Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Outstanding
This book read well and I honestly thought I was at the edge of the battle itself, it's not often you can totally immerse yourself and actually feel your actually there. Such was the power of this book! I complement the author on his skill, research and well structured composition and I am in awe of what I have read.

This subject matter can be taken in so many...
Published 23 months ago by Derek McKain

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not as good as Pak Man
The first couple of chapters I found confusing. Then I realized that it is in fact a console game with covers and pages. Presumably for gamers in-between consoles.The characters are cliches:- The English, cut glass accents,a Scottish estate (didn't realize a full English breakfast includes deep fried Brioche as de rigeur). The Germans-Very Teutonic. The French-shout BOO...
Published 4 months ago by Tony Hip


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overall, an excellent piece of alternate history, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opening Moves (The Red Gambit Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I have to say, I really enjoyed this book. The concept of a 1945 Soviet invasion of Western Europe's pretty cool, and it's handled well by the author. The book's clearly a labour of love, and the plans for rest of the series suggest that it's well-planned and researched. The battle scenes were very good, with plenty of action, and they were usually easy enough to follow, even without the slightly too small maps (that's the fault of the Kindle format, not the author). Characters were better than I usually see in an alternate-history work, with details fleshing out even minor individuals. It was also nice to see both sides given their fair due. Far too often I read about cackling Germans/Russians/Japanese with no redeeming features, capable of only brutality and aggression. Well done Mr Gee for recognising that the Russians are human too!
There were a few minor points that I didn't enjoy, though many of these are subjective. I felt that the 1940's setting didn't come across strongly: it was hard to remember that this was all taking place in the aftermath of WWII, rather than in the more common late-80's period. Secondly, the sections when Eisenhower is reflecting on the day's events were too long; ultimately it boiled down to "Russians doing well here, Allies holding here", rather than the overly-detailed breakdown of the front. The same goes for the order of battle that we get before a big fight; it's nice that we know who's engaging who, and it's indicative of the amount of work that's gone in, but perhaps an appendix at the back? Lastly, during the battle scenes (which are otherwise superb) the insistence on referring to the order of battle means that sometimes the action comes across as a bit clinical.
Overall, though, Red Gambit: Opening Moves stands head and shoulders above the usual gamut of alternate history, and is easily better than Red Storm Rising! The concept is sound and well-thought out, the "bad guys" are equally as valorous as the "good guys", and the battle scenes are exciting and brutal. I just finished Opening moves this morning, about an hour ago, and I've already started the next in the series!

As an aside, I'm not one to nitpick the details, but I did notice two mistakes that kept popping up again and again: it's 'Marshal' not 'Marshall' for the ilitary rank - an over-zealous spellchecker I think - and the Soviets never called the Mosin-Nagant rifle the 'Nagant'; it's simply known as the 'Mosin', as Nagant was a Belgian who contributed little to the overall design, and Lt. Sergei Mosin was a Russian, so pride dictates that the rifle's the Mosin, when Russians refer to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost 5 stars, 9 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opening Moves (The Red Gambit Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This is an enjoyable alternative history for fans of military fiction. The author has very obviously done a lot of research and I suspect only an expert on 1945 weaponry could find errors without looking very hard for them. The story flows nicely, more in the style of Sir John Hackett than early Tom Clancy or Larry Bond. Where I hope the author will improve in volume two, is replacing the lack of strategic maps, and enlarging the tactical maps that he does give which are too small to be read on Kindle. I would have given 5 stars but for the unfortunate continuous repetition of certain phrases such as "handled badly" and his determination that each commander is going to ensure that every one of his fallen troops is acknowledged and remembered. That said, this book should appeal to readers of Bond, Clancy, Coyle etc. Certainly worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Opening Moves, 27 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opening Moves (The Red Gambit Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Couldn't put it down. Loved every page and hated finishing it. Looking forward to the next volume.
A really well written and researched work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A breath of fresh air, 26 May 2012
This review is from: Opening Moves (The Red Gambit Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
If you are even remotely keen on this genre of book then this has to be added to your collection. A fictional story but very, very believable. From the complex characters to the detailed description of the horrors of war, this book will leave you always wanting to turn the next page. The author has really done his homework and it shows in the detailed descriptions of both the people and places you encounter as the story unfolds. As for the storyline, there is nothing in this book that makes the reader think " that wouldnt happen" and you really do get invested in the characters and what happens to them. It has all the elements of a great read, from action to intrigue. I cant wait to continue this story in the next installment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rollercoaster read with a difference, 21 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opening Moves (The Red Gambit Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A different perspective taken of a time when the cold war was about to take hold, but... What if the troops just kept marching and the war machine kept turning just after the defeat of Germany?
The writer takes you on a journey through several countries dealing with characters of influence in political office and the high ranking armed services, spies and sinister people in the shadows, prisoners of war on the run and the people who would hunt and kill them. All of this leading up to the horrors of the war that will follow. A real game of chess.

If you are a fan of this era, I think you'll enjoy the writers slant on "what if" events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book, awesome series. Read it, 21 Aug 2014
By 
Andy Watkins "(Captain Kremmen)" (Reading, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I think I have already reviewed the other books in this series. I love this series, probably the best alternative history books set around 1945ish I have ever read.

Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opening Moves (The Red Gambit Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
excellent novel. well written. Gripping srory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not as good as Pak Man, 1 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opening Moves (The Red Gambit Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The first couple of chapters I found confusing. Then I realized that it is in fact a console game with covers and pages. Presumably for gamers in-between consoles.The characters are cliches:- The English, cut glass accents,a Scottish estate (didn't realize a full English breakfast includes deep fried Brioche as de rigeur). The Germans-Very Teutonic. The French-shout BOO and see how fast and far they run.Arabs-will rape anything male or female and cut off ears,noses etc. to pass round the tribes desert campfire!??? The Scottish, they come round the corner with pipes a skirling and kilts aflying with Mel Gibson in full blue woad and a can of Irn Bru in his hand (made that bit up).If you come from Wales your are in fact Welch,plural Welch's.Bet you didn't know that!And so on.The story is basic, weapons-no problem,they appear from nowhere as long as you kill enough people(soldiers that is,there are no civilians).Lost a fuel dump,hey, there's a spare one over the next hill. Probably best to buy a new Console then you won't have to think about the the many, many ,many silly set pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Red Gambit Series Opening Moves, 2 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opening Moves (The Red Gambit Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I found this book "hard going". The incorrect use of grammar, punctuation and frequent misspellings made this book difficult to read. Underneath the display of so much Military detail there is a good narrative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opening Moves (The Red Gambit Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Works quite well, though once the "action" starts the flow of the overall story gets a bit lost. Hasn't stopped me getting the others though :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews