Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous live document
It's fair to say that we've had quite a few live videos from metal's finest over the years, from 85's classic Live After Death to 09's excellent live/ documentary film Flight 666, but I have to say that En Vivo! is a cut above. To put it briefly, this is a tremendous performance in a massive venue before a fanatical audience, coupled with spot-on editing and production to...
Published on 25 Mar. 2012 by Jabsonite

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yet again sound lets Maiden down
Often when bands reform, the problem is the songs - they struggle to write them like they used to; they are often not that great. In Maiden's case, imo, they've written some fabulous songs since Brave New World. What a shame then that the sound of most of the releases during this time is substandard.

I used to blame (just) Kevin Shirley. I know he has a...
Published on 6 April 2012 by Hysteria


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous live document, 25 Mar. 2012
By 
Jabsonite (At my computer, obviously) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: En Vivo! [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
It's fair to say that we've had quite a few live videos from metal's finest over the years, from 85's classic Live After Death to 09's excellent live/ documentary film Flight 666, but I have to say that En Vivo! is a cut above. To put it briefly, this is a tremendous performance in a massive venue before a fanatical audience, coupled with spot-on editing and production to make a truly tremendous package.

The concert opens with a heart pounding build up through the first half of Satellite 15... The Final Frontier, showing the band and crew prepare for the show while ecstatic fans fill Santiago's Estadio Nacional, before Maiden take to the stage and launch into "The Final Frontier". As the excitement continues through "El Dorado" and "2 Minutes to Midnight", it's made perfectly clear that this is a band on fire- an immense performance which puts groups half their age to shame. Each member is on top form, with Dickinson in particular giving an overwhelming show, turning challenging numbers such as "The Talisman" into astonishing spectacles.

The setlist itself is a masterpiece of ebb and flow, with the smooth intros of "Dance of Death" and "When the Wild Wind Blows" erupting through to high paced numbers like "The Trooper" and "The Evil That Men Do". Being The Final Frontier World Tour, there is a large amount of newer material here, but that is absolutely no excuse for complaint- recent tracks fit comfortably between old favourites remarkably well, a true testimony to the band's consistent song writing prowess. In any case, if you really can't give the new stuff the chance you know it deserves, then you really should have bought Flight 666 instead.

The editing present is wonderful. In the past, Maiden videos were subject to almost dizzying cuts by Steve Harris, but those days are long gone. Andy Matthews, who also cues the video screens in all the band's live shows, adds a fresh perspective to the live footage, showcasing the concert with split screens which, while not being at all intrusive as first feared, gives the viewer all the action without cutting every millisecond to another shot. On top of this, the soundtrack is possibly Kevin Shirley's best live mix to date.

As usual with Maiden videos, it is accompanied by a massive supply of extras, the highlight of which is the "Behind the Beast" documentary. For years I've been praying for a proper behind the scenes doc, showing just how each concert is really put together, from post-production to every show night, and am happy to say that this hour and a half long film goes beyond my expectations. Where Flight 666 spent all of its time on the band and their fans, this film instead shows the crew in action, a massively important part of the tour completely overlooked in the past. Another first for a Maiden doc is footage of the band in rehearsals and the stage set being built from concept to production rehearsals. If this isn't enough, there's another fascinating documentary going behind "The Final Frontier" promo video.

To sum up, this is probably the best concert video I have ever purchased. Each minute is thrilling and is the closest to actually being at the concert as it is possible for a film to be (and I should know having seen the band live dozens of times).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 29 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: En Vivo! [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
I bought this primarily for the live set after watching them live at manchester where they were amazing.
The picture and sound quality is fantastic especialy in Dolby 5.1 and that is worth the cost of the blu ray alone
but it includes so much quality for the price and is ultimately a bargin.

The main thing i was suprised about was the quality of the documentary. I own Flight 666 and thought it was
brilliantly done so i didnt expect too much from this.
How wrong i was, it is fantastic and it goes into so much depth and is extremely interesting and if anything i
think its better although the two are very different and are a must watch for Maiden fans or just anyone who appreciates
good music and the work that goes on behind the scenes.

The only flaw i would say the Blu Ray has is the menu options are in a small font making it a little hard to read. I have a 40"
screen and it still appeared small. just a heads up

Overall i am extremely happy with this and would highly recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 50,000 Chileans can't be wrong., 26 Mar. 2012
This review is from: En Vivo! [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
50,000 Chileans can't be wrong???.............. In this case they are not wrong. I've been a fan since Killers in 1981 and I was initially skeptical whether I needed another Maiden dvd at this point. It turns out that I did need another. This is a great show. The band are playing at the top of their game, Dickinson shows once more just how powerful his voice still is to this day. Iron Maiden write the book on keeping self respect in the face of advancing years. Great stuff. Other bands take note, this really IS how it's done!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Kings of Metal, 1 May 2012
By 
A. Golds (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: En Vivo! [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
This Iron Maiden DVD is the band firing on all cylinders, the band truly at their peak. Since Bruce returned in 1999 they seem to be bigger and better than ever before, you know when your in one of the world's biggest bands, when the band have their own plane, flown by the singer, to fill the world's biggest stadiums. And this concert in Chile is one of them.

They seem to play the songs faster as they get older, but this is okay, because the musicianship is outstanding as always. Especially the lethal combination of Nicko McBrain and Steve Harris, and Bruce Dickinson's vocal's are as commanding, powerful and operatic as they have ever been. The documentary DVD is also great as you get an insight into the work that goes into putting on a Maiden show, and see them playing places, no band could ever dream or hope to play. In an uncertain world, there is something reassuring and genuine about Maiden, long may they rule!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iron Maiden alive in HD - yes, yes, yes!, 14 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: En Vivo! [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
As usual from Iron Maiden team - great quality of sound, vision and most important - music. All new songs from The Final Frontier are great and this record only proves that. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic visuals, amazing scenes., 4 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Worth it just for the "Behind the Beast" doc, I presume the beast is the Boeing that somehow gets the loadout gear for the whole tour stuffed into its backside.

Strange that the steelbook edition is DVD only, a cynic would suggest that this is to get fans to buy twice, but as it was a gift for my uncle who has no Blu-ray player it didn't matter.

Excellent production values, the band and crew have been refining it for over thirty years, and it's a great show.

When you watch it, you don't get the impression that you're watching an old band past their glory days, what you see is a band that still love doing what they do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A metal concert that rocked the length of the Andes!, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: En Vivo! [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I must admit that as a life long Maiden fan I was unaware of this DVD's existence until I purchased Maiden England. I always knew the South American fans are amongst the most passionate of all Maiden's following and that they rarely get the chance to see their idols in the flesh and so when the Iron's billed a show everyone knew it was going to be huge!

The concert itself is based on the hugely successful fifteenth studio, "The Final Frontier" and many of the key tracks are performed live together with an exciting romp through the back catalogue including the forgotten gem " Running Free". The band are on the top of their form and you can almost see the energy being fed back and forth with the crowd. The sound quality is excellent and each note played is crystal clear. The picture quality is sharp and crisp with the rich colours from the set and lighting coming through perfectly. The edits are frenetic and fast-paced consonant with the energy of the band, but are too distracting from the overall visual experience.

The extras are entertaining too especially about the newly reconfigured Ed Force One that has re-defined global concert touring. It was moving when the band arrived in Japan at the time of the tsunami. Unfortunately, the fury of nature robbed the Japanese fans of an awesome concert but the band promised to make it up to them. My gripe with the documentary was that is was a little too similar to 1999's "Flight 666" but spending anytime with the Iron's is a privilege and a pleasure!

En Vivo! Is a powerhouse of a concert and highlights the band on at their best and by the end of the gig, the crowd were exhausted but extremely satisfied. What a spectacle it must have been!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Live : The Only Way To Know For Sure!, 11 April 2012
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: En Vivo! [Blu-ray] [2012] (Blu-ray)
As they begin their slow descent towards retirement, Iron Maiden ramp up the live albums. Way back when, a live album was a rarity, with a decade between "A Real Live Dead One" and "Rock In Rio". With four official live albums in the last decade, three studio records, and six world tours - two of which are nostalgic recreations of the past - it's not that Iron Maiden are slowing down as such, more than they are closing off their history slowly.

Recorded 10 years and 3 months after the near identical "Rock In Rio", "En Vivo!" is Iron Maiden at their best : live, and loud. There's pantomime alright - and grimly predictable. Watch Bruce wave a flag and sing THE TROOPAH! Watch a parade of black denim, shorts, and white trainers last seen in the wild in 1986! Grimace as The Band elude mortality by sounding identical and unchanged since the dawn of time! And as Bruce points to the crowd and gets them to roar in unison in "Fear of The Dark", and let us not forget SCREAM FOR ME SOUTH AMERICAN COUNTRY!

Oh, it's predictable. And comfortable in its repetition. To do this 100 times a year, you must love it. Like a James Bond film, and Coca Cola, you know what you're getting with Iron Maiden. You're also getting one of the tightest, slickest, and most professional bands of all time : a finely honed metal machine. A setlist made of all the songs you'd expect, and the obligatory few new ones. Thankfully, this new stuff, such as "Eldorado", "Coming Home", "The Talisman" is solid, powerful, confident, assured. Unlike so many bands that become dull parodies of themselves, Iron Maiden, for good or bad, haven't made a bad record since 1990. Though there is nothing from 2006's "A Matter of Life And Death" - the only album in recent years the band have performed live in it's entirety - nor are the sadly under-rated Blaze Bayley years : "Futureal" is one of the greatest Maiden songs there is. But then again, Bruce opens his mouth, and the entire of Chile screams "Yeah! Hallowed Be Thy Name!" and does anyone care about the new stuff?

Since half of the set is taken from their 80's heyday, being Janick Gers looks easy as he barely plays, duckwalks, spins around a lot and pretends to punch a man in a monster costume. Janick didn't record or write this material, and his third guitar isn't really needed here. Adrian Smith and Dave Murray have been playing together since 1982, so their telepathic groove, alongside Nicko McBrain's 30 year role as drummer, ensures that Iron Maiden are now in a classic lineup that is undoubtedly one of their strongest periods creatively. "En Vivo" is one night in the life of Iron Maiden, writ large in a South American football stadium, and a fine document that will attest to Maiden's power and deserved reputation as one of the finest live acts of their era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good....very good indeed, 9 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: En Vivo! [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Very good performance by the band. Nicko and Steve are solid and dependable as always, as is Adrian. Janick I thought did very well on most of his solos, which hasnt always been the case in the past. Bruce puts in an almost outstanding performance for me. During songs such as The Talisman and Coming Home the effort he puts into the song is seen all over his face, especially during Talisman. He definately still has the gift for me. I would love to know where he gets his energy from, not just during gigs but his life in general. I wonder if there is a biography on him?

The only slight let down for me is Dave Murray, a hero of mine (the let down was only slight and probably due to the fact that I hold him, and still do, in such high regard). IT doesnt look quite right him playing a Les Paul and some of his solos are a bit suspect. Not quite sure why he is wearing all that clothing either?

I played the dvd via my TV on PCM audio and thought the sound was fine. However, some are complaining about the sound quality on the Black Country Communion DVD, also produced by Kevin Shirley. Coincidence?

I thought the editing was good - not the quick fire editing we saw in previous live dvds, which is good, and you get to see most of the solos! The split screen is a good idea and not overused.

Overall, very good performance. One slight snag is the set list. I understand that they have to play the old favourites on each tour as many of the fans havent heard these live so it is inevitable that the dvd will include these so I am not complainig about that. But I dont think the Wicker Man fits well when it is not an opener as it was in Rio. It doesnt quite fit for me in the set list. There is already a song from Brave New World so I would have liked to see something from the X Factor or A Matter of Life and Death.

Why only 16 songs? (Satellite 15 does not count). They used to play around 20 I think. Perhaps because the songs are getting longer....?

Anyway, 4 stars. Good job.

PS hope they release Live At Donnington on DVD. The editing and sound was not great on the VHS but the event was great for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh Yes (as Churchill might say)! Awesome!, 16 April 2012
By 
M. Slack - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
En Vivo is a great addition to Maiden's outstanding set of live DVDs. From the first song to the last I was in ecstasy (just as though I was actually in the fanatical audience in Santiago)!En Vivo! [Steelbook Edition] [DVD]

The sound quality is absolutely top class, and the video is really well shot and put together. The setlist is well balanced between new and old, and contains two of my new favourites: the hauntingly evocative The Talisman and the profound Coming Home.

If I have a couple of (very minor) criticisms it's that at about 1 hour 50 I would have liked another song, and if that song came from A Matter Of Life And Death then that would have been absolutely perfect.

The extras on the 2nd DVD are really interesting too.

I also have the CD and it's addictive - I can't stop playing it. All in all En Vivo is Maiden at the very peak of their game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

En Vivo! [Blu-ray] [2012]
En Vivo! [Blu-ray] [2012] by Iron Maiden (Blu-ray - 2012)
£10.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews