Customer Reviews


94 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars " Does the Job A+"
Much has been said regarding these capture devices good and bad , after much reading and being a complete novice I purchased this converter from EZCAP which I received within 24 hours of the order being placed.

This one came in a red box which I assume is the latest version as the previous model is pictured in in an orange box and has been reviewed many times...
Published on 2 Feb 2012 by A. Glidden

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really POOR
It wasn't a pleasant experience at all; in the beginning the CD that comes with it didn't install (with the anti-virus disabled) the first 10 times or maybe even more my drive didn't recognise it... Afterwards whilst capturing the video clips it kept on cutting off with copy right infringement (there were only family tapes), later found out there is a software problem...
Published 22 months ago by Jay-Jay


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A gem for preserving memories!, 20 Sep 2012
By 
Esen Halil "Esen" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: EZCAP.TV 116 EzCAPTURE USB 2.0 VHS to DVD Converter. Capture & convert video from VHS, Hi8, All Camcorders, DVD player, Satellite TV, etc. Capture xbox360/Wii/Playstation 3 in full colour. Upload videos direct to YouTube, convert for mobile device or make a dvd. Stream live with Skype, MSN, etc. Supports Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8 32/64 bit, Mac OS X 10.5.8 or later (Electronics)
I found some old VHS tapes at home and if I didnt convert them onto something newer then I would have lost all my home movies from my childhood. I read a lot of reviews and finally decided to get this kit. At first I connected my vhs player to my laptop using the cable and another I had a home and it didnt work! After a bit of online research I found out my problem! Ok I will write what I did and it should work for you...

First have a working video player with a scart connection, your tapes, this kit and a laptop. Purchase this kit then also buy (if you dont have it) a scart adaptor that is video OUT. This is important. I got mine from ebay. Then the cable you get with this kit wont plug straight into the scart adaptor so you need an additional cable with the red, white and yellow wires on each end. I think they are double male ended as the ends have a middle conntection that fits snug ibto the cable you gwt in this kit and the scart adaptor. Then before plugging anything in, install both bits of software onto your laptop that you get with this kit. Follow the instructions and if all your connections are correct, when you hit capture you should see your video on your laptop then hit record! Easy peasy!

Worth every penny as I have now preserved my home movies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good results A+, 18 Sep 2012
This review is from: EZCAP.TV 116 EzCAPTURE USB 2.0 VHS to DVD Converter. Capture & convert video from VHS, Hi8, All Camcorders, DVD player, Satellite TV, etc. Capture xbox360/Wii/Playstation 3 in full colour. Upload videos direct to YouTube, convert for mobile device or make a dvd. Stream live with Skype, MSN, etc. Supports Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8 32/64 bit, Mac OS X 10.5.8 or later (Electronics)
Easy to set up and excellent results. Transferred over a dozen vhs tapes of the family growing up. Paid for itself after the first one. Seller sent a nice support email before I had even received the item. Great product and service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great product, great service, 28 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EZCAP.TV 116 EzCAPTURE USB 2.0 VHS to DVD Converter. Capture & convert video from VHS, Hi8, All Camcorders, DVD player, Satellite TV, etc. Capture xbox360/Wii/Playstation 3 in full colour. Upload videos direct to YouTube, convert for mobile device or make a dvd. Stream live with Skype, MSN, etc. Supports Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8 32/64 bit, Mac OS X 10.5.8 or later (Electronics)
When i got my EzCap i was happy with the results in picture quality and the software was really easy to use. The next day my computer started playing games with me and changed the driver device by itself, this puzzled my and a member of the ezcap team, after a long frustrating battle with the drivers (installing newer drivers trying new software) i managed to change the driver to the correct settings now the device works fine with no problems. The customer service for this product is great and so is the product it's self, 5*'s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EZCAP.TV 116 EzCAPTURE USB 2.0 VHS to DVD Converter. Capture & convert video from VHS, Hi8, All Camcorders, DVD player, Satellite TV, etc. Capture xbox360/Wii/Playstation 3 in full colour. Upload videos direct to YouTube, convert for mobile device or make a dvd. Stream live with Skype, MSN, etc. Supports Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8 32/64 bit, Mac OS X 10.5.8 or later (Electronics)
cant use it on my windows 7 64bit back in box stick it in loft might work on a 32 bit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't work fake product., 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EZCAP.TV 116 EzCAPTURE USB 2.0 VHS to DVD Converter. Capture & convert video from VHS, Hi8, All Camcorders, DVD player, Satellite TV, etc. Capture xbox360/Wii/Playstation 3 in full colour. Upload videos direct to YouTube, convert for mobile device or make a dvd. Stream live with Skype, MSN, etc. Supports Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8 32/64 bit, Mac OS X 10.5.8 or later (Electronics)
Arrived really quickly. But rubbish cd refused to load despite repeated attempts. You also need to order a separate scart gold adapter. The website and contact info was Awful. Just told me i had been sold a fake. Don't recommend at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For converting VHS to digital, this is great., 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EZCAP.TV 116 EzCAPTURE USB 2.0 VHS to DVD Converter. Capture & convert video from VHS, Hi8, All Camcorders, DVD player, Satellite TV, etc. Capture xbox360/Wii/Playstation 3 in full colour. Upload videos direct to YouTube, convert for mobile device or make a dvd. Stream live with Skype, MSN, etc. Supports Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8 32/64 bit, Mac OS X 10.5.8 or later (Electronics)
My mother wanted to convert all her old family videos to DVD, and was quoted something like 20 a tape. So I bought this for 20 and a stack of DVDs. It requires a VHS player and a laptop, but it's simple to set up and get going. It's a time consuming process, as it can only be done in real time. I found there were some issues with the software getting confused by static on the old tapes, and it would stop recording, citing copyright issues. But a quick google found a way of getting around this, by editing a configuration file. I won't spell out what needs to be done, but basically you need to change the ProtectOn value in CaptureModule.ini

That issue is not a slight on this product though. Great product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ezcap 116 Capture, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EZCAP.TV 116 EzCAPTURE USB 2.0 VHS to DVD Converter. Capture & convert video from VHS, Hi8, All Camcorders, DVD player, Satellite TV, etc. Capture xbox360/Wii/Playstation 3 in full colour. Upload videos direct to YouTube, convert for mobile device or make a dvd. Stream live with Skype, MSN, etc. Supports Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8 32/64 bit, Mac OS X 10.5.8 or later (Electronics)
I ordered the Ezcap 116 Capture device and it arrived very quickly. When I had a slight problem the company Ezcap.TV were very quick to sort it out.

Product works really well and does what it says on the tin. I would recommend that anyone installing this on windows 7 should visit the Ezcap.TV forum site, as it gives some really useful set up tips.

I would give this 5 stars but it can be a little tricky to set up for windows 7 without firstly visiting the Ezcap.TV forum site first.

Overall a great product and company.

Mr P Stevens Warwickshire
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Had to modify .ini files to make it capture my home VHSs, 6 Oct 2012
This review is from: EZCAP.TV 116 EzCAPTURE USB 2.0 VHS to DVD Converter. Capture & convert video from VHS, Hi8, All Camcorders, DVD player, Satellite TV, etc. Capture xbox360/Wii/Playstation 3 in full colour. Upload videos direct to YouTube, convert for mobile device or make a dvd. Stream live with Skype, MSN, etc. Supports Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8 32/64 bit, Mac OS X 10.5.8 or later (Electronics)
I struggled to get this one to work with my home videos. It kept saying the contents was copy protected. These were my home video tapes and certainly not copyprotected. After some googling I found the answer to my problem...And you need to have some technical abilities to fix it, it's not straight forward!

You need to disable the protection in one of the .ini files! It could be my VHS player that applies the protection (would make sense 10 years ago) but in any case I would expect the software to have a solution for that...in this day and age noone copys VHS's unless it has sentimental value, i.e. home videos...

Navigate to:
C:\Program Files\ArcSoft\TotalMedia ShowBiz\com.ArcSoft.CaptureModule\

Open "CaptureModule.ini" with notepad. Add "ProtectOn=0" under "[CaptureModule]" and save.

You'll need administrator rights for this.

It's a pain in the backside when software doesn't do what it's supposed to. However, it works now....finally! And it does an OK job at it. My videos are old home made VHS that I want to secure before the tapes disintegrates and this item does a good job at it...after a LOT of tinkering.

I'm on WIn 7 64bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Its not easy!, 15 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EZCAP.TV 116 EzCAPTURE USB 2.0 VHS to DVD Converter. Capture & convert video from VHS, Hi8, All Camcorders, DVD player, Satellite TV, etc. Capture xbox360/Wii/Playstation 3 in full colour. Upload videos direct to YouTube, convert for mobile device or make a dvd. Stream live with Skype, MSN, etc. Supports Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8 32/64 bit, Mac OS X 10.5.8 or later (Electronics)
It doesn't do what it says on the box. Great picture but no sound. I tried upgrading it as requested and now it doesn't even start up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This one actually works, 7 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: EZCAP.TV 116 EzCAPTURE USB 2.0 VHS to DVD Converter. Capture & convert video from VHS, Hi8, All Camcorders, DVD player, Satellite TV, etc. Capture xbox360/Wii/Playstation 3 in full colour. Upload videos direct to YouTube, convert for mobile device or make a dvd. Stream live with Skype, MSN, etc. Supports Windows XP, Vista, 7, 8 32/64 bit, Mac OS X 10.5.8 or later (Electronics)
Having purchased a lesser brand originally, I didn't hold out much hope with this, but I've been pleasantly surprised. Works fine transferring vhs to dvd, and records from a satellite reciever too. haven't tried it with an xbox or ps3 but assume it would work just as well. the arc software you get is adequate. only one problem; if your vhs tapes, like mine, are a little distorted, it assumes the tape is copywrite protected when the picture distorts, just a little, and you lose the signal, which stops the recording. otherwise it would have been 5 stars as this is a superb product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews