to open the body of the Tagine (thus voiding the warranty),
there's not much inside. It seems the main ring element simply burnt out after about
an hours use.
The food I put in the vintage Slow cooker and it was delicious.

Update : with a little further investigation the ring element hadn't
burnt out -- there's a "one-shot" thermal fuse attached to the base &
this had blown -- I probably didn't help by removing the tagine from
the base during cooking (to add extra ingredients).
After opening it I'm impressed with the quality of the design, materials
& assembly. A quick trip to Maplins for the correct replacement fuse and
it was back working in a few minutes. I then cooked a very nice meal with it.
Now I'm confident of getting years of use out of it.
The booklet should mention the Thermal fuse safety feature & not to remove
the tagine from the base.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Had to return faulty item, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swan Come Dine With Me Tagine (Kitchen & Home)
So far have been less than impressed having bought two of these as gifts for my daughters. Firstly they arrived late, so one immediately went back as my daughter had bought another. The second one was faulty when first used - smoke and fumes filled the room. One month later, Swan are now in the process of replacing it so we'll see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's great!, 23 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swan Come Dine With Me Tagine (Kitchen & Home)
I already have the Tefal Tajine but it's very big so wanted a smaller one and this fits the bill. Perfect for 2 to 4 people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars tantalising your taste buds, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swan Come Dine With Me Tagine (Kitchen & Home)
l bought this as a wedding present for my nephew and his lovely future bride. They absolutely love it and are now into Moroccan cuisine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the Tagine, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swan Come Dine With Me Tagine (Kitchen & Home)
Had a good review in the D Mail 5 out of 5.Looks like a proper Tagine and easy to use,reccomend to anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Swan Come Dine With Me Tagine, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swan Come Dine With Me Tagine (Kitchen & Home)
used it every day since buying it,food tastes better cooked slowly ,easey to clean ,keeps food warm does not dry out ,and its a tangine so can go stright to the table because its a serving dish as well, not like a normal slow cooker,less washing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Used twice, excellent results., 16 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swan Come Dine With Me Tagine (Kitchen & Home)
Very good, just what I wanted. However, the instructions are not instructions, but safety warnings ! Bit of a lottery trying to find an optimum setting. Only Max and Min labelled. You just have to move the dial in between these settings to obtain other settings, but no indications as to what they might be !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great tagine, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Swan Come Dine With Me Tagine (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this as a gift for my brother and sister in law for Christmas . They are really pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Swan Come Dine With Me Tagine
37.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews