Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it
it is superbly written, characters have many dimensions to delve into. plot is changeable and keeps you interested throughout. even if not historically correct, Shakespeare's depiction is interesting.
Published 11 months ago by michelle Petrie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy for Kindle - layout doesn't take verse into account.
I given this one star - not for the quality of the play (which is worthy of 3/4 stars), but on the fact that I bought this edition for Kindle, only to find that it was difficult to read as it was not formatted correctly for Blank Verse, which is tough when most of the play is in verse and is meant to be read and understood as such. Ended up hefting my Complete Works open...
Published 7 months ago by Ms. J. A. Shakesby


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy for Kindle - layout doesn't take verse into account., 12 July 2014
By 
Ms. J. A. Shakesby (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Antony and Cleopatra (Kindle Edition)
I given this one star - not for the quality of the play (which is worthy of 3/4 stars), but on the fact that I bought this edition for Kindle, only to find that it was difficult to read as it was not formatted correctly for Blank Verse, which is tough when most of the play is in verse and is meant to be read and understood as such. Ended up hefting my Complete Works open and reading that instead, as I was so irked by the Kindle version layout. Also, there was no character list or introduction, so I had to look up who characters were in my Complete Works too. Don't buy if you're an actor, it'll throw you completely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars More mistakes than correct scenes!, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Antony and Cleopatra (Kindle Edition)
I was so excited to read this and did so alongside one of my friends. Her edition was a paper copy which ended up being completely different to mine. Hers was correct and clear. In my edition, however, characters often spoke in the wrong places or gave their words to someone else, there were four more scenes in one of the acts than should have been, and constant spelling mistakes. Poor Shakespeare!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Antony and Cleopatra (Kindle Edition)
it is superbly written, characters have many dimensions to delve into. plot is changeable and keeps you interested throughout. even if not historically correct, Shakespeare's depiction is interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pyramid selling!, 9 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Antony and Cleopatra (Kindle Edition)
Shakespeare is on top form with this crowd-pleaser about a Roman nobleman and his Egyptian girlfriend Cleo. Shakespeare is unsurpassed when it comes to writing for the cinema; before the cinema was even invented. Well done Wills, I can't wait to see what he comes up with next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Antony and Cleopatra, 9 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good, easy to navigate on my kindle so it was quick to find the pages i needed for my coursework! Also it's Shakespeare so of course the literature is incredible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shakespeare tragedy, 8 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Antony and Cleopatra (Kindle Edition)
Dont like it as much as other Shakespeare tragedies. read it for a purpose not because I didnt have a copy of the copmplete works
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't get it, 26 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anthony and Cleopatra (Paperback)
Awful edition - no character list, not clear when one act or scene begins or ends, line length demolished so poetry diminished.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Antony and Cleopatra (Kindle Edition)
fab product great service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars one of the best books tha i have read, 2 April 2001
this book is timeless - if you like romeo and juliet this is definatlyone you should read its a book of love and tragic endings for the queen of egypt it is a very empathetic book for all ages as it goes through the different stages of cleopatra life and her love for both caeser and anthony knowing that this particular story is real made it seem all the more dramatic to me compared to shakespears other love stories its is a book that i found hard to put down and is a must read for all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Antony and Cleopatra
Antony and Cleopatra by William Shakespeare
£0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews