Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous live document
It's fair to say that we've had quite a few live videos from metal's finest over the years, from 85's classic Live After Death to 09's excellent live/ documentary film Flight 666, but I have to say that En Vivo! is a cut above. To put it briefly, this is a tremendous performance in a massive venue before a fanatical audience, coupled with spot-on editing and production to...
Published on 25 Mar 2012 by Jabsonite

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yet again sound lets Maiden down
Often when bands reform, the problem is the songs - they struggle to write them like they used to; they are often not that great. In Maiden's case, imo, they've written some fabulous songs since Brave New World. What a shame then that the sound of most of the releases during this time is substandard.

I used to blame (just) Kevin Shirley. I know he has a...
Published on 6 April 2012 by Hysteria


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous live document, 25 Mar 2012
By 
Jabsonite (At my computer, obviously) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's fair to say that we've had quite a few live videos from metal's finest over the years, from 85's classic Live After Death to 09's excellent live/ documentary film Flight 666, but I have to say that En Vivo! is a cut above. To put it briefly, this is a tremendous performance in a massive venue before a fanatical audience, coupled with spot-on editing and production to make a truly tremendous package.

The concert opens with a heart pounding build up through the first half of Satellite 15... The Final Frontier, showing the band and crew prepare for the show while ecstatic fans fill Santiago's Estadio Nacional, before Maiden take to the stage and launch into "The Final Frontier". As the excitement continues through "El Dorado" and "2 Minutes to Midnight", it's made perfectly clear that this is a band on fire- an immense performance which puts groups half their age to shame. Each member is on top form, with Dickinson in particular giving an overwhelming show, turning challenging numbers such as "The Talisman" into astonishing spectacles.

The setlist itself is a masterpiece of ebb and flow, with the smooth intros of "Dance of Death" and "When the Wild Wind Blows" erupting through to high paced numbers like "The Trooper" and "The Evil That Men Do". Being The Final Frontier World Tour, there is a large amount of newer material here, but that is absolutely no excuse for complaint- recent tracks fit comfortably between old favourites remarkably well, a true testimony to the band's consistent song writing prowess. In any case, if you really can't give the new stuff the chance you know it deserves, then you really should have bought Flight 666 instead.

The editing present is wonderful. In the past, Maiden videos were subject to almost dizzying cuts by Steve Harris, but those days are long gone. Andy Matthews, who also cues the video screens in all the band's live shows, adds a fresh perspective to the live footage, showcasing the concert with split screens which, while not being at all intrusive as first feared, gives the viewer all the action without cutting every millisecond to another shot. On top of this, the soundtrack is possibly Kevin Shirley's best live mix to date.

As usual with Maiden videos, it is accompanied by a massive supply of extras, the highlight of which is the "Behind the Beast" documentary. For years I've been praying for a proper behind the scenes doc, showing just how each concert is really put together, from post-production to every show night, and am happy to say that this hour and a half long film goes beyond my expectations. Where Flight 666 spent all of its time on the band and their fans, this film instead shows the crew in action, a massively important part of the tour completely overlooked in the past. Another first for a Maiden doc is footage of the band in rehearsals and the stage set being built from concept to production rehearsals. If this isn't enough, there's another fascinating documentary going behind "The Final Frontier" promo video.

To sum up, this is probably the best concert video I have ever purchased. Each minute is thrilling and is the closest to actually being at the concert as it is possible for a film to be (and I should know having seen the band live dozens of times).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 29 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this primarily for the live set after watching them live at manchester where they were amazing.
The picture and sound quality is fantastic especialy in Dolby 5.1 and that is worth the cost of the blu ray alone
but it includes so much quality for the price and is ultimately a bargin.

The main thing i was suprised about was the quality of the documentary. I own Flight 666 and thought it was
brilliantly done so i didnt expect too much from this.
How wrong i was, it is fantastic and it goes into so much depth and is extremely interesting and if anything i
think its better although the two are very different and are a must watch for Maiden fans or just anyone who appreciates
good music and the work that goes on behind the scenes.

The only flaw i would say the Blu Ray has is the menu options are in a small font making it a little hard to read. I have a 40"
screen and it still appeared small. just a heads up

Overall i am extremely happy with this and would highly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 50,000 Chileans can't be wrong., 26 Mar 2012
This review is from: En Vivo! [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
50,000 Chileans can't be wrong???.............. In this case they are not wrong. I've been a fan since Killers in 1981 and I was initially skeptical whether I needed another Maiden dvd at this point. It turns out that I did need another. This is a great show. The band are playing at the top of their game, Dickinson shows once more just how powerful his voice still is to this day. Iron Maiden write the book on keeping self respect in the face of advancing years. Great stuff. Other bands take note, this really IS how it's done!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iron Maiden alive in HD - yes, yes, yes!, 14 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As usual from Iron Maiden team - great quality of sound, vision and most important - music. All new songs from The Final Frontier are great and this record only proves that. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic visuals, amazing scenes., 4 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Worth it just for the "Behind the Beast" doc, I presume the beast is the Boeing that somehow gets the loadout gear for the whole tour stuffed into its backside.

Strange that the steelbook edition is DVD only, a cynic would suggest that this is to get fans to buy twice, but as it was a gift for my uncle who has no Blu-ray player it didn't matter.

Excellent production values, the band and crew have been refining it for over thirty years, and it's a great show.

When you watch it, you don't get the impression that you're watching an old band past their glory days, what you see is a band that still love doing what they do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kings of Metal, 1 May 2012
By 
A. Golds (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This Iron Maiden DVD is the band firing on all cylinders, the band truly at their peak. Since Bruce returned in 1999 they seem to be bigger and better than ever before, you know when your in one of the world's biggest bands, when the band have their own plane, flown by the singer, to fill the world's biggest stadiums. And this concert in Chile is one of them.

They seem to play the songs faster as they get older, but this is okay, because the musicianship is outstanding as always. Especially the lethal combination of Nicko McBrain and Steve Harris, and Bruce Dickinson's vocal's are as commanding, powerful and operatic as they have ever been. The documentary DVD is also great as you get an insight into the work that goes into putting on a Maiden show, and see them playing places, no band could ever dream or hope to play. In an uncertain world, there is something reassuring and genuine about Maiden, long may they rule!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yet again sound lets Maiden down, 6 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: En Vivo! [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Often when bands reform, the problem is the songs - they struggle to write them like they used to; they are often not that great. In Maiden's case, imo, they've written some fabulous songs since Brave New World. What a shame then that the sound of most of the releases during this time is substandard.

I used to blame (just) Kevin Shirley. I know he has a penchant for dry-sounding 'natural' productions but in fairness, he got a decent balance on Brave New World (the only one) and he's done a good job in the past with Dream Theater, Rush and some others. So, I think 'Arry has to take some, perhaps most of the blame as he co-produces with Shirley.

I was elated when I heard Flight 666. Finally Shirley has got it right. Maiden sounded as they should, big, wide, and dynamic...exciting. But perhaps his hand Harris' arms were twisted because it had to meet certain cinematic standards given it was a film and not just a music video.

So, En Vivo comes as a disappointment - back to the old days. I can't imagine what they are both thinking when they sit there and listen to such as muddy mix. Bruce sounds like he is straining and detached from the rest of the mix for much of it and it's far from flattering for him especially.

I don't have a DTS facility so I can't comment on that audio but interesting the Dolby 2.1 track seems different (read:better, more ambient and 'live' sounding) than the PCM audio. Perhaps it's me but once I found it, I enjoyed the concert far more. However, both tracks have a certain harshness when they are turned up and that illustrates another interesting thing. The PCM audio track is unusually quiet. I've typically found most PCM audio tracks to be mastered significant louder (perhaps because they don't have to meet Dolby's level requirements, not sure) than the corresponding Dolby. This (PCM) one is actually slightly quieter! Now, I'm all for dynamics and am not afraid of my volume control but both mixes sound so compressed, having all that headroom is wasted.

Now, it would be unfair not to give Shirley some kudos for getting a far better drum sound and bass sound than we used to get in the Birch days and certainly listening on the Dolby track I was able to enjoy these aspects. Nicco's drums actually sound like they have some sustain for once and that the heads aren't just made of hard plastic. And 'Arry's bass sounds like a bass not a guitar which was probably some feat on Shirley's part given the Harris' playing style.

Maybe we're getting to something here. Harris represents the rhythm section of the band as the bass player, perhaps that's where all the time was spent. Still, it's no excuse, Shirley is a professional of many years and should easily be able to get the right compromise.

What else?

Well I won't go on about the songs, others have covered that. I think it's nice to have some of the new stuff but I'd like more from Seventh Son...maybe the next DVD given what I've heard they are planning to play on the current tour.

I felt the performance was a bit rushed at first, they were all running around having such a good time I guess it's inevitable to a point but this is a highly professional band who know these songs inside out and always spend money on great PA systems and monitoring (I bet it sounded better at the gig!) so I can't believe they can't hear themselves and yet at various points in the early songs they all seemed to be ahead of the beat to different extents...of maybe Nicco was behind! Still, no biggie, if the sound had been great I'd have ignored this as it's Maiden.

Other points of interest... Hair and Les Pauls!

Adrian Smith has been playing a Les Paul more and more but what's this, Dave Murray playing one too...surely not...what's the world coming to, this is Maiden after all. But good old Janick won't have any of it, he sticks to his old faithful (I suspect the Les Pauls wouldn't stand up to his gymnastics!). I found myself breathing a sigh of relief when Smith got out his White Jackson for The Evil That Men Do (ooh, I was left wanting more) along with guitar sounds straight out of the 80s. It made up for those Les Pauls :)

We have two new Wi...hair cuts being displayed by Messrs Harris and Murray. Harris' has got even longer and even blacker (not bad for his age eh ;o) and Murray's, well...it seems he's gradually morphing into Bernie Marsden! And no I'm not having a dig (only in fun) I know he's a lovely, lovely, lovely bloke!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More from the beast, 27 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I watched the extras on this blu-ray first, and I'm glad I did. The 'Behind the Beast' documentary easily rivals, and perfectly supplements 2010's 'Flight 666' film. This time, told from the perspective of the crew and backroom staff, it documents exactly what an incredible piece of work it is getting a Maiden tour off the ground (literally!) and around the world. What you get is a feeling of the love, pride and professionalism the crew have for the band, the fans and their work which explains the success of the tours, and why Maiden still rule thirty years after they started out in a van.

The concert itself is excellent, although I did find the sound a bit muddy, but it's a great memento of the Final Frontier tour, and another great addition to the collection of Maiden live concert videos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Your time will come..., 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a great band, never fail to deliver, blu-ray is brilliant and is worth it just for the concert. The extras are brilliant and it's even better when it's cheap. If you like Iron Maiden then this is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great concert, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The quality of this Blue Ray is high, good sound and good image. Great concert. I like to buy in amazon because all rules ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

En Vivo! [DVD] [2012]
En Vivo! [DVD] [2012] by Iron Maiden (DVD - 2012)
15.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews