Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excelent Printer, Poor Pricing Policy
This printer does everything you ask of it and it does it well, The only problem is the toner Cartridge's. The printer comes with "introductory" toner Cartridge's that hold a lot less than standard ones and a full set of standard ones will cost more than the printer.

This is purely a marketing ploy as they expect to make their money on replacement toner at what...
Published 21 months ago by J. Walker

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great quality, not very fast, fake low toner panic
Print quality is superb even on pretty cheap copying paper, but if you run off 50 copies of something, you'll be drinking a lot of coffee, so if high speed is important, a different HP printer may be best.

My first use of the fold-out special tray was for OHP transparencies and these printed beautifully.

It has the usual exaggeration about how soon...
Published 14 months ago by Peter Biddlecombe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excelent Printer, Poor Pricing Policy, 7 Oct. 2013
By 
J. Walker (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HP CE957A M451dn LaserJet Pro 4000 Color Printer (Accessory)
This printer does everything you ask of it and it does it well, The only problem is the toner Cartridge's. The printer comes with "introductory" toner Cartridge's that hold a lot less than standard ones and a full set of standard ones will cost more than the printer.

This is purely a marketing ploy as they expect to make their money on replacement toner at what I think is an inflated price. I would like to know the difference in manufacturing costs between introductory and standard toner, I would bet it isn't much.

That said a lot of manufacturers do the same and the one thing that this printer does that many others don't is it will carry on printing until the toner is empty not when the little chip that they have fitted THINKS it is empty.

As for the printer it is easy to set up has network and USB compatibility and you can print to it from mobile devices using HP eprint. Had mine seven months now and the black has just about run out (Well the chip thinks it has but it is still printing) and I have not had one single paper jam using plain & glossy paper as well as card and envelopes.

Overall a very good printer.

PS. note the introductory toners are not just standard cartridge's filled with less toner they physically have less capacity.

***Update***
It is now December 2013 and although the toner is showing empty and keeps reminding me every 50 pages it is still going strong, I must have printed over 200+ pages since the "Chip" told me the black was empty.

but other than that not had any problems and has handled everything I have thrown at it with no problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just works!, 28 Dec. 2013
By 
I. Adamson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HP CE957A M451dn LaserJet Pro 4000 Color Printer (Accessory)
I bought this printer to replace an ageing Epson inkjet - much more expensive of course, but I hoped for better, more trouble-free use. It hasn't disappointed.

Setting up was trivially easy and the printer connected straightaway to PCs and IPads both Ethernet and wirelessly without any fuss. The Airprinting from the iPads was refreshingly simple. I chose a fixed IP address for convenience as I have a Linux setup too and the printer has never hiccuped in connectivity since I installed it.

Print quality is very good. On-line reviews like to quibble about clarity of vanishingly small print but I can tell you that even on 6-point, black and white text is very sharp. Colour printing is similarly clear and well aligned. Photographs on glossy paper don't measure up to inkjet quality for richness of colour but even on plain paper they are surprisingly good, much better than the washy-washy efforts of early colour lasers. I have added a stick of memory to the maximum (non-HP and cheap works just fine) so can't comment on how the basic setup copes with complex printing - mine has never had a memory issue.

Printing speed is fairly quick. It's a bit irritating if you are only printing a single sheet to wait while things swing into action, and slower still when it insists on rewinding a page even when it's only printed on one side, but once it is into its stride the prints fairly flow. I haven't timed it, but see no need to doubt HP's figures - certainly beats ink-jets. Nice and quiet too. I never switch off since standby is silent aside from the occasional calibration shuffle and stand-by consumption is negligible, so if a quick print from an IPad is wanted it's usually ready by the time I've walked to the study.

Ink cartridges from HP are eye-wateringly expensive, but I have always used cheaper compatibles without any problems at all - even if you strike unlucky once in a while the savings are incomparable and the quality indistinguishable. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Far an Excellent Printer, 21 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HP CE957A M451dn LaserJet Pro 4000 Color Printer (Accessory)
Had a relatively large colour document run to make and my inkjet (HP Envy100) managed about one copy at best quality in 20 mins plus jamming once in a while on multiple runs. With 54 reports (6 reports 9 copies) and about 1500 sides to print, not really an option. Naturally a copy shop would be quicker but I needed to check all before sending and the timescales were tight. Set up, including un-boxing about half an hour (much quicker and easier than my default HP2025dn which had driver issues and took a while to set up for duplexing). It doesn't say explicitly in the instructions set up either direct (USB) or network via wired network,but no doubt there are problems if you try to do both! I went for network. Speed and print quality are excellent and duplexing easy to set up. Its now printed about 1500 sheets so time to order some new cartridges. Prices about par (relatively good on Amazon), seems slightly cheaper to buy them (the four) individually. Size wise, it would be a bit big for most desks but it's not excessive. If it gives as good service and is as reliable as the 2025 (still in use) i will be well pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid well built work horse colour printer, 7 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HP CE957A M451dn LaserJet Pro 4000 Color Printer (Accessory)
It does what it says on the pack, it was easy to install as both a local and networked printer. Colour and black and white documents are crisp and fresh. The control panel display menu is easy to follow with options clearly identified. A solid workgroup printer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice and quick, great colour photos, shame it doesn't have a wireless networking card, 1 Jan. 2015
By 
M. Crossley (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HP CE957A M451dn LaserJet Pro 4000 Color Printer (Accessory)
Bought to replace an aging Samsung CLP-510 colour laser that had started producing unusably streaky output (fair enough after nearly 9 years service).

Easy to set up, although I'd recommend configuring the installation process to omit all the usual undesired 'extra value' dross (no, I don't want to change my browser search bar thanks). Slightly surprised it didn't have a wireless network card, so I put it on a wired connection into my home hub, with a fixed IP. The installer successfully 'found' the printer but I had to tweak my wireless gateway slightly before I could actually print to it: the key was to enable 'uPnP' and 'multimedia streams'.

Up and running the printer is pleasingly quick and precise, but what's really impressed me is the results with colour photos. WOW. Things have clearly moved on a lot since I bought the Samsung so many years ago :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unbeleivable value..., 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HP CE957A M451dn LaserJet Pro 4000 Color Printer (Accessory)
It always amazes me how cheap these printers are now - when you look what's inside and the quality of what they produce... so it has to be paid for somehow and that's the trick - one set of consumables is virtually the price of the printer if you go original.... but then at that price you can risk 1/2 decent compatible toner cartridges and if the worst happens due to a dodgy batch of toner you've probably had a few good years at a fair price!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product!!, 30 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HP CE957A M451dn LaserJet Pro 4000 Color Printer (Accessory)
I am really pleased with this printer. It is exactly as described and is very fast for a printer this size and in this range. The colours are vibrant and perfectly acceptable for a laser printer and black text is sharp and bold. The automatic double-sided printing is really useful, and the actual print driver and options are very easy to navigate on whichever application you are using.

I have used powerline adapters in this setup so that I could have the printer networked but not next to the router. This works perfectly and it is so simple to send something to print from another room knowing that it will have printed by the time you get to the printer.

I haven't tried printing on other media yet (ie card/photo paper), though I have printed on a sheet of labels and this worked absolutely fine.

Overall this printer has definitely been a worth-while purchase for me. As I already knew though having read others' reviews before buying it, the toners are very expensive, so it is likely I will just buy compatibles for less that half the price. These should hopefully do the job just as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great quality, not very fast, fake low toner panic, 7 May 2014
By 
Peter Biddlecombe "peterbiddlecombe" (Bucks, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HP CE957A M451dn LaserJet Pro 4000 Color Printer (Accessory)
Print quality is superb even on pretty cheap copying paper, but if you run off 50 copies of something, you'll be drinking a lot of coffee, so if high speed is important, a different HP printer may be best.

My first use of the fold-out special tray was for OHP transparencies and these printed beautifully.

It has the usual exaggeration about how soon your toner will run out - I've now deducted a star for this aspect. Here's the timeline: 28 Feb: printer delivered with usual low-volume starter toner cartridge. 30 April: first low toner warnings about black cartridge (implying that it would run out in the next fortnight or so). 25 June: first noticeable loss of print quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A laser printer for home use, 15 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HP CE957A M451dn LaserJet Pro 4000 Color Printer (Accessory)
I've used HP printers for years at work. Not the cheapest but you get what you pay for. The printer is 20+ Kg so make sure you sit it on a proper office table and not one used for playing cards on or for camping. Replacing the cartridges will be a bit of a cough but from experience its better to put in the genuine cartridges. I've tried the cloned ones and they leak or only last 2/3 as long. I think if you are disciplined on what you print off instead of just printing everything then printing costs are acceptable. (Just look in the workplace)how much paper is recycled every day and ask yourself if you wre paying for the printer ink would you think twice before pressing "print"?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great printer, excellent quality printing., 21 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: HP CE957A M451dn LaserJet Pro 4000 Color Printer (Accessory)
A great printer with excellent quality printing, however, you need to bear in mind that if you intend to use HP original toner when the originals run out it will cost you more than the original printer for the set of four.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews