Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Outstanding
This book read well and I honestly thought I was at the edge of the battle itself, it's not often you can totally immerse yourself and actually feel your actually there. Such was the power of this book! I complement the author on his skill, research and well structured composition and I am in awe of what I have read.

This subject matter can be taken in so many...
Published 19 months ago by Derek McKain

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not as good as Pak Man
The first couple of chapters I found confusing. Then I realized that it is in fact a console game with covers and pages. Presumably for gamers in-between consoles.The characters are cliches:- The English, cut glass accents,a Scottish estate (didn't realize a full English breakfast includes deep fried Brioche as de rigeur). The Germans-Very Teutonic. The French-shout BOO...
Published 28 days ago by Tony Hip


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Outstanding, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opening Moves (The Red Gambit Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book read well and I honestly thought I was at the edge of the battle itself, it's not often you can totally immerse yourself and actually feel your actually there. Such was the power of this book! I complement the author on his skill, research and well structured composition and I am in awe of what I have read.

This subject matter can be taken in so many ways and I honestly believe this is what could have happened if events turned out differently. I can't fault the detail, the structure or the storyline as it was exciting, tense and fast moving. If the makers of 'Band of Brothers' are looking for a new project then look no further!

I'm looking forward to 'Breakthrough' so much and the addition of a biography is a nice touch which I also purchased. Certainly once I get some pocket money saved I will be looking to buy the hard copy of 'Opening Moves' for my library so impressed was I with this. Well done to the author for including mentions of the 'Scot's' as well. You won't be disappointed with this read and such was the flow of words you couldn't but help be immersed in all the action. Fantastic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Opening Moves by Mr M, 7 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. M. Cranny "Operator 09" (Poole Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opening Moves (The Red Gambit Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
An excellent read, totally believable, well researched, good characterisation. One very minor complaint... too much information in the listing of Soviet units..i.e 397th regt of 12th Guards Army which to the average reader means little or nothing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 July 2014
By 
Mr. Pk Dickinson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opening Moves (The Red Gambit Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
One of the most discussed what ifs of WE2 brought to print.
Moving on to volume two with high hopes of continuing entertainment.
Wonderful job, Colin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Opening moves(the red gambit series), 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opening Moves (The Red Gambit Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Loved it- great battles- great characters- great story. Couldn't put it down. Already downloaded rest of the Series.cannot wait to read them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, hand the crown over Mr turtledove, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opening Moves (The Red Gambit Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
No stop action, you can fell the bullets whizzing by your ears. Do not have enough good words to say about this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Engrossing read, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opening Moves (The Red Gambit Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A well researched work of Faction. although I found some of the characterisations a little over the top which did not detract from my enjoyment of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Story, 20 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opening Moves (The Red Gambit Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Very well researched and plausible, an excellent read. I would recommend this to everyone who at some time served in BAOR during the Cold War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice alternative for WW3, 22 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opening Moves (The Red Gambit Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A really good alternative WW3 storyline, with well constructed characters and a plot that actually does not ask you to suspend all belief - its also perhaps closer to the truth (regarding the post WW2 tensions) than many may think.....
Excellent series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking read, 1 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Opening Moves (The Red Gambit Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Really good book, couldn't put it down. If you wonder what would have happened had the Red Army decided to continue the war, then this is a must. Lots of detail and interesting characters. Cant wait to download the others in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody awesome read! :), 20 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I don't often write reviews, but this series (I've read up to #3) has been bloody awesome! :)
Treats reader like an adult, yes it's damn gory, it's WAR, and nothing is more ugly in detail as the atrocity of war is, as it should always be *shown*

the people on all sides are shown as "real" people, heroism, guile, honour, mercy etc can be found on sides in the novel as in real life, and same with the scumbags or more often as it really is, folk who've went mad with the horror who then create more horror and that then may start reprisals for their deeds

great attention to detail, important for a history buff like myself, and it has the Scots (and many others of course), so hey it hits the right notes for me ;)

some folk may not like the fact the author has some of the S.S. as *protagonists* but he's quite right to do so, they weren't all monsters and they were the best fighting unit there was, see their casualty ratios, Germans invented the first combined arms military and that's why we got our arses handed to us early on, so in the horrible, all out war Stalin sets off (in the novel) you would have to use the Waffen S.S. by sheer necessity
that's the kind of situations the ugliness of war creates

the characters are very believable and of all sorts. the battles frantic, terrifying, chaotic and not "Hollywood"

very worth a read! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews