Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars28
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 July 2014
I given this one star - not for the quality of the play (which is worthy of 3/4 stars), but on the fact that I bought this edition for Kindle, only to find that it was difficult to read as it was not formatted correctly for Blank Verse, which is tough when most of the play is in verse and is meant to be read and understood as such. Ended up hefting my Complete Works open and reading that instead, as I was so irked by the Kindle version layout. Also, there was no character list or introduction, so I had to look up who characters were in my Complete Works too. Don't buy if you're an actor, it'll throw you completely.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2011
This edition is a good basic text. There is not a lot of commentary, but the 'Further Reading' section does suggest where one could go for discussions of the play. The glossary provides some very helpful explanations of usages and although the use of end notes (rather than foot notes) is annoying, they are clean and informative.

Be aware that some knowledge of Shakespeare would be ideal if using this text. It is not intended as an introduction to the play.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2016
Antony and Cleopatra is one of Shakespeare’s great tragedies, and in many ways it resembles Romeo and Juliet in that a faked death leads to the tragedy and in that it’s also, ostensibly a love story. That’s where the similarities end, though – no, this play has a big focus on war, and indeed it’s based at least partly on historical accounts of both the life of Cleopatra and of the Roman Empire.

One of the interesting things here is the sheer number of different scenes which are included – the story line jumps around what feels like half of the world, and some scenes are solely there for a character to perform a short soliloquy. But it works, it was interesting, and I’ve not really seen it used to such effect before. Must go and watch a performance of it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2016
If you are looking for helpful, insightful and easy to follow cliff notes on any great literary work, look no further than 'CliffsNotes'. They provide the background to the author and to the play. They explain the themes and the characters extremely well, so well in fact that you may feel that you don't need to read the actual play!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2013
Shakespeare is on top form with this crowd-pleaser about a Roman nobleman and his Egyptian girlfriend Cleo. Shakespeare is unsurpassed when it comes to writing for the cinema; before the cinema was even invented. Well done Wills, I can't wait to see what he comes up with next!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
I do love this book I love Shakespeare and his expressive words quite beautiful really !
this is my favourite especially when Richard burton and Elizabeth Taylor did Antony and Cleopatra because that was equally as lovely ! great little book worth the money too !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2012
Good simple book that consists of the whole original (slightly edited) play without any annotations. Cheap price tag which is always a bonus! I just wish there was some explanations for those like myself that do not understand a word Shakespeare has written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2014
it is superbly written, characters have many dimensions to delve into. plot is changeable and keeps you interested throughout. even if not historically correct, Shakespeare's depiction is interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
Dont like it as much as other Shakespeare tragedies. read it for a purpose not because I didnt have a copy of the copmplete works
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
Awful edition - no character list, not clear when one act or scene begins or ends, line length demolished so poetry diminished.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£0.99
£0.99
£0.99
£0.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)