Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uncomfortably, compulsive viewing
This is a spiky satire on contemporary bourgeois correctness. Two couples meet in a New York apartment to agree a course of action following an incident involving their 11 year old sons.

The dialogue is agonisingly tense, the atmosphere claustrophobic and confrontational. Each of the our characters clash with the other protagonists. Rifts between couples...
Published on 25 April 2012 by Moose Papoose

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the play!
No matter how I tried, I couldn't give a toss to what happened to these people! Unpleasant lot - all 4 of them!
Published 1 month ago by JayceeJay


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uncomfortably, compulsive viewing, 25 April 2012
By 
Moose Papoose (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Carnage [DVD] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a spiky satire on contemporary bourgeois correctness. Two couples meet in a New York apartment to agree a course of action following an incident involving their 11 year old sons.

The dialogue is agonisingly tense, the atmosphere claustrophobic and confrontational. Each of the our characters clash with the other protagonists. Rifts between couples emerge, and the men and women form allegences against the opposite sex. No-one supports anyone, and the 'meeting' descends into an alcohol-fuelled brawl - far worse than any playground children's dispute. The characters are each hideous in their own way. At first, they are composed and conceal their innermost thoughts and opinions, but as the film progresses every nasty, destructive judgmental comment spews forth,

The script is smart and the acting superb. I particularly liked the symbolism used throughout. Items, including a mobile phone, tulips, art books, trousers and a handbag are destroyed. The verbal punch-ups are interrupted throughout by mobile and phone conversations - everyone stops fighting and remains seething, waiting for the call to finish.

It was an uncomfortable hour, but an intriguing one and fascinating to the middle classes - like watching ourselves distort in a hall of mirrors into the grotesque characters that lurk behind the veneer in most of us. Scary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You might want to watch from behind a cushion, 5 Jan 2013
By 
maximus (manchester, uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Carnage [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of those rare films that leaves you open mouthed and scared and you might want to grab a cushion and watch peaking from behind it, not because it is horror gore, but because it's social awkwardness galore! The dialogue is utterly incisive, and the acting goes without saying: entirely well judged. What is brilliant about the scenario is that from one moment to another you find yourself liking and disliking all of them at some point, but most of all you think "why did you ever decide to get together in this situation". You laugh at them but also empathise. It does poke fun at the entire spectrum of the civilised veneer of particularly the modern middle class, those who struggle with all the same problems of life regardless of how much money or successful you are, but when it all boils down it's basically carnage!

If you are in any way shy of socially difficult situations, this movie is uncomfortable viewing, but stick with it, it is strangely also affirming.

4 starts rather than 5 because there were one or two bits where I was left wanting to see even less restraint, and that's coming from me: a person who hates socially awkward situations!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Carnage, 18 Sep 2012
By 
Anthony Hand (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Carnage [DVD] (DVD)
In what I presume to be an excellent adaptation of the play, Roman Polanski's 'Carnage' focuses on the parents of two boys, one of which has attacked another with a stick and caused some facial damage, including knocking out a couple of teeth.

In an effort to remain civil, the parents of the "attacker" visit the home of the "victim" in order to sort out the problem.

From the very beginning, there's a kind of 'Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf' style tension in the room that is always threatening to expand into something much worse, despite the fact that both sets of parents are initially interested in civil discourse. As events unfold, gradually the parents attitudes change and things become more and more uncomfortable.

'Carnage', due to Polanski's excellent handling of the directorial reins, never spills over into farce, even though the story threatens to do so at times. It's kept controlled and simmering, the tension lasts the whole running time and unlike the aforementioned Elizabeth Taylor film (as great as it is), it stays somewhat within the realms of reality.

The film is also helped immensely by excellent performances by the four leads, especially from Jodie Foster who just grabs her part and goes at it with great gusto. She also has the hardest role to play.

A short film that doesn't do anything more than expected of it and well worth a view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A string quartet of a film, 14 May 2012
By 
Peter (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Carnage [DVD] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Despite being set in Brooklyn, Carnage is a very European film. A screenplay very closely based on a French play, directed by a Polish director (Polanski), filmed in France, the only significant American input is two of the four actors (Jodie Foster and John C Reilly). The other two actors are British (Kate Winslett) and Austrian (Christoph Waltz).

And the file feels European. The action is entirely constrained to a single apartment, and is played out in real time as the brittle civility between the four characters breaks down. It's a comedy, but don't expect belly-laughs: it's a comedy of manners, and the humour is in the contrast between what the characters say and how they act towards each other.

Preparation for the filming was apparently comprehensive: the cast learned their lines as though they were presenting the play on stage, and they rehearsed the entire piece every day throughout the weeks of filming. Polanski's presentation is unmistakably Polanski; the resulting film is a superb miniature, acutely observed (Jodie Foster is particularly impressive), short (74 minutes) with a small cast, one set and hardly any props. It's a string quartet of a film rather than a symphony.

The DVD is likewise sparse. The extra is interviews with the four actors, all asked broadly the same set of questions - interesting if you want to know about Polanski's methods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christoph Watz, Waltzed it while the others got Brahms and Lizst., 5 Dec 2013
This review is from: Carnage [DVD] (DVD)
"Socialism is a philosophy of failure, the creed of ignorance, and the gospel of envy, its inherent virtue is the equal sharing of misery" Winston Churchill. The clear message in this compelling film is that the parents are just as mentally disturbed as the children, no wonder their children turn out to be what they are, a reflection! I must say this reminds me of a memorable Laurel and Hardy 25 short film: "Me and My Pal". While the focus is on petty differences and everyone's curiousity over a jigsaw puzzle, Hardy's life collapses around him. The invited couple, make several attempts to leave, which is funny in itself. My opinion changed over which one's i liked, i changed sides, regularly. At first Christoph Waltz (Inglourious Basterds) who is brilliant in this appeared to be the less likeable character but that changed as each person lost it, and Waltz-Waltzed it, as the others became Brahms and Lizst. Winslet who i adore visually is at most a methodical actor (in my opinion) who spends each film in the vain attempt at "getting an oscar", trying too hard-you can tell she is acting, unfortunately. This is a fascinating film, engrossing, psychologically stimulating. Maybe, it would have been interesting if the sons got involved in the argument but that would have turned it into Carnage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 30 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carnage [DVD] (DVD)
Great film with a great cast. Full of twists and turns. Polanski at his best - if only he could make films more regularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great!, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carnage [DVD] (DVD)
Great film, I love it. It's just a great illustration of middle class problems with families and marriage! Amazing! Just don't watch it when pregnant as you will join the vomiting which destroys the film...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent black comedy, 6 May 2013
By 
Susie Q "Bob's wife" (Wirral Cheshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Carnage [DVD] (DVD)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When the film started I was a little unsure about where it was going but at the same time I felt compelled to see it through.I really enjoyed the film.It had a clever beginning and end. I think that women will get more from this film than men as there is a lot of confrontation throughout the story.My husband gave it five minutes and went to another room to watch a TV programme. I knew he wouldn't 'get it'!!!

I loved Abigail's Party and if you enjoyed that (I love it) then Carnage will appeal to you. Overall I thoroughly enjoyed it. Well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As hilarious and cruelly funny as it gets, 21 Jan 2014
By 
P. Holtzweiler (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Carnage [DVD] (DVD)
Polansky’s take at the comedy is absolutely brilliant, with just enough subtle bitterness and cruelly accurate characterization to make it much more than just entertaining. There is not a single boring minute in the whole film. Christoph Waltz as the morally perverted company lawyer and Jodie Foster as the deeply frustrated, righteous indoor ‘charity’ activist do a fantastic job impersonating a kind of infernal couple of contenders who are much nearer to each other than they would admit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cornage..., 11 Dec 2013
This review is from: Carnage [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is not the type of film I would usually enjoy, but for some reason I just liked "Carnage". Being set in real time and taking place in a single location is a risky approach, but when it's done right (as we know from those episodes of Eastenders where the entire half hour was Dot and Ethel (and Willie) sitting in an amazingly depressing room ruminating about old times) it can really work.
Things gradually fall apart as the characters strengths, weaknesses, opinions, and issues come to light, and each person fights their corner pretty well. It's just a hideous situation really with many awkward moments, not least Kate Winslet projectile vomiting over Jodie Fosters irreplaceable art books - Cornage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carnage [Blu-ray] [2011] [US Import]
Carnage [Blu-ray] [2011] [US Import] by Roman Polanski (Blu-ray - 2012)
10.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews