Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic trip down memory lane
What a truly fantastic, charming, witty well written little book. If you're a fan of Spectrum games it's an absolute must, sure you probably won't know all the games, but when written this well, it doesn't matter.
If you played games in the days of dodgy cassettes, sweaty arcades, kempston joysticks and TV's you had to use a dial to tune in, this is definitely for...
Published 1 month ago by Mr ZX Spectrum

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not compelling....
This wee book should be mana from nirvanah to my generation. I grew up on a diet of darkened rooms and 8 bit micros, and this book intends to capitalise on the nostalgia inherent in such.

The introduction is interesting and resonated with me, but when all said and done this is a book of retro-reviews of varying interest. For games I'd heard of or played (and...
Published 19 months ago by Preacher Man


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A fun little book, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Book of ZX Spectrum Games (Kindle Edition)
A great little book that revived a lot of memories for my ol' Speccy days. Good fun to read and relive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic trip down memory lane, 23 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Book of ZX Spectrum Games (Kindle Edition)
What a truly fantastic, charming, witty well written little book. If you're a fan of Spectrum games it's an absolute must, sure you probably won't know all the games, but when written this well, it doesn't matter.
If you played games in the days of dodgy cassettes, sweaty arcades, kempston joysticks and TV's you had to use a dial to tune in, this is definitely for you.
The review of Chequered Flag is for me the stand out, and had me laughing out loud and getting some strange looks off my wife and kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgic fun, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Book of ZX Spectrum Games (Kindle Edition)
This is a lovely collection of random game reviews for the speccy. Ian Marks writing is charmingly irreverent and reminded me of the sort of reviews publications like Your Sinclair were writing at the time.
If you're looking for historical context look elsewhere, but if you're felling nostalgic for the heyday of the spectrum then this is an entertaining read.
It's short, but for the price it's hard to complain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Book of ZX Spectrum Games (Kindle Edition)
This book is fun to read, and is written with wit and charm. If you want a journey back to speccy game days this is your very very reasonably priced ticket. More please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun, 1 July 2012
By 
NP (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Book of ZX Spectrum Games (Kindle Edition)
Really nice, short but very cheap, entertaining book, for people who have fond memories of the zx spectrum
Some nice screenshots too.
Brought back lots of memories for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but not compelling...., 4 Dec 2012
By 
Preacher Man (South Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Little Book of ZX Spectrum Games (Kindle Edition)
This wee book should be mana from nirvanah to my generation. I grew up on a diet of darkened rooms and 8 bit micros, and this book intends to capitalise on the nostalgia inherent in such.

The introduction is interesting and resonated with me, but when all said and done this is a book of retro-reviews of varying interest. For games I'd heard of or played (and remembered) it was a pleasant whimsy to nosedive back into the feelings of playing them, but for those I'd never heard of it was time to skip past I'm afraid.

The tone of each review does come across as slightly wringing blood from a stone- if you're familiar with the game you know it all already and if you don't you don't want to know.

I'm glad I read the book but I doubt it scored more than 2/10 for replayability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars operating systems operate u, 6 April 2013
By 
Mr. R. J. Jowett (ULSTER where in the world R U?) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Little Book of ZX Spectrum Games (Kindle Edition)
glosses over the fact that
operating systems that do not detect the hardware - register it on relevant manufacturers sites and allow you to use an itu t v44+IPR=921600 v92 modem at 921600bps are little more than a deception and con
if the operating system does not know
the screen resolution
the font size
the screen refresh rate
if it cannot put the internet connection speed we are paying for onscreen at all times and any data usage limit - why would a device capable of over four thousand million 64bit calculations a second pretend you have to send and receive the same data a million times and each time you are billed for it - try complaining to microsoft - see how far you get
on the issue of copyright acorn pirated dozens of arcade games for the worlds most expensive - lets keep the poor kids off it - model b microcomputer
these people are glorified crooks - many without the glory
digital electronics are being use to start fires in slums as part of government run slum clearance selling the land to property developers try finding a fire chief that isn't corrupt they'll explain the lot to you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews